Steemit Engagement Challenge S9-W3: "Kindness that changed my life"

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFElast year (edited)

I am starting another day with another interesting topic that is captivative - ’” kindness that changed my life”

This topic is general for everyone because I don’t think there is anyone on planet Earth who has not received kindness before. Even the free air we are breathing is an act of kindness from our creator, the supreme God and I am grateful for that.

By the way, this contest made me remember one of my pleasant country music tracks by Glen Campbell entitled: "Try a Little Kindness".

The video of that song below was performed by Brad Paisley, but the song is originally owned by Campbell, I am just in love with the guitar version as a guitarist.

Let's "rock n roll"!


Try a Little Kindness by Brad Paisley

However, I will like to follow the guidelines of the contest so as to spotlight the needed information.

What was the act of kindness that impacted your life? Describe the situation

Six years ago when I did my NYSC (National Your Service Corps) here in my country, I was living on an Island, It was my first time living in such an environment but I was facing some challenges namely: lack of good water for laundry/cooking and fighting mosquitoes.

Their kindness will always remain in my heart

But there were some young children that always left their homes to assist me because we were all living in the same area. These children always helped me to clean the compound by weeding every area, and packing all the dirt- thereby not giving mosquitoes a comfortable zone to survive.

Most of time the fetch me water for laundry. If you look at their pictures very well, you will see how young they are, but they were not young when it comes to kindness. The feelings I have when they come to my house are priceless!

They are from a poor background, but they are not poor at heart, they are rich and superheroes and they are much better than me. One other thing that always touched me was how happy their parents were feeling whenever these kids wants to come and help me.

This action left me a mark that I will never forget. I think what humans need is to put a smile on other human faces, that’s all, and I promised myself that I do that as long as I am alive.

What were the emotions you were feeling at that time?

These kids don’t have it all, but they and their parents were happy with the little they have and they were always willing to give more.

Most times I shared tears of joy whenever I see their condition and how happy they are even with that. These always made me appreciate the real meaning of life and that I don’t need to have it all to assist others, but I can put a smile on people’s faces. This has been my resolution a long time ago and I can’t change that.

How did that act impact you? (Financially, emotionally, etc.)

That single act changed my understanding of happiness, happiness is not all about having all the money in the world before considering kindness. Kindness can be done even without money. For a long time now, I set a target of always putting a smile on people’s faces every week with my little act of kindness. I know the real meaning of life and I know the real source of happiness.

What are the lessons you learned from that incident? Did it change your perspective on kindness and the way you treat others?

I derived a lot of lessons from that single act of kindness from those kids and it is based on the popular saying from the Poetry of John Bunyan ” You have not lived today until you have done something for someone who can never repay you.”

Little things like sending a friend some motivating messages and videos have become part of me now and I do that on a regular basis.

Did you manage to pass it forward by showing kindness to others? How?

Yes, I did. I love a better life and since then I have been trying to live up to my resolution which is to make people’s lives better with any possible little means I can and also put a smile on their faces.

Seeing this Joy and smile is one of my aim



I hope to reach many of their needs

Joining the steemit platform gave me a wide medium to achieve this goal and that is one of the reasons I am in the @worldsmile project. And through these projects with the help of many kind-hearted users around the globe here in the blog, I have been able to put smiles on people's faces. I am happy that I can have a share on this.

I have also learned American sign language in other to communicate with deaf and dumb people. These ones are also humans and they shouldn’t be deprived of anything. I always have a passion to communicate with these ones, so picking up this course wasn’t a bad choice. Now I can communicate with any deaf or dumb person and I also try to put a smile on their faces. In the future, I hope to carry out a project in one of the deaf and dumb schools.


At this point, I will like to invite some of my friends to participate in this contest....,@goodybest, @kay-owobia and @adylinah could you please share your thoughts if you can..?

Cast a witness vote for @pennsif.witness as witness ...

Sort:  
 last year 

Mi querido amigo

Dicen que el mayor acto de Bondad y amabilidad vienes de más almas puras que no esperan nada a cambio y esos son los Niños almas puras que desean ayudar desde el corazón.

Se ve que felices estaban de tenerte entre ellos y por eso te brindaron su cariño, y apoyo en todo momento.

Si sonrisas era el recordatorio de que la vida es bella y hay que vivir con Alegría se tenga poco o mucho.

Es una historia muy bonita de amabilidad y dulzura la que nos presentas.

Este maravilloso proyecto @worldsmile es de gran bendición para muchos y te felicito por ser parte de él, ha de ser una satisfacción muy especial ser parte de un proyecto tan grande.

Te deseo buena suerte amigo fue un placer leerte. .
Bendiciones 💕✨

 last year 

This is so interesting and you are right. It is always a thing of joy to assist..., those beautiful smiles worth staying forever.

Thank you for this interesting comment

 last year 

I've read a number of articles on how generous you are through this platform to assist others. You truly are a kind person. Through this platform, I learned about your charity organization. I respect your hard work, commitment, and desire to assist people. You are blessed, my dear friend.

 last year 

Dear @ubongudofot,
Compassion for the people of your country I think is a very good quality of yours. Social activities cannot be done mindfully without the desire of generosity in mind.

But I understand the satisfaction you get because of your generous attitude towards people.

I really liked your presentation. I wish you good luck for the competition.

Loading...
 last year 

What you are doing for the people of Nigeria is unparalleled. Almighty sends some great people in every society so that the people of the society can live properly.
I pray that Almighty gives you more strength so that you can serve the people around you. Blessings

 last year 

Thank you so much for your kind words and wishes , I truy appreciate.

 last year 

El acto de bondad que realizas, por todas estas personas, es de bendición para todos.

Que Dios siga añadiendo, lo que falta para que sigas apoyando a todas estas personas.
Saludos.

 last year 

Thank you so much, 💓

 last year 

Your post is very well presented. There are still very good people in our society. We should all stand with people. If we stand by people then people will love us. And our generosity will be revealed. If we help everyone then everyone will accept us and the world will be a beautiful environment. So you have presented your post very nicely, people around you have helped you a lot. I prayed for you. Thank you for sharing such a beautiful post.

 last year 

Thank you..

 last year 

Ikut menyayangi dan membantu kebutuhan mereka dengan kemampuan kita dalam bentuk apapun adalah terjawab oleh kalimat kecil anda didalam post ini, itulah makna menghargai hidup anda dan bagi sumua orang yang berbuat kebaikan.

 last year 

Thank you for that. Kindness has always been the most easiest way to show love..

 last year 

You are welcome!
..that's a beautiful sentence my friend..

 last year 

Great entry, the smile on people's faces speak it all with kindness the world will be better again. Let's affect the world with kindness and generosity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61938.24
ETH 2404.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53