You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why is giving up on a goal bad?

in Steem Schools4 hours ago

I read and reflected on your post. My motivation may be different, but the topic is relevant to me at this time.
Within the past year, both my wife and my mother have died. It has been the biggest life disruption I’ve ever faced, but I’m looking forward to the new future and unlikely opportunities I now have.
Because of the expenses resulting from my two closest relatives (Medicaid, nursing homes, hospital bills, etc) my finances are almost completely expended.
The silver lining is that now I am free! There are bucket-list items I can now pursue, and I feel like an 18-year old leaving home and starting my own new life course.
I am now 67, but still in good health. I’m selling my house and heading out on a road trip to the west coast. I plan to volunteer for the National Park Service and live in the on-site housing they provide. Money is no longer important to me, as long as I have the minimal amount necessary to sustain my minimal lifestyle. I’ve thrown away or sold all my belongings and mementos from the past, and the demarcation between the “past” and “future” is very clear to me now. I’m finding it easier to dismiss those past occurrences that no longer matter while focusing on the future.
I am a retired biomedical and environmental researcher. I hope to mentor students and teach to contribute to the advancement of science.

Sort:  

Keep going

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60526.03
ETH 2378.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54