Paraprosdokians

in LAKSHMI7 days ago

“A paraprosdokian is a figure of speech in which the latter part of a sentence or phrase is surprising or unexpected in a way that causes the reader or listener to reframe or reinterpret the first part. It is frequently used for humorous or dramatic effect, sometimes producing an anti-climax. For this reason, it is extremely popular among comedians and satirists.” - Wikipedia

“Some paraprosdokians not only change the meaning of an early phrase, but also play on the double meaning of a particular word, creating a syllepsis.” - Wikipedia

Enjoy today’s selection of Paraprosdokians. May your days be filled with laughter.

1.png
Image created on Canva

Strong people don’t put others down, they lift them up... And them slam them into the ground for maximum damage. - Unknown

It’s never too late to start getting fit and that is why I’m waiting until later. - Unknown

When angry, count to four. When very angry, swear. - Mark Twain

I finally got 8 hours of sleep. It took me four days, but whatever. - Unknown

If one door closes and another one opens, your house is haunted and you need to run. - Unknown

I don’t always go the extra mile, but when I do it’s because I missed my exit. - Unknown

Some people are so judgmental. I can tell just by looking at them. - Unknown

The journey of a thousand miles begins with a broken fan belt and leaky tire. - Unknown

To err is human, to blame it on somebody else shows management potential. - Unknown

Write what you know. That should leave you with a lot of free time. - Howard Nemerov

A man drove me to drink and I never got to thank him. - Unknown

I went to the paint store to get thinner. It didn’t work. - Vince the sign guy

2.png
Image created on Canva

All quotes taken from 👉Here - my very own collection!

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<< th (1) - Copy.jpg~th (1) - Copy.jpg >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Your post has been rewarded by the Seven Team.

Support partner witnesses

@seven.wit
@cotina
@xpilar.witness

We are the hope!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67416.66
ETH 3475.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67