All but BLOODSHOT - SOME COVERS I DID FOR VALIANT COMICS (with prelim sketches!)

There's a new Vin Diesel movie coming out called Bloodshot. If you're a comic book fan, you may know that this character was created for Valiant comics long ago.

image.png

Valiant had a decent run in the 90's and then went under. It got bought then sold then bought...frankly I lost track until one Dinesh Shamdasani got some investors together and revived the entire line about 8 years ago. He did such a good job that a movie studio came and bought up properties to make films out off...and eventually another one just bought the whole company.

Dinesh is onto other schemes and plots in between plugging the new Bloodshot movie.

During his run as head boss of Valiant, he had me do a bunch of covers for their books...although I never did get around to doing a Bloodshot cover. Almost did ...it was next but then other things fell into my lap and and his and we never did get a chance to get back to each other and get it done. Such is the nature of the business.

BUT I do have some covers here to show you...along with the preliminary sketches. I'd do two or three sketches, they would pick one ( usually the one I hated) and I'd make the finished cover ( which would end up turning out well...and was evidence that they made the right choice and the sketch I liked would not have been as good as a finished cover. I never told them that though, haha)

First is a cover for Archer and Armstrong ( one of the first properties they sold to the movies...that project is still in the works somewhere). The only elements they specifically mentioned was having Archer and Armstrong and a bunch of demons from another dimension.

here's a couple of the sketches.

Allin1.jpg

Allin2.jpg

Can't find the sketch of the idea they went with, but here it is in black and white--

AandAlongchair.jpg

and the finished color version--

AAPdarkgreenTALLER LIVE AREA light ceiling.jpg

Next up is a cover for a hero named Faith. I did two covers for her, but we'll do this one for now. They wanted a time machine looking thing, and a bunch of the other Valiant universe characters. Here' the sketches--

FAITHTM A.jpg

COVER D.jpg

E.jpg

and here's the final inked --

FaithTMRFC winsert.jpg

and in color

FaithTMRFCNeela.jpg

Hey...wait a minute! That is Bloodshot in the lower right hand side corner. I guess I did draw Bloodshot for Valiant....technically.

More next time and the SECOND CONTEST where everyone who's part of the community ( all ya gotta do is click "join" ) has a chance to win an autographed copy of one of the issues I did for Valiant!

Later.

AVstatic.JPG

sign up for the Arsenic Lullaby email updates, you sign up for these and you get everything I post here on steemit and more...much more

http://www.arseniclullabies.com/newslettersignup19.html

Also bookmark the Arsenic Lullaby website, it's got comics, blogs, and ALWAYS has links on where to find me on social media...

https://www.arseniclullabies.com

Sort:  

Love seeing these. I didn’t know you did some covers for Valiant. Badass!!!

Thanks, man! Yeah...I did a bunch of covers for them. Was about done doing a full issue when it got pulled at the last minute. That's the business for ya. but yeah...you never know where my work'll show up.


Questo post è stato condiviso e votato all'interno del discord del team curatori di discovery-it Entra nella nostra community! hive-193212
This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it. Join our community! hive-193212


Thank you!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

My god I am always impressed with out tight your pencil sketches are. Also, killer work on the pipes on the Faith cover. That is fantastic composition!

Thanks! To be honest..I just turned my brain off on that one as far as composition. Sometimes that's best, eh? Just let your instincts take over.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58167.25
ETH 2358.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36