What was the worst Bitcoin price prediction for 2020?

in GEMS4 years ago

Now that the year is coming to a close, it's time to revisit the worst prediction for Bitcoin in 2020

Bitcoin is currently trading over $29k, but few predicted that would happen at the start of this year.

I did actually, but that is besides the point.

I long ago said bitcoin would make new highs by the end of 2020, though technically I didn't predict it would get to $29k, so technically I am not a Nostradamus.

Anyways, there were many price predictions this year, from some thinking bitcoin would end the year around $7k (I'm looking at you Gavin Smith), to others thinking it might end the year around $50k (I'm looking at you Antoni Trenchev).

There was even a pretty decent call by Fundstrat calling for $20k-$25k.

Like me I'd say they nailed their call pretty well!

But none of the predictions were more outlandish than this one:

image.png

(Source: https://cointelegraph.com/news/john-mcafee-doubles-down-predicts-1-mln-btc-bets-his-dk-on-it)

Bitcoin to a million dollars or he would eat his junk on TV.

He made this prediction several years ago and has since walked it back saying it was a ruse to get people to talk about bitcoin, but it really wasn't.

A bet's a bet.

I fully expect a video uploaded to Steemit showing Mr. McAfee eating his junk.

Sure he's in prison, but weirder things have happened in prison I am sure.

What's your price prediction for end of 2021?

I am going to say $115k.

Sort:  

This guy should have just given himself one more year and he might have been right.

Bitcoin will probably hit $1 million at some point, but he was just too aggressive.

The decent thing to do would have been to stick to his bet though.

115k bitcoin souds crazy to me but there were times last bullrun people would predict prices that sounded crazy and we hit them...

but yeah Im a say $100K as well

Exactly. I thought we would top around $10k last time and we went to $20k. Same line of thinking this time around gets us to $200k.

I would like to know why do you think bitcoin will hit 115k and when?

Based on both previous post halving bull market rallies, bitcoin will hit $100k by the end of 2021. In reality, if it follows those previous trends, it will actually get close to $200k by then. I am being conservative with my $100k forecast.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59986.17
ETH 2417.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45