You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Programming Diary #12: Bridging between "Steem Island" and the rest of the Internet

in Steem Dev7 months ago

An interesting thing, here, is that - unlike the blockchain promotion function - it is also possible to promote a post that has passed its payout time (remember, the goal here is "audience building", not "reward harvesting"):

I spent a large portion of my time implementing promoted posts excluding posts that had passed their payout time. I'm wondering if I was correct to do so!

I noticed all of your messages to @null whilst I was coding - now I understand what they were all for!

Basically, either SBD or STEEM can fuel a post/link promotion type of display or a vanity message type of display.

That's how I've implemented my post promotion - I convert SBD to STEEM in order to prioritise which is "most valuable" 🙂

For posts with an @null beneficiary setting, a 50% beneficiary setting is twice as likely to be displayed as one with a 25% setting, and that's 25x more likely to be displayed than a post with a 1% setting.
For STEEM transfers to @null, a transfer with 1 STEEM is one thousand times more likely to be displayed than a post with a 0.001 STEEM transfer.
For SBD transfers to @null, a transfer with 1 SBD is one thousand times more likely to be displayed than a post with a 0.001 SBD transfer.

I like this idea 🙂

By providing a link-out capability in exchange for token burning, we can give people a reason to buy and use Steem's tokens, even if they have no interest in blogging or curating.

I think that I've inadvertently added this capability 🙂 Via a post which expires of course so any lasting promotion would require a lasting commitment.

After I get done with the Steemometer, I think my next project will be a fairly simple 2 person game that will utilize Steem's content for the subject matter and use custom_json transactions for communications between the players.

It's very doable and how I approached my choose-your-own-adventure project. I even went to the effort of encrypting the messages stored in the metadata so that people couldn't cheat 🙂 It's a fun project but my codebase was so horrendous that I stopped working on it fairly quickly. Perhaps I'll revisit the idea - motivated by what you're doing 🙂

Sort:  

I spent a large portion of my time implementing promoted posts excluding posts that had passed their payout time. I'm wondering if I was correct to do so!

Yeah, it's arguable. Some people might be annoyed at clicking on a link to a post with an expired payout, so if we include the expired ones, it's probably also good to also indicate whether they've already paid out or not. Fortunately, we can just experiment and optimize over time. I'm actually planning to eventually calculate a "suggested voting percentage" based on factors about the author and the post, so I'll stuff that value with zeros on a paid out post.

I noticed all of your messages to @null whilst I was coding - now I understand what they were all for!

Lol. I can only imagine what you were thinking. 😄

I convert SBD to STEEM in order to prioritise which is "most valuable" 🙂

I do this conversion for the coloring, but I divide STEEM and SBD into two separate time partitions. I have been debating whether I should keep doing that or just collapse it into a single list and a single time slice.

It's very doable and how I approached my choose-your-own-adventure project. I even went to the effort of encrypting the messages stored in the metadata so that people couldn't cheat 🙂 It's a fun project but my codebase was so horrendous that I stopped working on it fairly quickly. Perhaps I'll revisit the idea - motivated by what you're doing 🙂

which brings me back to the keys/security problem that you mentioned in your reply to @moecki @o1eh (sorry - no idea how I managed that mixup!) from your own post. 😉 At the rate I'm going, this is months or years away, anyway.

 7 months ago 

sorry - no idea how I managed that mixup!

I was already wondering :-)
However, I had already talked about it some time ago, so it could have been that only the link went wrong.

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This comment has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @o1eh



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64467.84
ETH 3492.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54