#SAFU

in Be Awesome4 years ago (edited)

I’m trying to joke about all this but to be honest I’m really just sad. I’m not worried or stressed, I’ve always known this place would go to shit if the wrong person invested enough money. I got over my illusions about blockchain solving all the worlds problems very early.

Decentralization is not decentralization unless it focuses on the decentralization of power. True decentralization is not tied to a currency or a technology. It’s a mindset and a culture we have to build. I hope recent events will convince some of you of this.

I’m thankful for the bitcoin and the friends and the opportunities I’ve had to grow here. But I’m so damn sad.

I trust everything is happening according to the flow and that if I go with it, I’ll find some positive result from this but I’m still sad.

Once again, I’m not leaving. I want to stay connected with you all as much as I can and I do believe there are brighter days to come. It’s just getting harder and harder to feel any kind of positive feelings about the name STEEM and what it means. It’s always been a bit of a shit show, but now it feels GENTRIFIED. At least the Wild West is full of possibilities. Now it feels like this place is going to become more and more sterile, if anyone stays at all.

I am positive about the future but once again, I feel more encouraged to put my effort into our connections off chain.

I will continue to post and read and comment but I apologize if my heart is not in it. Please find me in discord if you want to talk about building a community that goes beyond the blockchain.

Sort:  

Sad is a good word to describe this.... whatever this is.

The problem is, Mr Tron did a nuclear move.
i can understand it, but now, much support of STEEM has just been turned into a glass sheet, never to return.

i would like to say, Mr Tron shot himself in the foot, but this is much worse than that.

We all new Mr Dan had the power, but never used in in a nuclear move way... although things did get tense a time or two.

Soooo, for the little people, STEEM will probably carry on much the same way it has always been. It might even get those serious improvements in code it needed.

...but that decentralized feeling is gone, gone, gone whooa...♪♩

I totally get you my friend. I don't even know what emotion to use but sad definitely comes close. Thinking positively about the whole situation starts to become more and more challenging. I'm lucky that I still have hypersensitivosaurus to tell me otherwise and balance out the negative again and again ;>)

Keep breathing and stay connected.

Big hug,

Vincent

But decentralization IS being built, isn't it? I don't know. I see this whole fiasco as a part of a process. Steem is still an experiment in decentralized governance. And I think we got some good results with this experiment, as the community came together voluntarily and put enough witnesses back in the top 20 to prevent a hardfork by JS (at least for now). Steem got a lot of publicity and support from the greater crypto community. And because of the publicity, another major exchange is now considering listing Steem. I'd say that the way the community came together to vote our witnesses back in makes for a good step toward your idea of decentralization being a mindset. And I agree, it is a mindset, but the tech helps to amplify the mindset, give it some power. I'm sure the tech will be worked on some more after this is all over, to allow for better decentralized governance and hopefully more evenly distributed coins over time.

It ain't over yet, though. We should be expecting more turbulence ahead.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65844.70
ETH 3445.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68