Steem4nigeria Accelerator Contest Week 41: Navigating Through Conflicts

in Steem4Nigeria3 months ago

ai-generated-8710943_1280.webpsource

"Conflict is inevitable, but combat is optional- Max Lucado"

How do you manage to stay calm during an argument?


Staying calm during an argument is just the best thing I can do to avoid unnecessary arguments, fights, or even raising my voice. I love a peaceful home and environment.

To stay calm during an argument, I don't talk while the other is talking; I listen and keep calm. Sometimes, I feel that if I talk, a lot of things will go wrong, and that alone makes me feel bad. I try to either stay calm, walk away, or listen to music to distract myself.

I was told that when an argument arises, you should either drink a cup of water to get calm or get distracted with anything around. That way, you feel a lot better able to handle the issue. You even get clearer insight on what to say or do.



Why is it important to listen carefully during a disagreement?


heartsickness-428103_1280.jpgsource

Active listening reduces defensiveness and determines who is right or wrong. It focuses on both facts and feelings. When you listen carefully during a disagreement, it helps to understand each other, find common ground, build trust, and avoid misunderstandings.

When you listen carefully in the middle of a disagreement, it gives you a clear understanding of what the other person meant or did. It could be that you are at fault, but while listening, you would get it right.

Listening carefully is also a sign of respect. Two people cannot be talking or raising voices at the same time; one person should listen while the other speaks, and then afterwards, the other speaks as the other listens. It's just simple arithmetic for peace to reign.



How does understanding someone else's feelings help in resolving conflicts?


This is simple. Listening during an argument helps you understand what the next party is feeling. If they feel rejected or abandoned, it could show as they speak. People's feelings matter a lot during conflict, which is why everyone involved should be heard.

As far as I know, empathy plays a crucial role in calming conflicts, and it also helps to understand others feelings and see things from their perspectives. When this is achieved, it is easy to make peace.

ai-generated-8153759_1280.jpgsource

There are still some people who don't like to be won during conflict or argument; they see it as a competition with the other person, and so even if they know the truth, they will not give up; rather, they maintain their stand and allow things to escalate.



What can we do to control our anger during an argument?


During an argument, it is better to either walk away or stay calm. If everyone is talking, it simply means no one is talking. I usually drink water when I'm angry to help calm me down because I feel hot inside during an argument, and when I take a cup of water, I feel cool.

Seeing a movie or listening to music is not left out. To avoid saying unnecessary things, you just have your ear plug for music or a movie and get busy instead of arguing.

Also, try to take a deep breath and think before you speak; this way, you will have a clearer view of what you have to say and gain a better understanding of the whole scenario.



I invite @goodybest @chant @chilaw

20231026_101606.jpg

Sort:  
Loading...
 3 months ago 

Wow this is so amazing and a great job
You have done well in this contest
Keep it up and you will be the winner in Steemit

 3 months ago 

Keeping silence sometimes is a good option to avoid unnecessary problems. I do a lot of ignoring someone when i noticed you want problem. Giving a listening ear can help resolve conflict which you never understood the other person point of view. But while listening, you will see it from the angle he came from. I totally agree with with you that they are people that doesn't want to be won in an argument. This kind of attitude should be carried out in a debate, not in a life that we learn everyday. Good luck to you

 3 months ago 

Beautiful entry ma. One thing have come to relax is that walking with the holy spirit helps you to stay quiet when you should and to talk when you ought to talk. Staying calm is not easy especially when the other person is at fault but intimacy with the holy ghost helps you.

 3 months ago 

Choosing to be calm or hostile during conflict situations as option. There are benefits as well as consequences attached to the options choosen.

 3 months ago 

Listening carefully enables you to get the other person's point of view and any reasonable person will also listen to you after giving him or her audience to also get your point of view. With this, there won't be any room for conflict rather a better understanding.
Wow, you drinking water when you are angry to calm yourself down. I think i will try that i hope it works for me hahahahah

 3 months ago 

Very funny ma'am. I was told about drinking water and when I tried it, it worked. I guess it will work for you too. Thank you for responding...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68220.71
ETH 3321.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74