The time machine - sand sculpture

in OnChainArt5 years ago



Time, the finaller frontier. Even though it can't be measured like the X, Y or Z we have a scale that stretches back to the big bang. What happened before the big bang? Well that is not a question that makes any sense as there wasn't a before before time existed. You can really get your head in a spin trying to think about time especially now that we know it is something which doesn't run at a equal rate for all observers. Mind blown. I can understand why it is such a popular topic in Sci-fi as it is something which seems to make no sense and so we are all free to come up with our own theories.

Time travel can be a great idea to mull over in your noggin. If I go back and kill that Hitler baby fella would I save the world? What if I could warn the Chinese not to drink bat soup (Ok maybe that's not a thing) Would my actions remove the reason for me to go back first place. Would I end up marrying my mother. It all really don't make sense when you think it out rationally but it's all clean fun.



Tempus fugit

With this post I want to bring you back to 2007 and Travenmude, Germany. It was great to be there again especially because the weather was so nice. Great carving weather and lot's of familiar faces from my past.

Carpe diem

My first job was to create a sculpture at the entrance of some sort of time machine. I was all excited as it was a bit freer than most of the other sculptures in the festival. The theme was going back in time, another excuse to carve historic scenes and old building. The time machine would give new the opportunity to put some of my own ideas into the project.
I was kind of disappointed when I saw my block of sand and how tiny it was. A time machine needs to be big otherwise the flux capacitor would not hold enough voltage to warp the time space continuum. it's simple physics!

First thing i did was get as much sand as I was allowed dumped in front of the block, If I couldn't go bigger I would go longer.
My idea was to carve a figure in a crazy perspective as he/she was pulled into the washing machine like mechanism, getting warped in an anti clockwise motion would surely give the viewer the idea that the whole thing was going back in time. Again, Simple physics!



In some ways I hoped that the perspective I added to the figure would make the machine look further away and so bigger. Not really sure if it worked but the idea firmly lodged in my head and would become a motif I would explore again.



The device itself was the typical 'Timeomatic 3000 series 2™'. I find that this one is the best of all time machines as it can really bring you back to the exact second you require, No point arriving just after this girl has actually eaten the bat soup.

Who am I to judge? I drink bovine lactation discharge.



At the other end of the sculpture we can see the figure coming through the worm hole, starting to reform. I was really restricted with how big the pile of sand was but made a good stab at getting the idea across,



Yet another strange piece from me. If I could go back and change something what would it be? I would probably create more dark shadows inside the time machine and change the polarity of the left flux capacitor so that the figure could go forward in time as the guests leave the exhibition but maybe by doing these things I would not have been inspired for other sculptures to come.



clickablesm.gif



Ps

Thanks for reading. I use Steem to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, amongst other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Steem blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.

Look to the past - sand sculpture

Musical Embrace - sand sculpture

Ireland's Eye -sand sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon
@ammonite

Sort:  

Excellent @ammonite have you tried chainsaw carving wood? If not I may be able to claim the "Only chainsaw carver on Steemit" status...great work friend

I have done some chainsaw work with wood but I mostly use it for ice. Some times I feel like I am the only sand/ ice/snow sculpture on Steem although I know one or two others knocking around. It does seem like you are the only chainsaw wood sculptor and from looking at your work it a deserved status. Thanks very much.



@jonatftforest you have received 20 ENGAGE from @ammonite!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

I'm just seriously impressed by the detailing of the time machine.

Have also tried playing around with time for various stories and it's a constant headache that I try to avoid these days XD

This sand is actually quite good for details but time is always against me and these projects. I wish I had more of it and would have gone more nuts on details.
The paradoxes with time can be fun but also brain melting.



@ryivhnn you have received 20 ENGAGE from @ammonite!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Another amazing piece @ammonite. These are crazy. Thanks for sharing!
@tipu curate

Thanks @Midlet. It is great to see onchainart grow and I am happy to be a part of it.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ammonite
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-time-machine-sand-sculpture


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @georgeboya.


@helpie is a Community Witness.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59880.83
ETH 2301.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50