Steemit Engagement Challenge S5-W1: Laughter is The Best Medicine

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE2 years ago


Photo_1665350728665_1.png
Cover Image Created using PosterMaker



Good Day, dear Steemians, I am so excited to be here again and I will be dropping my second article for this week here in this community. The topic before me is Laughter Is The Best Medicine. Today I will be sharing with you all my opinion about laughter, the reason why I thought it is the best medicine, and the incident that got me to laugh so much to the point that I was holding my stomach.


Laughter


Laughter can be defined as a pleasing or pleasurable physical reaction and emotion that comes in the form or comes as a spontaneous sound and movement of body and face in an expression of amusement, joy, or derision.

We found ourselves laughing when we listen to, read, or watch funny things like comedy movies or stories, and also when we are making a mockery of some funny incident either the one we did or with people around us.


Image of myself laughing taken from my phone



Laughter Is The Best Medicine


Laughter has been the best medicine that everyone needs over the years because it has shown so many benefits and helped us in our day-to-day activities, laughter brightens our day and brings a meaningful color to our life and I bet without it the world will be a gloomy one. Laughing helps us to forget our problem and sees the world in a better way.

Laughter helps in creating and strengthening bonds between people, it turns a moody atmosphere to be lively and cheerful one, and it clears the anger and grieving in our mind, making us live a free, good, and long life that is free of sorrow and enmity.

Laughter increases resilience and gives the motivation to keep going and never give up, gloomy people give up after failure but people that always laugh see failure as part of progress toward their success story and this encourages them never to give up.

Medically laughter has proven to be the best medicine with many health benefits which include;

  • Laughter triggers the increase of dopamine hormone released by the brain to improve mood.

  • It fights against depression and anxiety as it takes away our feelings of worry, nervousness, hopelessness, and dejection.

  • Laughter reduces stress: Laughing causes contraction of the muscle thereby increasing the flow of blood and oxygen to the body and releasing the endorphins hormone which is secreted within the nervous system and serves as an analgesic to the body to relieve the body of stress.

  • It boosts Immunity and increases some white blood cells which help in fighting infection.

  • Myself and Mom laughing to my sister funny talk



    The incident that made me laugh so much that I had to hold my stomach or wipe my tears


    The incident happened 10 years ago with a neighbor's granddaughter of 12 years old called Khadijat, the girl just saw her first menstruation period 3-4 months before the incident. I just got back from where I worked as a health assistant moody because I had some arguments with one of my colleagues there.

    Getting home while changing my dress then Khadijat walked into our house crying and demanding to see me, seeing her weeping profusely got me so scared that I don't know what to do to calm her down. Then after a while she dropped the topic and was like Aunty Tope I think I am pregnant, can you please check if truly I am now I was in shock and was having more than 100 scenarios on my mind of how a 12 years old girl got pregnant, how wicked is the person that engaged her into sexual intercourse could be to get her pregnant.

    I don't even know I had been too silent for a while until she brought me out of my thought don't know how to respond or help her but the first thing I did after getting over my shock was to calm her down and demand that she explained how it happened and who the person is because she was a nice, responsible and not a wayward girl.

    She told me the boy's name and it happened to be someone I know, the boy was 13-14 years old and also living in our neighborhood, She continued with her explanation that it was not intentional and she did not want such a thing to happen.

    She explained that she always avoid having close contact with the opposite gender ever since her first menstrual period because her grandmother told her that once an opposite gender touches her she would get pregnant and her being pregnant at this age will ruin her life and what she wants to become in the future.

    So on that day she didn't watch her way and was about to fall when the boy caught her on time by hugging her close to him and with what grandma told her any touch from a boy will get her pregnant, so that is why she believed she was pregnant, now grandma will kill her for that.

    After listening to how she calmly explained why thought she was pregnant I couldn't help but burst into laughter and for some minutes I couldn't stop myself even when tears were coming out of my eyes, maybe because of how poor the grand sex education was, or how pathetic the girl looks for crying so much because of something that was not real or myself feeling angry for the person that might have impregnated her and thinking of how to tell to my mom so that she can inform her grandparent.

    My sister had to rush in hearing my laughter and when she also listened to the story, she also joined me in laughing. After laughing for so long feeling some pain in my stomach, I finally stopped laughing, cleaned my tears, and interpreted what her grandmother meant by not allowing boys touch to touch her, the girl looked at me somehow thinking I was making jest of her predicament.

