Freewrite -- Day 1217

in Freewriters4 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I heard a new song, and it blew me away. I'm not sure how new the song is, but it was the first time I ever heard it. It must have traveled a "long distance" to find me, and it came as a true "ray of sunshine."

The name of the song is "Time, as a Symptom." The musician behind it is Joanna Newsom. I encourage any and all of you, o dear readers, to look it up on YouTube and to listen. Type in "newsom time symptom"; I'm sure you'll find it.

The lyrics begin:

time passed hard
and the task was the hardest thing she'd ever do
but she forgot
the moment she saw you

Honestly, I haven't liked a new song this much since I heard Shakira's "Empire" for the first time:

we are alive
and the stars make love to the universe
and you touch me
and I'm like

My favorite Joanna Newsom song has long been "Sadie":

bless those who sicken below
and bless us who have chosen so

Some listeners hesitate or even turn the music off at the sound of Newsom's voice, which they find abrasive, esp. in earlier songs like "Sadie" or especially "Peach Plum Pear." I've always found her singing to be transcendent, but I do have different tastes than your average bear.

Really, honestly, I would never come to you, dear o freereader, just to talk about a song, unless it really moved me.

Many blessings to you~
Have a wonderful day !!


#owly #heatercores #community #stars #freedom #writing #freereading



Joanna Newsom:

and the nullifying, defeating,
negating, repeating,
joy of life


Sort:  

I often want to ask you about your photos, why you choose the ones you choose. I was especially intrigued by the one you used for your revised favorite poem. Now these have reminded me to ask.

Will have to look up these Newsom, although I just heard her in your super fantastic dance video. She uses all of her voice, not just the parts that make "pretty" sounds. I loved it.

In this specific instance it was inspired by the owl sounds in the song itself

In other instances I prolly have a relatively obscure aesthetic when it comes to multi-media

I guess if you like it you like it. I do how I like it best, to the hopefully-mostly-best of my abilities

#termites #labyrinth #staircases #longwardly #sees

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65792.18
ETH 2695.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90