Food Review | Nigerian Food - Let Me take you Around [26th May,2022]

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE2 years ago (edited)

Picture Made by Me Using Canva


Hello Friends,

Living in a country with over 370 tribes and over 500 languages, you will know there are over a thousand local meals and your taste buds will become very confused as to what tastes great, what is okay, and what is simply delicious.

Before i move on, let's have a bite of Akara(Bean Cake) below:

Akara

How will you feel if I take you on a tour here in my Country to Show you the kinds of Food we have?

If I were you I wouldn’t reject that offer, I would Simply Accept it, do you know why?

Because Someday, you might Visit here, Oh yes, I'm talking about Nigeria. You may, you never Can tell.

Food is one way to identify a culture. If you must Know, Nigeria is one of the world's most ethnically diverse countries, I don't know if that really makes sense to you, but that's the truth.

And here is what it is made of below.

Picture Made by Me Using Canva

The Hausa and Yoruba make up around 26.9% of the populace; the Igbo/Ibo, 23.1%; the Fulani, around 14.1%; and Ibibio, 6.4%. The other group makes up the extra 29.5%.
Did I tell you?, I am under that 6.4%, that’s the Ibibio.

Trust me, I do not even know where to start when it comes to the local food, but one thing is for sure, all these meals are super amazing and your taste buds will get confused when it comes to the local foods in Nigeria.


Raosted Corn

20200712_172032.jpg
African Pear and tapioka

The number of local foods is infinite, ranging from the street foods like Akara, roasted corn, suya, bole (roasted plantain), dodo (fried plantain), okra, fried yam, agidi, edible worm, moimoi (bean cake), kuli-kuli, kilish, puff puff, etc. I haven't even mentioned half of it because they are many.

Moving on to the local ethnic foods, I can't even list them because their numbers are large, but here are a few: Using (pounded yam), Jollof Rice, Abacha, Ewa Riro (beans porridge), Bitterleaf soup, Banga soup, garri, porridge yam.

20220522_124652.jpg

The most famous Nigerian meal is probably jollof rice, but the cuisine has so much more to offer, especially with its abundance of intensely flavored soups and stews, as well as equally plentiful vegetables.

When visiting Nigeria, you must taste this traditional cuisine that is served in several West African countries. However, we must issue a warning!
Prepare to get involved in a friendly battle between Nigeria and Ghana over who creates the best Jollof rice.

You can't look at local food without reviewing the local ingredients they use to make this turn out amazing, ranging from different cultures and tribes. There are so many local ingredients that make this food great, like palm oil, iru(locust beans), akanwu(potash), crayfish, pepper, ogiri(fermented sesame seeds or egusi seeds) etc.


Garri and Soup

The unforgettable, spicy-filled taste of the soup or the well-seasoned taste of the stew.

How about the rich culture-filled taste of tribal food or the delicious party jollof rice is more than just a local dish; it is a once-in-a-lifetime experience you will never forget.

I cannot talk about all these mouth-watering local dishes and forget the rich, flavor-filled taste of their local drink that is always ready to accompany these local dishes.


Palm Wine

We also have palm wine, I can’t tell if you have Such in your Zone, but if you do, then you are blessed too, I mean all of us are blessed.

Different locations, and different Food, they all make life Sweet too.

Hopefully, I will get to review these different Foods based on the region we have here in Nigeria, I am pretty much Sure, that this will give you a clear Understand of what you Should expect before entering Nigeria.

With Just 8 steems, you can have a plate of each of those food above.

I already know what to expect if I am visiting Indonesia because my friend @irawandedy has to Utilize his time to give all of us a review about the food over there and some fine locations as we can See here through his Publication entitled: FOOD REVIEW | Quantum Coffee & Brasserie - Favorite Place With Delicious Menu

Is it Pakistan? @huzaifanaveed1 has done that too by telling us about the food there through his post entitled: FOOD REVIEW || KAYBEES || SOME QUALITY FOOD, in case you want to pay a visit to Pakistan.

I know in the future my great and Caring Friends from Germany @chriddi and @weisser-rabe will also give me a clue of what food looks like over there.

While in Ukraine, I will like to know from my Engineer Friend @o1eh.