    After listening to what I was saying and understanding her grandmother's expression, she also laughed at herself when she realized she made a fool out of herself and later went to apologize to the boy for shouting at him because he only helped her, she made me forgot the person that ruined my mood as I have laughed to my fill that I forgot my disagreement with my colleague, I got so lively again and the day went on smoothly.

    We teased her about the incident for more than a month, it is one of the days that I can't forget and anytime I remember I still laugh while picturing how pathetic she was then.


    Conclusion

    Laughter has been the best medicine that cures illness, worry, depression, and anxiety, it promotes good life and improves mental health, laughter is contagious that it can brighten the world of another person next to you. It has proven to be of great help to our body, mind, and health, it clears worry, depression, and nervousness that could make us grow older than our age and it gives us a clear mind which helps us to think straight.

    Furthermore, I love reading, watching, and listening to funny stories as it makes me laugh heartily and make me forget my worries, sometimes I laugh at my clumsiness and some funny things I did. My dear friends let's keep laughing and ease the people around us of their sadness, worry, and pain with our funny pranks and stories that would make them laugh. This is where I will be stopping, thank you all for reading.

    I invite @ruthjoe, @msquaretk, and @badmusofficial to participate in this contest.

    Sort:  
     2 years ago 
    Verification Date
    Oktober 12, 2022
    O'clock09.46 AM (South African Time)
    Get Upvote13
    Valid Comments from Other Users3
    DescriptionInformationScore
    Plagiarism Free1
    #steemexlusive1
    Bot Free1
    Verified User1
    Markdown Style1.5
    Quality Content3.75
    Total Score9.25 /10
    Club Status Verification PeriodJuly 12 to October 12, 2022
    Transfer to Vesting90.946 STEEM
    Cash Out
    82.900 STEEM
    Resultclub5050
    Voting CSI 10.8 ( 0.00 % self, 63 upvotes, 55 accounts, last 7d)

    Determination of Club Status refers to the https://steemworld.org/transfer-search Web-based Application

    Note
    Thank you for supporting #burnsteem25 (25%)!
    Awh! How precious! Bless her soul! You’ve put a big smile on my face this morning :-)
    Thank you for participating.
     2 years ago 

    Thanks for your review of my post ma, I'm happy to know that I was able to put a smile on your face through my article.

     2 years ago 

    Wishing you a beautiful day! 🎕

     2 years ago 

    Laughter is a very important aspect of our health to help us maintain stability and equilibrium. From your story, you won't really blame the girl because she was acting by what they told her. It's really a funny experience to you listening to her but it's a very serious matter to her. It's good that you laughed out loud

     2 years ago 

    You know it is a very funny incident that I cannot help but laugh about it because I was worried for nothing and the girl too was weeping profusely over false information. Thank you for reading friend.

     2 years ago 

    You are welcome dear. Feel free to visit my blog as well.

     2 years ago 

    You've written so well on this topic. Benefits of laughter can not be over emphasized. I can imagine how that little girl must have felt and I guess I would have reacted the same way you did by laughing my lungs out before thinking of the solution to her problem.😂

    Success to you!

     2 years ago 

    You are right, laughter has so benefits to our mood, body, and health, I was glad I was able to laugh my bad mood out with the girl's poor assumption. Thank you for engaging in my post.

     2 years ago 

    Khadijat must be a very funny lady. Despite the fact that this is her first experience with menstruation, she will be terrified and believe she is pregnant. But the other way round, it was very funny to me. I admire your writing style and I must say that you have presented a very nice write-up. Best of luck to you.

     2 years ago 

    She was indeed funny and ignorant of the situation because of the lies she was fed with. Everyone that heard about the incident burst into laughter because it was a funny one. Thanks for the wishes and compliment friend.

     2 years ago 

    Thank you for the invite dear friend..

    Laughter is the best medicine oo, it cures or heals even faster than some drugs, that's why I don't joke with laughing..you can not catch me sad.

    Oh my God! That little girl is so funny. I can't stop laughing at what she said about been pregnant. I think I was told the same thing while growing up too

     2 years ago 

    It is good that you don't joke with laughter, it is good for our minds and sanity, especially in this country.

    Oh, you were told the same thing 😆😆😆, I still laugh anytime I remember how she looked while explaining how she believe she was pregnant. Thanks for engaging in my post.

    Nice article keep it up

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.19
    TRX 0.15
    JST 0.029
    BTC 63178.17
    ETH 2581.50
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.71