Welcome To Japan! Now Go To Jail For 6 Days - Day 1

in Steem Japan2 years ago

IMG_2730.JPG

Well, my worst fears came true, I've been put in a "quarantine hotel" for the next 6 days. I'm not alone though, every person on my flight and other flights is doing the same, even native Japanese. Yea Let's Fun!

After getting a negative PCR test in the US, I believe this was my 10th or 11th, not including the ones you are forced to take when landing in Japan, I was forced to take another test upon exiting the plane. Negative. So, 2 negatives in under 72 hours. Right, then get in this line, fill out this form, rinse and repeat too many times, then get in the final line for the bus to the hotel, but be sure to have your final forms ready to present several times again when you reach the hotel. The bureaucracy of Japan is legendary, but it's strangely efficient, at least for me. I do not envy the people who have to take the paper forms, file them and do data entry all day, everyday for eternity, or until the Grimm Reaper comes for them.

The Hotel

IMG_2736.JPG

The hotel is actually fairly nice. I'm not going to name it, but we're located downtown very close to Tokyo station. Not that the location matters because I can't go out and enjoy the convenience of my location, but the view of the trains that pass by every minute or two is comforting, that is until I start thinking about how nice it would be to just walk out of here and get on one of those trains to go home.

The room is very typical of a Japanese hotel.

IMG_2735.JPG

IMG_2737.JPG

IMG_2734.JPG

I'm going to have to figure out how to get some cardio exercise in this small space though since we are not allowed to leave our rooms.

The Meals

IMG_2739.JPG

We are given 3 meals a day at 8, 12 & 5. They make sure to remind you by announcing the arrival of each over a blaring speaker when you are trying to get some sleep!

I must say the food is pretty good, better than any fast food back in Cali.

IMG_2741.JPG

We have all you can drink green tea, bottled water, hot tea and bland coffee. Bland coffee is going to drive me nuts. I need some rich, bold, flavorful coffee or I become Mr. Hyde. I found a solution though! Since we are only given 3 meals and the above drinks I am having my wife send me a care package loaded with chocolate and better coffee. So if she ships it Monday it will arrive Tuesday. Just in time for me to enjoy them for my remaining 3 days of torture.

I guess that's it for today. I have to go ration out the remaining peanut butter filled pretzels I have left.

IMG_2745.JPG

It's gonna be a rough 6 days....

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Do you have to pay for this jail?

Well yes and no. I don't have to pay for it right now, but my taxes and the rest of the Japanese tax payers do.

They are quarantining everyone. In the group I was in at the airport there were at least 100 people. So my guess is around 500-1000 people a day.

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.
default.jpg

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71526.27
ETH 3810.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49