What do you serve today?

in GEMS4 years ago

It's hard to say if I ever had a favorite meal in my life.
I am not crazy about pasta, pizza, fast food, potatoes, ice cream, and all those kinds of food so many people claim they could kill for.

For sure food has changed during the past 10 years and even more during the past 50 - 100 years.
That explains the reason why my granny's soup and the cake tasted completely different from what I prepare. Even the basic ingredients have changed. Everything needs to be prepared as cheaply as possible. All kinds of chemicals are added to no matter what we buy and for sure it does harm us. Transfat and palm fat to start with.
There's a very good reason why so many suffer from allergies, eczema, have cancer, high blood pressure, diabetics, ADHD, and depressions.
We did this all to ourselves by taking the easy and cheap way out. Not only drugs make us ill but so does the food we eat.

In the Netherlands we have a certain green cabbage.
According to my parents, I was found in it. This expression means you like the food very much. It might be but I no longer do and rarely eat it. It's the same with so many kinds of food. It's known taste does change every 5-7 years so I shouldn't be surprised mine did but I am if it comes to the fact I have no favorite meal. I wouldn't know what to ask for on my birthday or if it was the last meal of my life.

The fact is what I buy or order never tastes as good as I have in mind. If you are used to cooking yourself fast food, all prepared fixed meals out of packages have a lot in common. They all taste the same.

Eat only what you really like.
That sounds like good advice and if you gain weight you at least did it with some food you liked. Not with cold french fries, a burned burger or meat on the bbq, candies that make you feel itchy, a dry cake from the confectionery, spoiled rice, or the next terrible pizza.
If life was only so easy you could pick out what to eat. Unfortunately, I cannot because I am a poor bastard and already spend too much money on food. Most of it is not good, disappointing, and not even worth eating it slowly to enjoy the taste. But what choice do you have if children need to eat and cheap, bad food is the only thing you can afford?

PhotoGrid_1587642528920.jpg

Our first meal of the day was porridge. Oatmeal flakes + water. I still like porridge although I no longer prepare it with milk like during my childhood was quiet normal. I still do not like those dry flakes in yohurt, milk etc.

You can share your "favorite meal" too if you join @steemitblog's writing challenge

#CCC = #hive-166850

This is an Invitation to join #ccc. The community CCC supports members by encouraging and upvoting each other and by hosting contests. Contests are hosted by @team-ccc and it's members. See @team-ccc for contests running.

If the photos are not mine they can be found on pixabay.com

Sort:  

🏆 Hi @wakeupkitty! You have received 0.1 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @davidke20 @tyrnannoght
Subscribe and increase the reward for @wakeupkitty :) | For investors.

Cereal is good for quick food, good for you dear. Get well soonest.

Congratulations @wakeupkitty.pal, you successfuly trended the post shared by @wakeupkitty!
@wakeupkitty will receive 0.00358425 TRDO & @wakeupkitty.pal will get 0.00238950 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Congratulations @wakeupkitty, your post successfully recieved 0.00358425 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@wakeupkitty.pal earned : 0.0023895 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Thank you for taking part in the Steem Diary Challenge.

Keep following @steemitblog for new challenges every week.

The Steemit Team

I will. Thank you very much. 💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57687.08
ETH 2333.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36