Art Attack! #8: Let's-a-Go to Peach's Castle! 🏰

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

2.jpg

Hey Steemit!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my paintings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started.

Last week, I shared one of my first masterpieces! It was inspired by my favourite TV series, Avatar the Last Airbender!

image.png

This week's post will be a little short, since 1) I actually don't have many pictures for this piece, and 2) last week's post was exceptionally long because of all the details involved.

Anyway, this piece is another gaming-related one! If you've read my other posts (esp the OST ones), you'd know that I'm a huge Nintendo fan, and practically grew up on the Mario franchise. I particularly liked the art style of the Paper Mario series, and when I saw this wallpaper, I wanted to replicate it for myself!

image.png
Source: thewallpaper.co

But obviously I didn't want the background to be so dark, so I decided to draw Princess Peach's castle instead. I guess this was kinda my first attempt at drawing different layers (i.e. foreground and background).

1.jpg

So I know my Mario doesn't look exactly like the picture, but I think it was a pretty good likeness. The lines are pretty clean and smooth as well.
The towers on the castle could've been straighter though, I will admit.

Anyway, this piece remained black and white like this for many many months, until I started painting. Then I figured I could practise my painting by finishing this piece up!

2.jpg

I think Mario was pretty well painted in terms of colour, but I probably should've painted the sky as well huh. I hadn't learned about ombre colours yet, but I'd definitely paint it like that now.

Looking at this now, I think I might redo this piece in the future. Mario is such an iconic character and has been a huge part of my life, he deserves a place on my wall next time too, and I don't think this piece does him the proper justice.

No ideas yet, but I'll definitely share that piece next time!

Thanks for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!

Check out my previous post in this series!

Art Attack! #7: The Elemental Masters 💧🌍🔥🍃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61205.14
ETH 3376.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51