local Spices : For Taste, Flavour and Good Health.

in Steem4Nigerialast year

png_20230730_170806_0000.png

INTRODUCTION

Hello friends, this contest catches my eyes and I decided to partake, I love local spice in my dishes because it comes with a lot of health benefits and is natural plant that has no artificial in it. Now to the contest rules, let's see what I have to say about spice.

What are spices? And identify at least five of the spices in the thumbnail picture above.

To my own definition Spice are plant we use in cooking food to bring out the taste of our meals and to gives our meal good flavor.

In the thumbnail picture I am able to identify some Spices.

Some spices that are there in the thumbnail picture are, though I know all the spices but I don't know some of the names.

  • Garlic

  • Ginger

  • Bay leaves

  • onions

  • Cloves

  • Uda seed

  • Uziza seed

  • Tumeric

What are the local names of the spices you could Identify with local pictures from your kitchen.

IMG_20230730_165609_412.jpg

Taking picture with my local spice

English and local names of the spices I know

spice 1

Screenshot_20230730-155314.jpg

Ginger

ginger come from the family of zingiberacease, it is use to spice up our food and it's gives a very nice flavour to our food and is also use as medicine. The local name for ginger in Hausa land is Chitta, then if you are an Igbo person it is known as Oso- ala or Oso - Chikwu and then in Yoruba it is call Ata'le.

Spice 2

Screenshot_20230730-162216.jpg
Garlic

Garlic is use to season our food, you can use it for the treatment of so many things and it's comes from the family of Liliaceae, the local name for garlic is called ayim mbakara in Ibibio language, in Igbo it is call ayuu and ayo in Yoruba language.

Spice 3

Screenshot_20230730-162153.jpg

cloves

cloves are tiny particles but a very good medicine, the local name for cloves in hausa language is call kanumfari, in Igbo language is known as kloovu and Nchara and in Yoruba language it is called Kanafuru.

Spice 4

Screenshot_20230730-162140.jpg

Negro pepper

This is black pepper which is known as Negro pepper English name then it is known as Uda seed in Igbo, then in Yoruba it is call Eery Alamo and in Hausa land it is called chimba. It is use to make pepper soup for newly mother's because of the hotness.

Spice 5

Screenshot_20230730-162242.jpg
Uziza seed

English name for uziza is Piper guineense, then in then Igbo is known as uziza seed and in
Yoruba's it's called Ata iyere, in ibibio land it is known as Etinkene then in edo tribe is known as
Ahinhi akpoke, piper guineense is in the family of black pepper.

Spice 6

IMG_20230724_161631_116.jpg

Tumeric plant from my farm

Tumeric are plant we use in cooking our meal like jollof rice or stew, some people use it as cream in the fatty room. The local names are turmeric ntu ntu in Igbo, in Yoruba it is call ata ile pupa and t... turmeric foda or kurkur in Hausa language

How did you get to know this spices and when do you apply them individually or as a combination.

All this spice was introduced to me by my late mother, and when I was selling spices in the market I sold all the local spice and because of the high demands from customers and I had to make the powder form and I even created a company name with it as a label,

IMG_20210826_073333_286.jpg

Screenshot_20230730-154320.jpg

Screenshot_20230730-154345.jpg

Screenshot_20230730-154309.jpg

My focus was really on local spice, and the artificial spices were not moving market as my local spice, so many of my customers knowns me as MMA local spice.

There ways I use my local spice, some times I use it in cooking pepper soup and some in my stew and some in my soup, like white soup I have to make use of Uda and uziza seed then in my jollof rice, I will make use of my tumeric, ginger and garlic then if I was to make local tea for the family I make use of cloves, Uda seed, ginger, tumeric and garlic.

Screenshot_20230730-162508.jpg

Screenshot_20230730-153650.jpg

Screenshot_20230730-153729.jpg

Check out some of my local tea prepared by me

How do you measure the quantity to be used when preparing any local dish.

The measurements for my local spice is not specific because at times I use the grounded ones and if I am to measure, I make use of my tea spoon, for example if I am cooking stew or pepper soup for the family I use like 1 tea spoon in each of the spices.

Are they any claimed or confirmed health benefits of the spices you have identified?

Yeah all the spices I mentioned above comes with great health benefits and I will love to share with us all.

Names of spicehealthy benefits
GingerGinger helps speed up the digestion process, it's Improves Immunity, it's Relieves Nausea and Upset Stomach, Reduces Pain, Weight Loss Aid, it is use as Spice in our Foods.
GarlicGarlic help in protection against illness, including the common cold, expercially this season and you can use it as Spice in the food
TumericTurmeric contains curcumin, it is a substance that has powerful anti-inflammatory and antioxidant properties.
Negro pepperit's Promotes Weight Loss, it's good for asthmatics patient, it's Reliefs Toothaches and it also helps Fight Rheumatism, for those with menstrual pains, you can also use it because it relief menstrual pains.
Uziza seedit is good for the relief of cold and it fight infection
Clovescloves is very strong antibiotics that is use to fight infection in women's and you can use it as detox to detoxify your body.

What else would you like to tell us about these or any other spices.

Those days my mum told me that why they don't get sick is because they were not taking any medicine except of local spice, that there were nothing like infection and strong diseases, that any time they get sick they make use of local spice. Even my grandfather was a native doctor, so all his work, he must at least put one or two local spice.

CONCLUSION

Local spice are good than all this parkage spice that comes with preservertives. For this weather you can boil it and drink as tea and mist of them are very good in fighting infection. I will like to invite my friends @ruthjoe, @udyliciouz and @m-fdo to join us.

Know more about me

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53949.09
ETH 2223.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31