You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Special Museums in Vienna (3) // Spezielle Museen in Wien (3)

in GEMS4 years ago

Dear Anna,🌷
For weeks I have been looking for your blog on Hive. And now I see my error. Here you were, all the time. I've begun to read them all.
(The Hive/Steem schism reminds me of my family a bit--I just try to keep my head above all of it).

The journey into the history of sound reproduction leaves me in awe of human ingenuity. Even today, with with lunar missions and Mars probes, the leap to recreating sound is amazing. As for "Nipper", the dog looking into the gramophone...when I was growing up that dog was an iconic figure. Was he also in Austria?

Your pictures of armor are absolutely gorgeous. I love the close-ups. As I read I tried to imagine how large a horse must have been to carry not only an armored soldier, but also to wear armor itself. It seems some large breeds of draft horses are descended from those stout mounts ridden by soldiers of old.

I'm sorry I have no Steem left with which to materially indicate my appreciation, but I am looking for comments on Hive that I can upvote. 😇

Wonderful to find your blogs. There is some very nice reading waiting for me.

With affection and regard,
AG

Sort:  

Dear AG,
Thanks for looking for me. 😀 I haven't been very active on Hive lately. The article about Viennese Art Nouveau is still waiting to be continued and I'm waiting for inspiration. 😉 In the meantime, I've set up a cozy place for myself here. There is now a second account (@art.vieanna), reserved for short artist portraits, available also on Hive.

The series about museums brings back to mind all the highlights I have seen there in the last years. Amazing, what treasures have collected there over the years. I knew the picture of "Nipper" and the gramophone, but I only found out what it was about during my research about the Phonomuseum.

That's a good question, how the horses could carry the heavy load. The knight's armour weighed up to 20 kg, in some cases even more. In addition, there was the armament, the shield and the horse armour. A heavy load indeed.

I hope you are doing well in these challenging times. As for Corona, the masks (with a few exceptions) have fallen here with us and people are behaving as if nothing had ever happened. the future will show if this will work out. In one week summer holidays will begin. Finally then I'll see my family again after months!

All the best for you and your family. With great affection,
Anna

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60844.65
ETH 2995.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88