The Diary Game [September 2nd, 2023]: My laptop care day

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE9 months ago (edited)

Due to how attached I am to my laptop and the Internet for some years now, my laptop has become my companion/my workstation. I just hope it doesn't bring issues when Mrs. Steem Electricals finally comes into my life...😁

That might sound funny, but a few days ago, I overheard my neighbour's wife quarrelling with her husband, and she was saying that he has to choose between his job and his family. The problem is that her husband doesn't stay at home, he travels a lot for work but spends very little time at home with his family.

I don't think that's healthy for a better family life, but that's not what I want to talk about, it's none of my business, it's just that, while they were having their quarrelling conversation I was just imagining my future and how attached I am with my PC, how would I balance this when Mrs Steem Electricals finally comes into my life...😂?....Will I face the above scenario just like the couple I mentioned above...?...Only the future can tell...😂

I had unpleasant moments with my laptop yesterday

I noticed my laptop was hanging every two minutes whenever I was browsing, and it kept refreshing the pages automatically, While doing this, sometimes, it disorganizes my activities. I would have made a few posts yesterday, but it didn't work out due to this situation. So, yesterday, I noticed that the cooling fan of my laptop wasn't turning and the entire body of the PC was hot.

Unfortunately, all my activities paused, and I needed to find a solution for that. The first brilliant Idea would be to clean the fan with a vacuum in case there is dust, unfortunately, I didn't have that equipment. Of course, dust is one of the factors that can spoil a laptop cooling fan.

Well, I opened the back of my laptop to clean some dust after watching a video sent by a friend on how such an issue can be solved, I tried cleaning it with brush, but it still didn't work. You can watch the video below, it is very useful.


Source

I am using Dell Latitude E5450, so this video is based on my laptop brand and model. So, if you are using this type of laptop, this video can be useful to you and if you are using a different brand, maybe you can search for your brand and model directly.


Source



But if you can't open the back for this maintenance, please take it to a repairer's shop so that you don't spoil more things.

Laptop components are very fragile, so one needs to be careful, otherwise you could end up spoiling more components that would require a huge amount of money to fix.

In the afternoon, I took it to a repairer shop, perhaps, they could do some magic on it to start working. But when I got there, they tried the same thing I did by cleaning the cooling fan and checking all the wires and after 15 minutes of their whole process, they told me that the cooling fan was bad and needed replacement.

I was ready to replace it because failure to do so can lead to even more problems like overheating which I was already experiencing, performance lag, and even shutting down by itself, more Integrated circuits (I.C) could get burnt.

I didn't want to take any chances, so I bought an external laptop cooling fan. However, they assured me that the internal cooling fan would be available in their shop by either next week Friday or the following week. But the problem here is that I can't wait till that time. My laptop is my companion and workstation, so I can't imagine staying without it for a day unless I am sick or travelling. Usually, my laptop is always ON for almost 24 hours every day.

Even though I find it annoying to have too much stuff sticking out of the side of my laptop, getting this external fan was a good decision because my laptop is not hanging anymore due to the heat and like they say..." prevention is better than cure".

By the way, I got the external fan for eight thousand five hundred naira (₦‎8,5000) which is equivalent to about 60 Steem.

I was also told that the internal cooling fan is almost the same price as the external fan. Hopefully, I can get that much later, but for now, I want to enjoy the one at the moment.

Coming back home was a little bit tiring, I just ate in the night, worked on Steem electricals, and wrote a summary post for team 1 curators handling SC04. And this was how I spent my yesterday which was 2nd September, 2023.

I hope the new week will be a better week with some interesting things to read and write about.



Cast a witness vote for @pennsif.witness


Vote here



Sort:  
 9 months ago 

I think I remember that your laptop is not that old...? I'm surprised that the fan is already defective. But you should still have a guarantee on the device...? Dell is very correct.

 9 months ago 

Yes, it is not that old..., one of the biggest problems of laptops are just fan.

I guess with the much time I spent online with it..., it was beginning to over work.

But you should still have a guarantee on the device...?

Yeah, normally I should..., but they said that I have over use it..., like I spent almost 24 hours online everyday since the day I bought it....and it's almost 10 months now. That's almost a year.

It is working well now with the external fan. In the future, I will put the internal cooling fan.

 9 months ago 

I know - laptops are generally not designed for continuous operation. But that should not be a reason to lose your warranty claim within 10 months... Makes me a little angry.

 9 months ago 

That's Nigeria for you...🤷‍♂️. It's not really a good thing.

Here are some essential aspects of laptops that we can learn from and some rules for cleaning laptop cooling fans.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64664.97
ETH 3401.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31