Camera (Daily Story Prompt for Saturday)

in Freewriters2 months ago (edited)

images - 2024-08-03T235942.367.jpeg

Source

It looked like any other camera I had seen as a child. A Canon EOS camera from the 1990s.

It looked quaint, in this day and age of cell phone cameras. And as it was one of the possessions my aunt Smita had left me, I decided to keep it. It might be fun to use.

The picture I took of the flowers in the local garden came out great. I couldn't believe just how good this camera was. I decided to click some photos of people's pets too and got some really neat ones of cats and dogs.

Getting them developed was a bit tricky, but I was able to get it done.

I picked up the photos on my way home from work and kept them in the drawer next to my bed. I woke up in the middle of the night to the sensation of something poking me in my foot. As I opened my eyes, I heard what sounded like the rustling of leaves. I jolted up in bed, to find myself surrounded with shrubbery and flowers. The same ones I had taken pictures of. As I sat in my bed in utter shock, I heard what sounded like soft snoring.

I turned my head to the left and saw a golden retriever, one of the dogs I had photographed, sleeping on the floor. I then saw the two cats I had photographed running around chasing each other.

It all lasted a few seconds before everything, the shrubs and the animals disappeared.

After I had stopped trembling I took the camera out of my closet. What was this thing? Was it showing me the future of the things I photographed? Or their present state a few days after the pictures were taken?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62409.07
ETH 2444.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62