Oatmeal – #freewrite No. 11, Day 822

in Freewriters4 years ago (edited)

It was February in the year 2021.

I was down to my last few meals, just a half bag of oatmeal and a cup of sugar. I washed my old pot, filled it with water and placed it on the stove.

Two weeks to go. Just two weeks. People had fasted for longer than that, I thought. I could think of it as a cleanse.

The jobs hadn’t worked out. Nobody seemed to be hiring, even at the fast food joints. I could call around again that afternoon. Or maybe I should do it after I finished breakfast; that way I would have some energy.

I knew I could make it. Just two weeks to go, then President Andrew Yang’s UBI would kick in, and I’d be getting a thousand bucks a month, just for being alive.

It only took a minute for the water to boil. I scooped in the oatmeal and let it cook for another minute, then poured it into my bowl and added half the sugar.

Yummy, yummy, for my tummy.

oatmeal-761434_1280.jpg


Photo by TanteTati, from Pixabay. Profile: https://pixabay.com/users/tantetati-77004/.

Freewrite prompt for Day 808: oatmeal.

For #freewrite guidelines, visit the prompt post here: https://steemit.com/hive-161155/@mariannewest/day-822-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-oatmeal.

Follow @mariannewest to receive the daily prompts.

Sort:  

Very clever! I've read quite a bit about UBI but I still don't get how flooding the economy with money wouldn't cause huge inflation, leaving you back on a porridge diet.

Yang's UBI would not increase the supply of money in the market, but redistribute the money already in circulation. So the value of the dollar should be unaffected.

Posted using Partiko Android

Redistribution à la Robinhood...rob from the rich and give to the poor? Hmm, I'll have to do a little reading.

There are folks pushing yang on steem that might appreciate this story. try #yanggang or something. And one of our whales is rewarding posts about yang. Look around for that!

Cool. Thanks.

lol forgot to say how much I like your story. It's fab. Please keep it up!

$1000 a month, I'm not sure I could make it on that with rent and utilities unless they pay them! =[

I can make on about $800, but that's single and living pretty simply.

I can make it on $300 (single and living simply too), but i live in Bulgaria and have no rent to pay (cos i bout a house for $10,000 ! :-)

If that is what you get you have to make it work

Posted using Partiko Android

I have no idea what UBI is or stands for.

Two weeks alone one can survive. 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Universal Basic Income. One of the presidential candidates in the US, Andrew Yang, is campaigning on that promise.

@owasco Thank you for explaining. Is that what some countries in Europe tried?.A basicincome for each of us 28+?

Not sure what countries have tried it. It would be for all citizens 18+.

Posted using Partiko Android

@cliffagreen Thank you. We talk about the same. Enjoy your day. ❤️

I'm here to deliver the Tuesday prompt so please write us another!

https://steempeak.com/hive-161155/@mariannewest/day-823-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-cannibals

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Love it. I really like stories set in the future, as a way of telling how it could be (and helping to create it, to be that way).

Like this headline:

HONG KONG, 8 April 2020
Headline in The South China Bugle: Successful Hong Kong Protesters Credit Steemit's Matrix-8 Platform for Renaissance of Democratic Process

"Following today's unprecedented, and unannounced 17 million-strong demonstrations in 47 cities throughout Sino-Asia – Chicom Premier-for-Eternity Mou Sy-Dung has taken an awkward, but portentous step back. Unaccustomed to surprises, or to acknowledging even the slightest defeat, he has nonetheless announced a year-long moratorium on governmental responses to peaceful protests in Hong Kong, Taiwan, and Tibet. It would seem that The Chinese People's Voice—as they are calling it—has been heard!"

Source: https://steempeak.com/steemit/@matrix-8/a-newbie-s-combination-introduction-and-white-paper

Namaste

I ready to eat every morning of my husband. Nice free write article

@cliffagreen, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44