Homesteading: Goat farming, a start to success - #3

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFElast year

Last week, I made the statement below through this post here...

So, this week, I would welcome a new goat....., maybe she would do her introduction once she arrives...😊. My next update on this would be the arrival.

But it looks like I was missing something which is what I will focus on in this article...and that was safety.

It’s a good day to write about my homestead journey again. This is pretty much like an update to my last post about my goat rearing.

I needed to fumigate the goat house before bringing them home. oh…I missed that, but I didn’t make the mistake of bringing them. The veterinarian told me that we needed to do that first before bringing this new associate to my environment.

He said this process was necessary if I wanted to start with disease-free. This process will take one week, that is after fumigation, I need to allow the place for one week before bringing the goat in.

Well, before now, the only one I knew was to clean the house, that’s all, but he said, there might be some unwanted `visitors in the goad house which can cause issues.

I think that is settled now.

The house is fenced around t avoid the goat loitering around and destroying plants. However, I have a section where I can allow them to work around freely without destroying anything.

Over here, it’s a crime if your goat destroys another person’s property. You as the owner will have to pay for whatever damages it has caused.

I don't want to start this journey with such and that's why I am putting all this into consideration.

I would be feeding them with natural vegetation, local goats here feed on that and they are always very healthy with that. I will talk more about this feeding during my next update.

It was a pleasure to to recived a gift from @chriddi to purchase the male goat, so now I would be having both male and female, I am so excited!😊

What next?

I have to wait for the fumigation process which woukd last for seven days starting from today. My next update would be a welcome ceremoney for my goat arrival.

Cast a witness vote for @pennsif.witness


Vote here

About Me

Sort:  
 last year 

I am very excited to meet the new goat. I bet you’ll do a wonderful job taking care of them. I am curious though, if a goat dies do you eat it? Are these animals viewed more as work animals or as pets?

 last year 

Hello @starphyreblooms, thank you for your kind words. I will introduce the new goat by next week after this whole fumigation process.

I am curious though, if a goat dies do you eat it? Are these animals viewed more as work animals or as pets?

If it dies, we don't eat it, we bury it.

And here, we have animals we take as pets...

Over here, goats can be used for milking or as meat.

 last year 

@ubongudofotYou are taking care of the goats in your homestead. I feel good. Your goats show how much you care for them. Very nice looking goats.
stay well Good luck to you.

 last year 

Thank you.

 last year 

Welcome stay well.

They are beautiful animals for various purpose.

Thank you.

 last year (edited)

This is a wonderful move considering how things are moving in this our country. Congratulations sir, I wish to set up my poultry farm again too.

 last year 

Thank you ....

Congratulations, your post is upvoted by CCS curation trail from CCS - A community by witness @visionaer3003.

png_20230714_223610_0000.png

"Home is where your heart is !❤️."

cyxkEVqiiLy2ofdgrJNxeZC3WCHPBwR7MjUDzY4kBNr81LgoDfTovZFjKgw6zMQtAnAPjGMC8RWTcjJfJscBJfnwR4Gi8DzYa91VcGQiVQ6nybhCecG6tn97bGn4jfYjj26.png
Vote for @visionaer3003 as witness.

 last year 

Thank you for your support...

 last year 

Wow!
Poultry farming has become More lucrative, keep it up and enjoy the benefits.

 last year 

Detective @ubongudofot it is truly wonderful to see your adherence to ensuring a safe and healthy environment for your goats. Fumigating the goat house shows your duty to disease prevention. Exciting times ahead with your upcoming goat arrival👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56278.39
ETH 2377.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29