SEC15 WK1: "Life on Social Media"

in Steem4Nigeria8 months ago

I'm very grateful to @steem4nigeria for organizing this amazing engagement challenge, I'm happy to be able to participate in this challenge, and I don't want to join alone, I would love to invite @uduak3287, @comfortpeter and @akareen to participate in this engagement challenge as well.

20240115_092248_0000.png
Edited using canvas

INTRODUCTION

The topic focus of this engagement challenge is Life on social media. Social media to my own understanding Is more like a big playground, where people interact, share pictures, thoughts and messages. It's a digital space for socializing with different people, and staying informed on current issues, and as well as expressing one's self. Examples of social media platforms are Steemit, Facebook, WhatsApp, Instagram etc.

Do I support that our daily lives should be put up on social media all the time?

IMG_20240115_095243.jpg
Pexel

No, I do believe that we should limit what we post on the media, as you don't know who is for you or against you. But likewise they are some posts that we can make on the media, that will bring about connections and favours for you, take for example, posting about your skills, work or what you sell. Someone might view your post, and be interested in what you do/sell and patronize you, or rather still recommend you for another person, and before you know it, you are getting contracts and many more.

Take steemit as another example, you can make a post about your day and get supports from curators and the community accounts as well. I'm not saying posting about your life on social media is bad, all I'm saying is that some things should be kept private, like if you are expecting a baby, keep it private till you give birth, if you are expecting to be employed at a big company, keep it private until you are given the job, then you can tell people about your experience and all.

Have I ever experienced or seen any case where a person has the habit of showcasing his life on social media and the effects turned out well?

pexels-andrea-piacquadio-3779409.jpg
Pexel

On several occasions, people has benefited from just posting on social media, showcasing what they do and getting connections. There are many stories of such lucky people, expecting on Twitter. There is this story of a lady who makes local cereal, nobody knew about her, until she opened up on her twitter page, that she makes them, and she needed a loan of 2 - 5m, to enlarge her business, at first someone told her to drop her account number for the money, she replied with her account number, and the person used it to mock her. People saw this and they were motivated to help her, to shame that person that mocked her at first. Here is the link to her page, you can go through her posts

As for me, well I've not really actually posted my self out there, I'm still a student and im stull trying to focus on my studies, but with steemit, I can even share my daily activities even school. And I can proudly say the event usually turn out good for me.

Do I think all the showcase on social media are true?.

pexels-tracy-le-blanc-607812.jpg
pexel

No. There's a saying, Believe what you see on social media at your own risk. Not everything that is posted on social media is true, some people are there to scam you on the media, they bring up different ponzi scheme that when you put in your hard earn money, it crashes and you lose your money. People lie on social media for either fame or money, or both. For a platform like Twitter, some people go about spreading rumors of someone been dead, when the person is still fully alive. So like I said earlier, believe what is being posted on social media at your own risk.

Do I feel safe on steemit with my information? What can I say about steemit.
Steemit is a social media platform just like Facebook, Twitter and the rest of them, the information I post here are similar to those I post on my other social media platforms, the one advantage here on steemit is that, I am being supported for what I post, unlike the other social media. I feel safe sharing our my information on steemit, it makes me feel like I'm socializing with people who want to socialize with me as well, and when I write my diary games, I feel like I'm Sharing my day to day activities with people around the world, and not just anyone, but people who are interested to know how my day went. The steemit is just a blessing to me.

I have set 25% to @null

20240107_195603_0000.jpg

Sort:  
 8 months ago 

Truly speaking, keeping a balamce is very essential. I remember last year where I saw a particular post on a social media concerning how to solve a certain illness.

I tried applying the remedy and believe me, the experience landed me in the toilet for a long long while. Had it been I read your post, maybe I did have been cautious enough.

Thanks for such a beautiful post
Love ya
Adiós.

Haha
I'm sorry sorry about your toilet experience
Please next time be more careful
Confirm from a medical expert before you try something for the first time, especially when it's medine related

Loading...

@vudeme123
Yes, you are right, we should have limited activity on social media because not everyone is for you or against you, that means some people are for you and some people are against you. can be jealous of your social activity yes of course want to sell you something or in business you can work on social media platform this is a good thing other activity is great and your post is clearly understood Chucky I hope you will win it with this post and definitely take this contest further

 8 months ago (edited)

Thanks for the comment
Truly you understood me, there's a lot of jealousy on the media, at sure we should be careful what we post. Even people are jealous of your progress nowadays, too bad.
I'm glad you learnt something as well from my post

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 8 months ago 

¡Saludos amiga!😊

Llevar nuestra vida de manera abierta al ojo público que hay en las redes sociales, es muy peligroso porque, si llegamos a alguien con malas intenciones, puede usar nuestra información para hacernos daño por ello, hay que saber muy bien hasta que nivel compartimos nuestra privacidad ya que, lo que hoy puede ser una diversión, mañana significaría una desgracia.

Te deseo mucho éxito en la dinámica, un fuerte abrazo💚

 7 months ago (edited)

¡Gracias por la advertencia! Realmente es importante tener cuidado con lo que compartimos en línea. ¡Y mantente seguro! 🌟

 8 months ago 

Beautifully written, it is true that one should not believe everything they see on social media. Alot of fake life out there, Psquare even sang about it in his song.

Social media is a different world from the real world atimes.

Yes oo
Nowadays everyone is living a fake life.
So we need to be extremely careful now.
Thanks for supporting my post

 8 months ago 

Your post highlights the right approach to sharing on social media. It emphasizes on the importance of balancing personal and professional content, cautioning against oversharing while recognizing the potential benefits of showcasing skills and work. I have learnt alot from this
I wish you success on your entry

 8 months ago (edited)

Thanks for the warmth comment dear 😊
Indeed we should try as much as possible not to overshare especially our personal life on the media. We should also keep balance of our personal and professional life
I'm glad you could learn from my post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58139.39
ETH 2454.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36