Day 867: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: castle

in Freewriters4 years ago

image.png

This is my post for #freewrite Thursday prompt castle hosted by @mariannewest

Today was our last chance to make a paycheck this week and it did not happen. We were able to fish two days this week, yesterday and today, yesterday for both of us we had 32 pounds of pompano, today we had 22 pounds. That will give us a 300 dollar paycheck. We will not be able to build a castle with that amount.

The wind has been out of the southwest and blowing 15 knots or more. I ran the west shore and did not find anything so I text my husband and he said he was at Paul Island and caught one and lost one. I knew it would be rough over there but I went anyway. It did not take long and I caught one, and for hours that was it. My husband went back to the west shore and did not find anything so he went home. I decided to go to the Big Flat but on my way, I saw one and anchored and caught one. With the wind blowing its ass off my anchor broke loose, I tie it in a way that if I get it hung it will break the heavy mono and the anchor will pull out backward, the mono broke so it would no longer hold. I pulled the anchor and retied it, I was going to anchor back where I was but saw clear water to the west. Just as I entered the clear water a pompano skipped, I anchored and caught two.

When I was running the west shore this morning my motor sounded like it was crying, it was making a whining noise, I hope it is just low on lower unit oil and not something major going out.

Sort:  

Congratulations @myjob! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 650 posts. Your next target is to reach 700 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

New motor noises always make my nervous, whether it's the car or the lawnmower!

@scribblingramma I do not like it either, I know one day it will get to where it makes no noise, then I will need a new one.

I hope with you that it is not something mayor!! And so sorry to hear that you didn't catch much this week... You live a difficult life.

@mariannewest I do not see my life as difficult, I see it as different than the regular 9 to 5 job. We are careful not to overspend and not to buy anything on credit. It can be hard but it also can be rewarding. We will have had two bad weeks in a row but they will not always be bad. My husband was griping about not making much and I told him it is the time of year whether we were using gillnets, cast netting or hook and line fishing, spring has always been hard to make a living.

I love your attitude!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67685.77
ETH 3856.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69