Special contest for steem Africa #2. Promote your favourite traditional desserts by @madilyn02.

in SteemFoods3 years ago (edited)

IMG_20210614_235540.jpg

Hello dear steemfood lovers, greetings to you all. I am so glad to be part of this great community and to participate in the contest. My appreciation goes to @steemfoods for organising this contest and to our country representative @ngoenyi for sponsoring it.

There are so many traditional deserts in Africa in which we enjoy so much. For today's contest I am going to be focusing on the one we call 'Bole'.

All about the 'Bole' or 'Boli'

Boil is a popular desert in my country Nigeria. It is especially native to the 'Yoruba' people of Nigeria. The boli is a roasted plantain which can be eaten with fried groundnut or roasted fish.
It is mostly served when having a ceremony or other occasions.
Nigerians enjoy this desert for:

  • it's taste. The 'bole' is known for its delicious taste. Some people in cannot stay for a day without eating this desert because of the taste. It's not too sugary or mushy,just the right way to enjoy it.

  • It's Heath benefits. Roasting reduces fat in a food therefore, it is good for weight conscious people.

Roasting conserves some nutrients in the plantain which are vital to the body for functioning. It also maintains the flavour.

Plantain contains essential minerals which can help keep the body healthy and keep the bone strong. Plantain is also a good source of starch and energy.

Combining the plantain with fish and pepper sauce means more vitamins, high proteins, minerals.

I also personally enjoy this dessert because of its delicious taste. It's really a delicacy to behold. Apart from its taste I also enjoy it because of its health benefits. I especially love eating it with others, that way it brings me more joy

I am going to provide a recipe for a homemade 'boli' with fish. Let's begin.

The ingredients

Ingredientsamount
Plantain5 pieces
Fishmedium sized
Onions2 medium sized
Pepper15 pieces
Saltto taste
Utazi leafto taste
Red oil3 cooking spoons

IMG_20210614_161717.jpg

Preparation

  • Wash the fish (cut open and remove the non edible parts.

IMG_20210613_161513.jpg

IMG_20210613_161452.jpg

Apply salt, pounded pepper and onions on the fish as seen in the picture below

IMG_20210613_163835.jpg

IMG_20210613_163706.jpg

  • peel the plantain and apply salt on it.

IMG_20210613_162909.jpg

Wrap the fish and plantain in foil as seen below

IMG_20210613_163149.jpg

IMG_20210614_161920.jpg

Put them in the pan and allow to roast. Make sure it's well covered. It will take a period 30 minutes. You also need to be checking it constantly and turn the other sides of the plantain and fish to be sure they are affected by the heat.

The picture below shows how it will look when it is done

IMG_20210614_202523_783.jpg

You just need to unwrap it.

making of the sauce

  • Pound pepper, onions and put in a plate.
  • cut the utazi leaf and also pound and add to the the previous mixture.

IMG_20210614_202521_410.jpg

Add salt to taste and then add the oil and stir.

IMG_20210614_202516_760.jpg
Heat on fire for 30 seconds.
This is how it will look when it is done:

IMG_20210614_204321.jpg

The food is ready!

IMG_20210614_204606.jpg

People usually enjoy this with some cool soft drinks.

The 'Boli' are also Sold in local restaurants.
It cost 3.5 steem to get it in a local restaurant (a piece of plantain and a slice of fish). It also depends on how much you want to eat.

For the homemade bole it costs 2steem for the medium sized fish

IMG_20210613_152246.jpg

2.5steem for 5pieces of plantain.

IMG_20210614_233825.jpg

Conclusion

I am so much delighted to share this little recipe with my friends. Thank you all for lending me your time, I hope you enjoy the dessert some day with your family. Thanks to @steemfoods for a contest like this. This will really help us to get to know each others favourites and as a result make friends. THANK YOU

my introduction post here

Sort:  

@madilyn02 That is so inviting. I bet if the network was better I would get both flavour and aroma over here...

 3 years ago 

🤣🤣🤣

Wow, that's very good and enticing

 3 years ago 

Wow this looks so delicious and simple to prepare. Thanks for sharing at least have learned how to prepare it. I might try it out this weekend

 3 years ago 

Waiting to see your result. I really hope you can do it.

 3 years ago 

Is it that hard?

 3 years ago 

No. That's not what I mean. What I mean is if you will have the chance to do it considering the fact that you are a man. Most of our African men prefer eating from a restaurant or the food prepared by their wives if they are married or even their sister. That's why I an concerned

 3 years ago 

Maybe you can prove to me you aren't that way by preparing the dessert yourself and then share with us. How about that?

 3 years ago 

I dont eat outside. I eat what i prepared myself or my mum and sisters. But let me shock u i can cook more than them. Have not seen any lady that can cook more than me

 3 years ago 

Action speaks louder than words. I want to see proofs

 3 years ago 

I will shock u dont worry

 3 years ago 

I'm waiting

Please post the result of your attempt and link @manuelhooks so I can see it.

Wow see one of my favorite, Weldon dear

 3 years ago 

Thank you. You can come over and have some

 3 years ago 

See delicious meal, i really like this your recipe. I will give it a try thank you so much for sharing

 3 years ago 

I am glad you like it. I am expecting a beautiful result from you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58733.26
ETH 2663.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44