Steem Japan Community Photo Contest: "What Makes You Happy?" - My Entry

in Steem Japan3 years ago

IMG_4737 (3).jpg

What makes me happy? Tokyo. The city, the food, the people, the convenience. The city is ever changing, full of life, struggles, sadness, success, dreams, there is no city like it on Earth.

Hemmingway once wrote, “If you are lucky enough to have lived in Paris as a young man, then wherever you go for the rest of your life, it stays with you, for Paris is a moveable feast.”

I've found that “If you are lucky enough to have lived in Tokyo as a young man, then wherever you go for the rest of your life, it stays with you, for Tokyo is a moveable feast.”

This picture is taken from the cool Nonbei Yokocho street in Shibuya. It's Shibuya's version of Golden Gai. Small, 5 person izakaya's serving all kinds of Japanese food and alcohol. Look for it next time you are in town. Hopefully it will be open after the COVID restrictions.

I've been exploring the city for 20 years and it never gets old, just a bit too hot in the summer! I've got a lot of pictures that I'll post for the next few days about Tokyo.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

I clearly hear you. Even though I only stayed in Tokyo for a couple of month, I exactly know what you mean. I am looking forward to roaming its streets and alleys again soon, pretty soon I hope!

If I'm in town I'll buy you a beer. I really like Niigata to visit, but I've come to realize Tokyo is home. I have a lot of history there.

 3 years ago 

Sounds great! Let me know when you come to NG next time. Seems you have a couple of friends here who I should know myself.

And yes, I kinda call Japan my home, and especially NG now, as I have been here quite long already.

!zen 30
Truly Tokyo is a picturesque place. Thank you for your entry.

the post has been upvoted successfully! Remaining bandwidth: 190%

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82