You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing "Steem Follower Checker": A new Open Source browser plugin

in Steem Dev27 days ago

Now I'm thinking of maybe showing both values one post/author at a time via mouseover and/or after clicking into a post.

Mouseover would be conceivable, but I'm not sure if the data could be loaded (and processed) that quickly.
I can well imagine the information for the post display. The word count and the number of followers could be extracted from the data already available in the Redux Store. We wouldn't need an additional query for this. However, I don't know whether the extension can access the Redux Store. I could imagine that this is not so easily possible.

A lot of the API servers aren't running the follower plugin

The plugin is not necessary for this. This data is also stored in the hivemind database. A (not so simple) SQL query is sufficient for this (The copilot helped with the median function):

SELECT PERCENTILE_CONT(0.5) WITHIN GROUP (ORDER BY accounts.reputation) AS median_reputation
FROM hive_follows AS follows
JOIN hive_accounts AS accounts ON follows.follower = accounts.id
WHERE follows.following = :aid AND follows.state IN (1,3);

The calculated values were exactly the same as those I had determined with my last test code.

Sort:  
 25 days ago 

The word count and the number of followers could be extracted from the data already available in the Redux Store. We wouldn't need an additional query for this. However, I don't know whether the extension can access the Redux Store. I could imagine that this is not so easily possible.

There's a Google Chrome Redux Plugin which can be used for debugging - so presumably, it's possible for a different Plugin to access the Redux state within a website.

 25 days ago 

Do you mean the Redux DevTools? As far as I know, the DevTools should be deactivated in the production environment.

Or is there another plugin?

 25 days ago 

Ah, yes. I do mean the Redux dev tools. I’ve only used them in test so it sounds like you can dismiss that idea.

The plugin is not necessary for this. This data is also stored in the hivemind database. A (not so simple) SQL query is sufficient for this (The copilot helped with the median function):

So, the way that works is that the SQL query gets added to the bridge API in hivemind, and then the browser extension would make a bridge API call to a steem node? Would a soft fork be needed? This is still sort of a black box to me.

(and from above)

a few adaptations will certainly still be necessary

I think I have a potentially interesting and impactful idea for the June 30 update. I'll try to post about it this weekend so I can get community feedback before implementing.

 25 days ago 

added to the bridge API in hivemind, and then the browser extension would make a bridge API call to a steem node?

Right. Like the new get_bookmarked_posts here

Would a soft fork be needed?

No, only an update of hivemind nodes. We don't even have to wait for Steemit to integrate this into their nodes, as we can also use the extension to query our own nodes (e.g. the one on which my database version 21 with the bookmarks is already running).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66466.45
ETH 3595.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90