Steemit Engagement Challenge S5-W2 - My 3 Best Characters Vs 3 Worst Characters".

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago (edited)

photostudio_1666258750805.jpg The two sides of the same coin || Created by manuelhooks using PhotoStudio

Character

To start with, I honestly believe there is something profoundly simple about my complicated character which is the sum of various personality traits embodied in me.
In this post, which requires a candid self-assessment, I will be analysing a number of traits that are habitual in me. Though deep inside I really want to be a better version of myself which is due to my first positive trait which has to do with perfectionism. So I am a perfectionist and quiet unfortunately, I also place this trait among my negative traits. I am Stubborn, slow in making decisions and have a degree of modesty.

photostudio_1666356726800.jpg

The Positive Trait.



I am a perfectionist
Let's start with that fact that I am a perfectionist which means I try hard to pay attention to details and work extra hard to have it right all the time. Always believing that what ever must be done, most be done well. This trait make it easy to always want to be at my best.
When working under a superior, they often tend to love my work because it is done as close to perfect as possible. This trait also serves as a catalyst that amplifies other traits makes me find ways to care better, show love in the most appealing way, be abetter listener and so on. I love the fact that I want to do things a little better.

  • How this trait is displayed in my daily life: my clients tend to appreciate the fact that my service are done with some measure of finesse. I will endeavour to surgically disassemble a client laptop without living a scratch or a dent.
  • I will not recommend this trait because it is very inversive and difficult to manage.

I am Stubborn
While you may have expected to see this among my negative traits. I am Stubborn because I don't move easily, I have to be logically convinced to adopt an opinion and it will take a stronger logic to adjust it, so I end up remaining the same for a long time.
Being stubborn permits me to go against the current of popular opinions. It helps me take a stand and hold on to it.

  • How this trait is displayed in my daily life: looking at the aspect of dressing and grooming, being difficult to move keeps me away from following the trend of keeping beards and putting on trousers that sag.
  • I will recommend being persistent in what we do, that is if you are not comfortable calling it stubbornness. A person should have a stand and hold on to what they believe.

I am modest
While the dictionary may describe modest as the the tendency not to be boastful about one's achievements, humble: Small or moderate. I see modesty as the ability to realistically evaluate my ability, Acknowledging my limitations so as not to expect what is beyond my ability. This trait helps place my perfectionism under checks. While I would have love to perfect an act or finly finish a task, modesty help inform me that I may not have what it takes to attain that goal judging by available time and resources.

  • How this trait plays out in my daily life: I would have love to drop a flawless post but that is not attainable, it May likely end up too long, over digressed with few typos.
  • I would recommend this trait for others. It helps avoid unnecessary disappointment.

photostudio_1666356206351.jpg

The Negative Trait.



I am a perfectionist
Being a perfectionist has a lot of negative side effects, it overworks me some times. While it make a good servant, being a perfectionist creates a very cruel master. When a perfectionist is your boss, it becomes almost impossible to please then because they will always see the possibility of doing whatever you did a little better.
I try very hard to appreciate what people do, but paying attention to details means being able to see what they missed. When a husband is a perfectionist, the wife is overworked. She will definitely feel she is not appreciated and that whatever she is doing is being faulted.

  • I will love to better manage this trait by being more modest in my expectation of others and myself. To freely and frequently appreciate the effort of others. To avoid correcting some flaws that can be overlooked.
  • I try not to attain perfection before submitting this post.

Slow in making decisions
In an attempt to consider all variables before concluding, it takes a lot of time to make a decision. Though it often results in the best, it also takes too much time which makes it difficult to solve issues that requires split second reactions. When handling a situation that is not time sensitive, weighing all the pros and cons really pays but trying to do the same for urgent cases have always failed me.

  • due to the fact that it has some advantages, I will love to learn time management and also learn how to quickly identify situations that can wait and those that will require more urgent responce.
  • for now, I try to correctly evaluate the severity and urgency of the situation.

Function at extremes:
Being good at being good and bad at being bad. That is how I would define extrim. Once an idea or curse of action is conceived, it stubbornly held and gets fuelled by a desire to perfect it. If the curse of action is a good course, it's not easy to deviate from it, but if it is a bad course, being talked out of it is not easy.
A collection of some traits sometime create a fortification that makes it hard to adjust regardless if it's positive or negative.

  • though I will really not love to be gullible, I will also not love to have all my ideas engraved on stone. I listen to words of advice and latter look into it again on my own. I try to modestly apply moderation.

Conclusion

We all have something we are contending with. Even good traits sometime are problematic while circumstances might make a bad trait look advantageous.

Thank you to steem4nigeria for organizing this self searching contest that have function as a mirror, showing us the two side we are made of.

About myself

Username@manuelhooks
JoinedJune 2021
About myselfAchievement 1


I will love the following friends to participate in this Engagement Challenge @kesybliss, @oasiskp and @emmanuelfavour

#steem4nigeria-s5w2 #nigeria
#steemexclusive #burnsteem25 #writing
#club100

Sort:  
Loading...

we as human beings who are lacking, there must be good and bad characters, because we have to improve it slowly for the sake of our pleasant life

 2 years ago 

Do you mean stubbornness is part of your best character? Although it is good for one to be stubborn at some point, so people can give you your maximum respect. However, if your stubbornness is not for good, I would advise you to swap it. You have written well, and I must say that the rest of your characters are good. Best of luck to you, sir.

We grew up around people who often used the word stubborn to describe a child who is naughty.

While it is common place to feel that being stubborn is being bad based on popular usage, stubbornness is refusal to change/holding on to something. [Taking a stand.]

Being stubborn is that trait that keeps me swimming against the tide.

 2 years ago 

If that is the case, I support your move. Best of luck.

You have a good write-up and I must say that your dual trait of being a perfectionist is well directed because even in economics, we always emphasize on considering the equilibrium level of variables.
I'm glad that you massed the boldness to streamline your negative traits to our perusal because the datum remains that most people would posit that they have no bad side which nullifies their human nature because it's the aglomeration of your both sides that qualifies your being human.
Thanks for sharing with us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58695.71
ETH 2633.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49