It's Already afternoon here, I really need to eat now and I hope you have learn few things on this post.

LocationUyo
DeviceSamsung A12
Review by@ubongudofot

About Me

Sort:  
 2 years ago 
DescriptionInformation
Free Plagiarism
#steemexlusive
Verified User
Bot Free
Share Rewards To Charity
Support #burnsteem25
PeriodMarch 26 to May 26, 2022
Transfer to Vesting1,534.078 STEEM
Cash Out
480 STEEM
Resultclub75

Determination of Club Status refers to the steemworld.org Web-based Application

NoteThanks for sharing this review post, it's very interesting to see and know the type of maoan in your country.
 2 years ago 

Thank you very much for the review my brother.

I will definitely tell you about Ukrainian dishes, I just need to collect photos :-)

 2 years ago 

That would be great., i would really want to see it😊

 2 years ago 

Hello @o1eh, can I speak to you privately through the discord?
There is something I want to discuss with you.
This is my discord sofian88#1715

 2 years ago 

Nope, sorry, I'm not going to.... ;-)
There are unfortunately reasons why I can't invest more time in the Steem at the moment than I currently do.

Nevertheless, thank you for these interesting glimpses into Nigerian cuisine.

 2 years ago 

Oh, it's okay, I can understand. And you are welcome, I really wanted to tell people more about Nigeria.

I still have more interesting articles to publish Soon. I feel it's a better way I could express myself, telling people more about my background.😊

 2 years ago 

What a great post! It is so informative and I’ve learned so much from your country. So many tribes and languages.
The only thing that looks familiar to me is the corn on the corb.
Great photos! Well written! Easy reading!
Well done!

 2 years ago 

Thank you so much 😊, actually i was going to mention you in this post, but for some reasons which i can't figure out i forgot...,maybe because i was just thinking of how to get some fresh Corn 😄, thank God you are here...😊.

Alright, so i was about asking...Does south Africa eat garri and Soup...?

 2 years ago 

Hi ! Nope we don’t get it here by us.
Let my rather say, as far as I know you don’t get it here by us 😊

 2 years ago 

Okay, wow...., i wonder which other African Countries share this food with Nigeria.

Hello. Good to see you)). I can show you Ukrainian borscht))

image.png

 2 years ago 

Oh my God, this looks so good. I wish i could have a taste...., is it hard to make..?, do you think i can get some of the ingredients here in Nigeria?

It really looks like one of our soups.😊, thanks for sharing...

potatoes, cabbage, beets, onions, tomatoes, carrots, sour cream, and meat)) is not difficult to do, we cook every week))

 2 years ago 

Interesting, we have them here too😊, thanks for sharing those tips.., hopefully i would try this very soon, i'll mention you when indo it.

 2 years ago 

It's great! And sounds really delicious...

Of course you will get some impressions from traditional and modern german meals! Let me collect some - I will mention you ;-))

 2 years ago 

That would be perfect 🥰, ofcourse i would really want to see that..😊. Thank you so much.

 2 years ago 

I wish I could travel all over the world, including of course Nigeria, since you describe so nicely all those plates. I won't lose hope, as you said (or wrote): you never know 😊. Those you call "African pear", is it sweet?

Thank you @ubongudofot for working well in curating content in the My Life category, I have voted your post as a reward for your hard work.

By: @anroja

 2 years ago 

Hi sir @ubongudofot.
You have a very nice post about your food on your country. And you are a remarkable story teller, i love reading it. Congratulations 🥰.

 2 years ago 

How will you feel if I take you on a tour here in my Country to Show you the kinds of Food we have?

Wooow bro I feel awesome after seeing the various kinds of food in your country.

What caught my attention was the Garri and soup then with that palm win

IMG-20220527-WA0000.jpg

You can see from the picture above that I love taking palm wine as well🤣🤣. The unfortunate thing is that I love only the sweet one. Once it start getting stronger I won't drink it again because I'm not drinking alcohol or any strong drink. I have one of my Aunt that does this Palm wine business as her primary business. So I usually go there and drink Palm when ever I'm chance

Meeeeeeerd, about that Garri and Soup, you sure say you be last finisham so🙆‍♂️🙆‍♂️. I usually eat that quantity only when I'm super hungry😂🤣🤣

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39