CONTEST ALERT 👉: 7 DAYS WRITING SKILLS CHALLENGE, WRITE IN AT LEAST 5 DIFFERENT TOPICS IN THE NEXT 7 DAYS || TRAVELING || 15% IS FOR @STEEM4NIGERIA || Club5050

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago

Introduction

Greetings great steemians! I want to appreciate God for the gift of life and for all His kindness towards us. I want to also appreciate the management of this great platform for organizing this wonderful contest that has made some of us a consistent poster.

In this my last post I want to talk about my adventure to a strange land. Traveling they say is part of education, there are things you won't be exposed to if you don't travel to places you have not been before.

IMG_20220211_123649_985.jpg

My trip to a Strange Land

I was posted to serve in an interior village in Northern Nigeria, called Mayo sumsum located in Sardauna local government in Taraba state. My experience in my service year is one thing I would never forget easily. I was posted to the village along side two of my colleagues, when the vehicle that was carrying us got to the place our countenance was altered, we became discouraged and began contemplating whether to stay or to redeploy. The people we came to their land has no knowledge in English language, the language they speak there is strange to us, at this point so many things was going through my mind, knowing fully well that I would be teaching in their School. How will I communicate with them and pass knowledge to them, this was one of the many things that kept flooding my thoughts.

The irony of the whole story is that as we continued to stay in the land we began to adapt to the environment, we learnt so much staying with the villagers because their culture was something different from our own and the kind of food they eat was something different from what we use to know. We learnt how to prepare their local food which helped me because for you to eat the normal kind of food you were used to, would require you to spend much money, but their own food is surplus around us, most times we get it for free.

When we came to the village one of my colleagues had to buy gas cooker because what they use for cooking is their local coal pot, and we were not not used to it. After staying a long time in the land we learnt how to cook in their local fire because most times we would run out of gas and the distance to the place where we fill the gas is far from where we are staying.

IMG_20220208_182755_064.jpg

There was no network in the land and for us to get network for making calls and browsing we would have to climb mountain where they have their farm to make call and browse

IMG20210404142030.jpg

During the end of our stay there a send forth party was organized for us and we were celebrated for coming to their land and living with them without any complains.

IMG_20220206_175308_012.jpg

It was a nice experience even though most times we struggled to communicate with the people especially our students because of language barrier.

IMG-20210610-WA0024.jpg

They were equally time when I engaged their Children in exercises

IMG_20220211_112523_793.jpg

IMG_20220211_112922_870.jpg

We equally went to some of their beautiful mountains where we took snapshot

IMG-20210618-WA0010.jpg

IMG-20210618-WA0020.jpg

My trip to Mayo sumsum also know as green village was an experience indeed.

Thanks for your time.

Sort:  

Taraba wow, that's very far north, you are doing a great job there, serving your fatherland and imparting knowledge to students in their area. '

I love this post, great job Comrade

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43