7 Years on Steemit!

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE9 months ago



7 Years on Steemit, designed with Canva

Yip! Seven years ago, on September 26, 2016, one minute before 10:00, I created my Steemit account.
Little did I know what was in store for me and the road I would be traveling for years to come.

Today I am not going to tell you about my Steemit journey but about my celebrations. If you want to read about my journey, you can read My first experience of receiving an ample vote on steemit
I want to tell you about my discovery and how I’ve celebrated the past seven years.

Firstly, what I discovered

I am forever thinking about the fact that I gave up on Steemit after only being active for a couple of months. My Steemit friends from years ago all left Steemit for greener pastures. If I were still active on Steemit, I most likely would have followed them, and in the process, I would also have lost everything.

Thank heavens I didn't, as with my return, I've discovered that all things happen for a reason and that I can now write my own story and follow my own path.

Now for the celebrations

My day started as usual in the early hours of the morning. After a bit of work on Steemit it was time for coffee and tea for two. Coffee for my husband and tea for me.



Last week, I bought my stepson a flight ticket to go visit his mom for a week, as it is the spring school holiday. As for my husband, he has been working mainly from home so that he can help with the supervision of the builders. This made my morning routine of making breakfast and packing lunch boxes so much easier.

Hubby decided to go into the office for a while. He just left when the builders called me to tell me that they'd run out of cement. Grrr! I had my whole morning planned, and now I had to go into town. I bought the cement and rushed back home. By this time, my husband was also back from the office.

Time to fill those cups again.

I don’t know what I did, but somehow I hid my finger on the kitchen counter.

Last week, I hid it against the bathroom cupboard, and I’ve been battling with it ever since. I just burst out in tears, as I had long last felt this kind of pain.
Little do I need to tell you that I broke my finger, and I now have to wear a cot finger splint for six weeks.

Working on Steemit, writing two posts, choosing winners, doing verifications, and commenting on replies and invitations with a hurting finger were daunting tasks. Not much of a celebration, I thought.

As with all bad things, my bad luck came to an end.

Hubby decided that we were going to have a “braai,” South Africa’s version of a barbeque (BBQ). Living in South Africa, you will always find a good excuse to light a fire.

On the menu, were 21-day-aged beef steak, BBQ spareribs, and “roosterkoek” which is a must with a braai. They are bread dough balls that have been fried on a grid over coals and then eaten with butter and syrup. We had them with herbs and garlic butter. With that, I served a beetroot salad.

For me, it was the best way to celebrate 7 years! Well, so I thought until my husband disappeared and came out of the kitchen with a Black Forest chocolate cake.
Okay, a Black Forest chocolate cake with a number 7 sparkle on top! I felt so blessed and spoiled.



All that remains is for me to say thank you!

Thank you to the Steemit team, my Steemit friends, and each one of you for your support, ongoing engagements, and words of encouragement! May we still celebrate many more years together on this amazing platform.

And now, I am ready for the next 7 years!



Sort:  
 9 months ago 

Why am I just seeing this..
Oh I have been so busy lately but that would be over soon.

So sorry about your finger! But am so happy about your anniversary, you had a good time with hubby celebrating it.

Happy 7 years anniversary!

 9 months ago (edited)

Thank you my friend!
Yip, I can see that the engagement challenge is keeping you guys busy. There are a lot of entries.
I wish you all the best for the remainder.

As for your good wishes, thank you!! 🎕

PS: Just a couple of weeks then my finger will be perfect again.

 9 months ago 

Thank you for your understanding! You are the best!

 9 months ago 

I love the way that you are celebrating Steemit joining date as anniversary. It seems how Steemit is important and becoming part of life. I love black forest cake because it is vanila and chocolate mix flavour which is not high bitter in taste.

I wish could join this platform earlier. But I did not know about it. How much time I wasted to search work online and Steemit is existing but I did not know. This loss will never recover.

I have joined 22 October,2022 so my first anniversary is coming.

 9 months ago 

Oh wow! Almost 1 year for you on Steemit. Well done!
I have seen the growth in your posts. You are doing well.

As for the visit, thank you!! It is appreciate.

Lastly, whatever you do, don't give up! As you never know what might happen tomorrow.
Keep on posting, voting, commenting, and powering up!

 9 months ago 

Everytime you say something in last which makes me energetic. Yes I will not give up. I will work hard let see when God will listen me and justice with my hard work.

 9 months ago 

It's been such a rough journey, a bitter sweet for that matter but I am so encouraged by your resilience and the will to push forward even when your friends left.
You have been a low key motivation to me and my girlfriend @emily08, ever since we joined this platform.

Happy 7th year on Steemit, more years to celebrate in this platform.

Lastly, so sorry for your finger.

 9 months ago 

It is for me to say thank you for the support. It is nice to know that Steemians are encouraged by your work. It makes us want to do so much more.
As for the finger, thank you; it is coming on. Just so frustrating when typing. A post took me nearly 5 hours yesterday. BUT, I won't complain. It could have been four fingers. (•ิ‿•ิ)

@emily08 and you! Well done! I was not aware of it.
It is awesome that you two can share and work together on Steemit.

I congratulate you on your anniversary!

One of the great things about Steemit is that I can say hello to someone who is on the other side of the Earth :)

It's great that you stayed with us and became one of the "pillars" on which our community rests. I wish you to stay active on this great platform.

Now you and I will also work in the same curatorial team :)

 9 months ago 

Hello friend! Or should I say, hello teammate! (•ิ‿•ิ)
Thank you for the visit and the kind words. If only... but yah, let bygoners be bygoners. I am now active and enjoy it.

Oh yah, it is also nice to say hello to someone on the other side of Mother Earth, but what is even better is when you get to work with them. I am looking forward to October.
Let's rock this platform.

Thank you for supporting @wox-helpfund

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

"Become successful with @wox-helpfund!"
If you want to know more click on the link
https://steemit.com/@wox-helpfund ❤️

 9 months ago 

Thank you!

 9 months ago 

Congratulations ma'am. You are and still remain a role model that existing steemians and newbies will look up to. Thanks for teaching me the power of perseverance.

 9 months ago 

And a big thank you to me for not only the congratulations but for the visit and the kind words. ☕

 9 months ago 

Congratulations 🎉 on your 7 years journey on steemit, your day was filled with love as you celebrate your journey. Sorry about your finger I understand how painful that can be, wishing more success as your begin another journey on this platform.

 9 months ago 

Awh thank you!! Your visit, congratulations, and kind words means a lot to me. 🎕
The fingers is getting better. Just like our swims, slowly but surely. (•ิ‿•ิ)

 9 months ago 

Oh that's great 😊

 9 months ago 

7 years is a really long time. As newbies you have more experience with Steemit than we do. I wish you all the best in your future endeavours.

 9 months ago 

It is indeed a long time. I just wish I was active on Steemit for all these years.
Thank you! I appreciate your visit and kind words. 🎕

I congratulate you!
You've been here practically since the very foundation!

 9 months ago 

Awh thank you!
Just a pity that I was not active all the time. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Congratulations and many note success in future

 9 months ago 

Thank you! I appreciate your support 🎕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56583.42
ETH 2984.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15