Steem4nigeria Accelerator Contest Week 51: I Learnt to Say NO.

in Steem4Nigeriayesterday
Introduction

20240723_223104.jpg

Choices are ours to make and this choices can be something as simple as a Yes Or No.
When something doesn't sit well with you or you don't agree to something, it's only normal you say no. However it may seem very difficult to do so.
Thanks to this week's accelerator's contest we will be able to view why it is difficult to say no and how we can overcome this. I'll use the contest questions as my guide.

Question 1:
Do you always find it hard to say NO to people's request?

Saying No to people even when it seems to hurt me was one of the greatest flaw I had. My mom often tells me, - "it's not manly, neither is it a show of love. Saying No doesn't mean you hate the person or you're just mean. It means it doesn't bode well with you. So say No and be confident about it."

Question 2:
Mention reasons why people find it difficult to say NO?

They are many reasons people say no but I'll least just two trendy ones;

20240723_230930.jpg

  • To please the other party: Saying No to others may really upset that person, If I say No to his request, she may not want to be my friend anymore. Imaobong - my 16 year old cousin observed. This has been one of the challenges that comes with saying no.

  • Peer pressure: To say no admist the noise and influence from peers and friends may feel very difficult. Take these scene; Imaobong is at a canteen and her friends gather around. They all agree to stop by Tinaries for hot buns, she doesn't want to eat buns, but just as she is about to say No her friends adds "whoever disagrees, is a clown with a big fat head". In order not to be seen as a clown Imaobong feels she has no choice but to accept.

Question 3:
What was that experience that taught you to say NO?

Sometimes ago in my secondary school, my friends agreed to gather together to go to a stream after school. I naturally resented the idea as I couldn't swim and was afraid of water. I tried to say No at first, but the pressure and pleasure my peers offered was just too much and I eventually gave in. While at the stream, the boys had fun while I tried masking my displeasure with a smile, I almost got drowned and got chills that day. Trust me it wasn't a very palatable experience. And since then I learnt that a simple NO can indeed be a life saver.

Question 4:
What is your advice for those who still struggles to give NO as an answer

20240723_225815.jpg

Do not be scared to say No. irrespective of the condition or situation. Be that brave, be that strong, be that unique and mighty you. Afterall, if anyone truly values you, he/she would respect your decisions. That NO you said can lead you away from trouble, keep your peace and ensure your happiness. So dear friends, say your No proudly when it matters.

Conclusion

Some of my friends who are steemians such as @bossj23, @d-wings and @johnmitchel can be so vehement in saying No and I would love to invite them to participate and share their views with us.

Thanks for reading, expecting your warm criticisms and contributions, Please don't say No this time...

Remember
I love y'all
Adiós

10%to this wonderful community
All Images are exclusive and designed via pixellab

For more info: here's my Achievement 1: Verification through introduction

Sort:  
 22 hours ago 

¡Saludos amigo!🤗

Es muy complicado aprender a decir que no pero, cuando adquirimos este hábito, evitamos vivir en una realidad que se convierte perjudicial para nosotros y todas las personas de nuestro entorno.

Te deseo mucho éxito en la dinámica... Un fuerte abrazo💚

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66049.89
ETH 3374.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63