VIRAL LANDSCAPE IV MIRROR

in GEMS4 years ago

VIRAL LANDSCAPE IV MIRROR

it is a digital adaption from a WIP I am working on these past few days.

IMG_0012digital-mirror-color - web2200.jpg
acrylic on mylar - abstract decalcomania - digital enhancements, mirrored - color overlay
nominal size 65 x 43 cm - 2020

Decalcomania is a old technique, popularized by the Surrealists, such as Oscar Dominguez and Max Ernst. For health reasons I had switched early in my career to acrylics. I was fascinated by decalcomania, and had adapted the technique to acrylics already in the seventies. Expanding on the idea I had already then produced some on Mylar or Plastic which I transferred onto canvas or wood panel.
Experimenting with it again lately, I am working to produce a series for a gallery show this Fall. The WIP I am working on right now is actually a warm-up exercise for what is to come. Here are a couple of the raw pieces (I made two, the one on the right is the one I used for the above digital version):

IMG_0010web1600.jpg

IMG_0012 (2)web1600.jpg


Creating these on Mylar is in a way like painting behind glass. I then toned these from behind with several layers of transparent glazes.

IMG_0019web2000.jpg

IMG_0018-WEB2000.jpg

The difference between these and the digital mirrored version is that the digital was color overlaid in Photoshop, so the color was put on top, whereas the painted work on Mylar was glazed from behind.


You can experiment with this stuff at home, it is fun to do and creates some interesting effects. In these cases I used crumpled newspaper, crumpled plastic and a balloon. The acrylic paint was thinned with acrylic flow medium (only the second time I used it - before was just regular medium and water). It takes a bit of experimenting to find the right consistency.



Visit my website



ART OF THE MYSTIC OTTO RAPP-web350.jpg

PRINTS OF MY ARTWORK AVAILABLE HERE:
Pixels Shop Banner Ad.JPG



About - Introduction on Steemit

Sort:  

So far your work is outstanding

This post has been appreciated and featured in daily quality content rewards. Keep up the good work

Thank you so much for your support. I am honored!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.36
ETH 3076.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81