A Last Walkabout In Arroyo de la Miel

in LAKSHMI29 days ago

My holiday in Benalmadena is coming to an end. It is time to go home.

Here are some snapshots of Arroyo taken when I was out and about on my walks with Roger. Usually, Roger will take the lead. I will follow behind him while he takes me through the streets, side streets and alleys. I now have an idea of where is where in Arroyo.

We usually take our walks during a quiet time of the day – when the locals are having their siestas. At this time, there is less traffic on the roads. We try to do the recommended 10,000 steps a day. But sometimes, an hour’s walk in the hot summer sun is quite enough. The hot and dry weather can be quite punishing, especially when you have to go up and down slopes.

Anyway, here are some random shots around Arroyo.

This is the city center.
1.jpg

2.jpg

There are many of these benches all over the area. Benalmadena is situated on the side of the mountain, so it is up slopes and down slopes all the time. This can be tiring for the seniors. With these benches at strategic locations, they can take a rest before proceeding on their way. So, the benches are very useful. And they do get used as I have seen quite regularly.
5.jpg

Spanish homes and apartments. As you can see from the photos, the roads are quite steeped. And these are mild ones.
5a.jpg

5b.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

10.jpg

There are quite a few statues about the place. I am sure each has a story behind them, but I do not know.
10c.jpg

Spotted these ‘birds of paradise’ flowers by the side of the road.
11.jpg

12.jpg

Walking is one of the most primal movement patterns. Because walking became essential to our survival as we evolved from our ape ancestors into our present upright form, our bodies have developed in such a way that walking is integral to our health. - Frank Lipman & Mollie Doyle

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<< th (1) - Copy.jpg~th (1) - Copy.jpg >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Your post has been rewarded by the Seven Team.

Support partner witnesses

@seven.wit
@cotina
@xpilar.witness

We are the hope!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57558.50
ETH 2437.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35