#03: Cultural Exploration | African biggest street party; “Calabar Carnival festivals”

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE8 months ago (edited)

I remember back in the days, when we were all in Port-Harcourt before my mum was transferred to calabar. We have always been hearing of calabar carnival which was also nicknamed “African biggest street party”. You see people posting all over social media about calabar carnival, people come back from December holidays, talking about it and the fun that comes with it. The hype of the event was so much that people made it look like, if I haven’t attended the carnival, I’ve missed one big part of my life!! You know the funny thing about everything, even were I lived in Port-Harcourt, Nigeria, The governor of the state usually host our carnival but whenever I watch calabar carnival on TV, it was looking as if our own carnival was childs Play.


Some years later, my mum was transferred to Calabar. Then, I was still in the university. Imagine the excitement that came with the good news for me. As much as I wanted to move with the whole family to calabar, I couldn’t move because I was already in my 200 level in the university, so moving down there will be like dropping out from the University of Port Harcourt and beginning again. I’d to wait till my holidays before I could pay a visit to calabar to see my family.


Exams has started and the long awaited December holidays was fast approaching. The jingles of the calabar carnival had started flooding all over social media, radio stations, Tv stations and even in billboard, all this in Port Harcourt and I believe all other states in Nigeria and Africa, also hear about it. Sometimes, whenever I think of the crazy preparations their government put into the publicity of the Calabar carnival, is mind boggling and that alone made my heart raced with anticipation, and my mind whirled with ideas for my costume on that day.

Exams was over, I did some few rush hour errands in school before preparing to come to calabar for December. They had to increase transport fare because of the influx of tourists coming down there. Finally arrived the city of calabar. The city was sparkling clean. If I’m not mistaking, I’ll call them the cleanest city in Nigeria as at back then. I don’t know for now again. The decorations all over the streets and roundabouts, the Christmas trees and lights everywhere was amazing. You will see sales of shirts, different costumes for the preparations of calabar carnivals. In order to keep tourists entertained every day, they were lots of tourists attraction like marina resorts, obudu cattle ranches, Yakur yam festival, bikers parade, Tinapa, Calabar carnival king and queen competition that was held before the main carnival and lots of big Nigeria guest artistes that came to perform every night in the Calabar stadium. Before the day of the main events, there is what they call ”dry run”. These are crowd of people running over the streets of calabar, ushering the upcoming events, you also see different carnival bands/groups, practicing their various dancing steps.


Finally, the main event of the year has come, the African biggest street party, Calabar carnival festival. That day, I was the first person to wake up. I am not even sure I slept that night. Streets were closed down for the carnival. If visitors are coming to calabar on carnival day, they should prepare their mind that they have a long walk ahead of them because vehicles will be restricted. The streets was already noisy with music speakers mounted on top of trucks, thousands of costumed performers, musicians and dancers from various calabar cultural groups that are segmented into bands. This different bands that are made up of:

Freedom band

Their color is made yellow! They believe they are the sun because they brighten up the place with their different shades of yellow costumes.

Sea gull bands

The band that always have all the celebrities. I remember the whole Calabar loosing focus, the day “aki and pawpaw” came. They were at there prime. Everyone wanted to get a glimpse of those guys. I walked round the whole of calabar till I got sores on my feet because of my shoes, all because I wanted to see them for the first time. They are known for the red color.

Master Blaster bands

They are the biggest band and the former governor of calabar, Liye Imoke was in that band. They are known for their orange colors and have carried first several times.

Passion 4 bands

You see this set of band, not everyone is allowed to enter the band. They go as far as doing audition before you enter the band because they always want to maintain their reputation as the highest performing band. They have carried first position more than any other band. Their colors are green.

Bayside bands

They are known for their blue color. I think they have carried first just once and the originator of the Calabar Carnival and former governor Donald Duke is in that band. He always rides on his big power bike.

Extra two bands was created last year by senator Ben Ayade to join the previous bands.
Apart from this band’s mentioned above, you have the foreigners from different countries like Brazil, Colombia, Canada, Guinea, India, Puerto Rico etc.


The streets was flooded with different colors, foods, people climbing on top of high billboards and trees just to get a clearer coverage of the events. That was even my first time seeing drone cameras. A lot TV stations in Nigeria and outside the country came to cover the events. I’ve never seen so much colors, costumes and molded images before. You need to see my pride that day, I was feeling like “King Kong”. I have finally participated in the carnival. The vibrant colors and the joyful energy of the crowd was truly magical. You see people of all ages, races, and religions celebrating together. I use to think that the only thing that unites Nigerians despite our differences is “football”, but after watching this festival, I will say the Calabar Carnival is more than just a party. It’s a unifier and a celebration of humanity. The festival was lit and the hype was worth it.
I prayed it never end because I participated from morning till night. I followed them to every judgment point, danced like my life depended on it but if they ask me to dance in church for God, I’ll be forming boss😭😭😭 I also made some friends that we still relate till now.


But there is this saying that “everything that has a beginning, has an end”, I had to find my way back to my house after I exhausted my money. There were so many things to buy. T-shirts, masks, paintings, games. My family and I booked a tent for only us were we could sit down and watch as the participants pass but people kept covering our view and won’t let us see, that was how my missionary journey to Damascus started 😜😜. You won’t believe I got lost along the way. Since there was no vehicle moving, i started asking questions till I got to my house. ThankGod, I knew my address. I couldn’t reach my family because of the terrible network that day.


CONCLUSION

  • Well, I felt very fulfilled that day. I learnt a lot of things about African and their slave trade stories. Each band have a specific theme they have to translate with their costumes, stories, music and dance.

  • I saw the diversity of cultures not only among Nigerians but among foreigners that participated as well. You can see the happiness on everyone’s face as they come together to celebrate their differences and carried their culture with pride.

  • I saw the celebration of humanity that reminds us that we are all connected. Regardless of our tribe, skin color, race and age, we are one family, whenever we keep our differences aside and that we can achieve anything when we work together.


I won’t like this great contest to expire without telling my friends to participate because I’m so sure they have a lot to contribute: @weisser-rabe, @akmalshakir and @adeaze


source: all images are my personal photos

Sort:  
 8 months ago 

Thank you for your invitation. In fact, this is not a topic where I could contribute anything good - in any case, it would be researched knowledge and not my own experience: I am sociophobic and avoid people. I wouldn't go to such a festivity, no matter what the cultural or even political occasion, because I couldn't stand all the people around me.... So when it comes to party topics, I'd better keep a low profile ;-))

 8 months ago 

Are you serious!! You even seem more social than me because I see how you engage with people in this space in a cool and nice manner!! I was expecting you will have a lots of friends in real life..😊

 8 months ago 

Oh, I'm serious. And communicative. And have a sense of mission ;-)) As long as my counterpart is far enough away, virtually so to speak.

In real life I have two very good friends, one of whom is my partner. I can't stand more than that (in one room or in the near vicinity)...

That's not a bad thing. It would be different if I missed it. But hustle and bustle has no appeal for me. Noise, colours, smells, voices, lights.... Everything is off-putting.

 8 months ago 

Wow!!! It looks like a grand event!! As u have said it's a great initiative to attract the tourists. Thanks for sharing this detailed review of the event... Good Luck with the contest!

TEAM 2

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through Curation Team#2. We support quality posts, good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @dove11


C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iNyiTowiTKdvf2SyyCK9yXHM9p7LM6hWxmhx76pXR5V6ypRKbUugfwpLBaXHmCo7jsEuDAF8QjG.png


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65809.08
ETH 3604.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54