Memories of my School Days

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

This is a great challenge and more of this kind of contest will increase active participation of members of the community. I say once again kudos to the management.

I love this challenge because it reminds me of my days in school and I must say, I enjoyed every bit of it. It's quite unfortunate that I have lost virtually all the pictures of my days in school. Thank goodness for social media, atleast I could retrieve a memory of when we went to visit Prisoners in Enugu State. It was a memorable event I don't ever think I will forget.

Right back in school then, we came together as a group of students willing to make impact in the society by contributing the little we have. Even while schooling then, we just felt that some people would need help in one way or the other, especially those in the prison yard. So we made contributions, went to the market and purchased some basic necessities of life we feel might be very important to them.

60299789_2515573528461427_501472435791462400_o.jpg image by @mekkeyz

After purchasing them , we headed straight to the prison to show some Love. Due to the fact that taking of pictures was not allowed inside the premises, we resorted to only taking pictures outside the vicinity of the prison just to keep a memory. It was indeed a memorable day for all of us. After the visitation, we got to understand that we are really privileged to have freedom. I just began to imagine my life without freedom to do what I want, go wherever I want to go, see who ever I want to see and do on. How will I feel that I am caged one a cel all day and night... really really bad.

The joy that flowed in our hearts though was immense because atleast we had the opportunity to show love and help those in need of it. Our actions made them realise that even though they are in the prison, some person s us still care for them. We had to encourage them never to give up on their dream and always believe that one day, all things will be well.

This is one memorable day of my life as a student in school I will never forget. The second was also when we went out again to visit elderly people's home. Ohhh, a wonderful experience. The prayers and blessings we received from the aged people were immense. They were so full of life and loving. If I were to go back to school again, I will do it over and over again.

The memories of these good deeds makes me forget the bad times I had in school, the experience with bullies, the punishment by lecturers, the hunger and all of that. But despite all this, we came out strong and vibrant.

I do not for any day regret my actions by helping the needy while in school then, it was really worth it. Nothing makes me more happier than putting a smile on peoples faces and seeing that my fellow human being is happy.

My school days were indeed fun and i made the best out of it.

Thanks @steemitblog for the opportunity once more.

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in the 100 Days of Steem Weekly Content Challenge.

The Steemit Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63549.46
ETH 2562.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66