Indigenous Languages and Oral Traditions’ Preservation.

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE22 days ago

welcome-905562_640.pngsource

Introduction

Hi steemians, it's a privilege to participate in this contest organised by our delectable lady boss, @goodybest.

As we all know, language is one of the means by which people communicate with each other. Language can be in the form of spoken or written words. While oral tradition is the passing down of stories or history (which could be of cultural heritage) by word of mouth from one generation to another.

What is your indigenous language, is it your country's official language and can your kids speak the language?

My indigenous language is Oro. Oro is a subgroup amongst the Ibibio/Efik tribes of Akwa Ibom and Cross River States of Nigeria respectively. They can be found in the Niger Delta region of Nigeria.

Oro is not a popular dialect spoken in my country, or is Ibiobio/Efik amongst the three most popular languages spoken in my country. But it is the 4th largest tribe and dialect spoken in my country, Nigeria.

children-5537106_640.jpgsource

Asking if my children speak the language. Yes, a little of it from my first child, while they can both understand every word spoken to them in Oro or Efik respectively. I believe by the time they both clock ages of 5 years and above, they'll be able to speak better. I'm saying that with confidence because I'm one of the advocates of "going back to the roots," teaching and speaking our local languages with our children.

What are some of your country's traditions and how do you preserve them orally?

My country's tradition and culture range from:

  1. Greetings

  2. Respect for elders: Every society values respect. Therefore, parents and family members encourage the younger ones to preserve it by practising it.

  3. Festivals e.g yam festivals: Many societies celebrate different types of festivals. Celebrating and the display of the tradition of such a society in the festival is a way of showcasing and preserving society's tradition.

  4. Display of masquerades e.g ekpo masquerades

generated-7694240_640.jpgsource

  1. Farming has been the bedrock of African societies. Hence, Nigeria.

  2. Kingship. Every community/society has kings ruling over them.

  3. Worship of deities and sacrifice to the gods. Despite the dominance of Christianity and other civilised worship systems, people still engage in cultural worship of the African Traditional Religion (ATR).

Preserving of African Tradition/history was and is still imbedded in oral tradition, legends, eyewitness accounts, artefacts, myth and folklore. Recently, it has been translated into written materials such as textbooks, journals, magazines etc, then pictures, videos/tapes etc. Then, very recently, social media.

Conclusion

Every language in the world has its own cultural ingenuity and uniqueness. Though they're different, they communicate the feelings and thoughts of people.

I'm inviting: @atimisaac, @ogechukwu-martha and @aspiya

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.



Oh yes! We support ANY quality post and
good comment ANYWHERE and at ANYTIME
Curated by : @𝗁𝖾𝗋𝗂𝖺𝖽𝗂

 22 days ago 

This is truly appreciated, thank you for the visit to my blog @heriadi.

Loading...
 21 days ago 

We African is full of culture and traditions. We have different kinds of cultures and traditions which you can found in any foreign countries.

And I'm proud to be an African. My culture my heritage. Thanks for the invitation.

 21 days ago 

Thank you for reading dear, I appreciate your valuable comment.

 20 days ago 

You are welcome

 17 days ago 

Hi dear thanks for taking part in this contest and sharing your native language Oro with us. Though I'm an Ibibio I can't speak or understand your language, but I so much love it when I hear your people talking. You really try to teach your younger ones the language, my boy of 6 understands most of Ibibio and can speak few, they are learning unconsciously. Success!

 17 days ago 

Yes, the children learn daily. My two years daughter understands a few because that's what you use in communication at home with the general English.

Thank you for the valuable comment it's well appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45