You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The key to promoting Steem is NOT promoting Steem

in Be Awesome4 years ago (edited)

Maybe an award winning author isn’t the right person to bring more attention to steem right now.

I think some of those in the steemit community need to become award winning authors or successful at whatever they are doing and not ditch steem in the process.

Like I said, the awards are a really important part of the platform, it’s important that we try to make it a fair and dynamic place for reward distribution, but I don’t really think anyone who comes for the money will really appreciate this place enough to help it grow long term. The people who love it for what it already is are what will allow it to grow.

Rather than selling the idea to people, I’ve kept it rather quiet, and now I mention all these friends in India and Portugal and Nigeria and they are like “where did I meet them?” So I explain.

Sort:  

Well said, and couldn't agree more. Pitching it as a place to those in my social circle and getting them to take a look is easy. Selling them on playing around on the platform long enough to develop a love of it? Well, nigh on impossible. We definitely have some remarkable folks here though which is why I enjoy being here so much. What has been established in the bear market is an excellent core group of users though. I think things like fair reward distribution is important... But the main point I've found that's a switch off for normal people is ease of use. But hey, the space is in early stages so maybe that will be solved someday. Fingers crossed. :)

A bear market definitely has its advantages too :>)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14