CONTEST | Write A Script - Out Of The Box : A father's love on trial

in Freewriterslast month (edited)

Script : A father's love on trial

Characters : Dad, Step Dad, Mother, Dad's Lawyer, Step Dad's Lawyer, Daughter, Judge, Dad's wife.

Setting : Courtroom

Plot : Step Dad wants to give Daughter his surname, but Dad contests it in court.

images - 2024-09-01T011109.186.jpeg

Source

Dad's Lawyer : Child, don't you think it would be unfair to your Dad if you took your Step Dad's name?

Daughter : Not really! I've never really felt close to my Dad. He makes it pretty clear that he doesn't like being around me.

Dad's Lawyer : But, he pays for your education, and all the activities you enjoy.

Daughter (shrugs) : He pays for some of it. And my mom paid for it all by herself. She makes her own money. Besides, he's my father. This is.... the least he can do.

Dad's Lawyer : So you agree that he is, after all, your father. And it's a bond that cannot be broken.

Daughter : I... I guess

Dad's Lawyer : How long have you known your Step Dad?

Daughter : Well.... he and mom have been married for two years.... but I first met him five years ago.

Dad's Lawyer : So your Step Dad has been in your life for all of five years, while your Dad has been providing for you for thirteen years. Your entire life. Correct?

Daughter : Ummm... yeah...

Dad's Lawyer : No further questions, Your Honour.

(Daughter leaves the stand and sits between her Mother and Step Dad. Step Dad holds Daughter's hand and smiles at her)

Step Dad's Lawyer : Your Honour, I'd like to call my client, Step Dad to the stand.

(Step Dad walks over to the stand)

Step Dad's Lawyer : Step Dad, can you please tell us why you want Daughter to have your last name?

Step Dad : Well... because I love her. I love her as though she was my own child. My wife, my step daughter, my other two children and I have become a real family over the last few years. And I want my daughter to have my last name, just like my other kids.

Step Dad's Lawyer : Thank you, Step Dad.

I would now like to call Dad to the stand.

(Dad goes to the stand)

Step Dad's Lawyer : Dad, please tell us how you feel about Daughter. Are you close to her?

Dad : Oh yes! Daughter is the apple of my eye. I love her with all my heart. She's a part of my family, and I would be heartbroken if she took someone else's last name.

Step Dad's Lawyer : Dad, isn't it true that you left your ex wife and Daughter just a few months after she was born? That too because you were having an affair with your current wife?

Dad : Well.... yes... we divorced because we had marital problems. But that doesn't change the fact that she's my daughter and I love her.

Step Dad's Lawyer : And isn't it also true that Daughter has often requested that she not be made to visit your home on alternate weekends, due to your wife treating her with coldness and cruelty? Cruelty, from which you never protected her.

Dad's Lawyer : Objection, Your Honour! Council is harassing the witness!

Judge : Overruled! However, Councillor I would suggest that you take on a less hostile tone.

Dad's Lawyer : Thank you, Your Honour! Yes.... Dad, would you like to respond?

Dad : Well I think it's unfair to say that Daughter was treated with cruelty. My wife and I have three children, you know. We can't make Daughter the centre of attention whenever she comes over. But that does not mean that I don't love her.

Step Dad's Lawyer : What's Daughter's favourite food?

Dad (laughs nervously) : Well.... I.... you know how kids are. Their food preferences keep changing.

Step Dad's Lawyer : What's her favourite extra curricular activity.

Dad : Again, kids like a whole bunch of things. Today it's cricket, tomorrow it's horse riding..... It's hard to day which one is their favourite.

Step Dad's Lawyer : Tell me Dad, how old is your oldest child?

Dad : Oh he just turned twelve about two weeks ago.

Step Dad's Lawyer : Let me rephrase that. When was your oldest child born?

Dad : On the seventeenth day of August, 2012.

Step Dad's Lawyer : No further questions, Your Honour.

(Dad leaves the stand and sits next to his wife. Dad's Lawyer glares at him)

Step Dad's Lawyer (to the Judge) : Your Honour, when my client talked about Daughter, he spoke as though she was one of his own children. His exact words were "I want my daughter to have my last name, just like my other kids".

Dad, on the other hand, doesn't even seem to think of Daughter as his own child. In his mind, his oldest child is his son. The only reason he is contesting Daughter getting Step Dad's last name is because it would make him look bad.

I believe this makes it quite clear which one of these two gentlemen deserve to pass on their last name to Daughter. I rest my case.

Judge : After seeing the way both of these fathers talk about Daughter, there is no doubt in my mind which one of them has her best interest at heart. I hereby grant permission for Daughter's last name to be legally changed to that of Step Dad's.

(Step Dad, Mother and Daughter laugh and hug one another. Dad is dumbfounded. Dad's Lawyer looks furious.)

Sort:  
 last month 

Another winner. But it really was a "no contest" court case.

I really could see this being part of a Law & Order episode, or being the premise of an episode of Monk or such. Him being injected into some court drama while trying to solve some murder mystery relating to the daughter and her dads. I like it!

 last month 

Thank you!

You're welcome! I like reading you. Keep writing!

 last month 

Objection! With us a 12 year old has a voice and can take his/her own lawyer.
At the age of Daughter Dad will be voiceless. Dumbfounded I am because of the lack of brain of Dad making a fool of himself. It's clear why Daughter wants to change names. "What's in a name..."

🍀♥️

Your post has been rewarded by the Seven Team.

Support partner witnesses

@seven.wit
@cotina
@xpilar.witness

We are the hope!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62639.70
ETH 2439.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64