My Steemit Name Is @lhorgic

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago

20220226_211215~2.jpg

Hello dear friends and fam in this commuinty. I trust you are all keeping well. Am happy I am finally making my entry into this contest organized by my able boss lady @goodybest. Thanks for putting up this contest. Below is my entry.

Tell Us why you choose your Steemit name

There is always a story behind any name,mine is no exception. My username is @lhorgic. I have been asked many times by people why I chose the name lhorgic. Am not only known with this username here in steemit (on-chain),it's a nic name I am also addressed with off- chain.

When steemit was introduced to me,I didn't rack my head to get a username,I just used my nic name.
Now let me explain how I got this name. I got the name back then in my high school days.

My classmates back in my high school day gave and validate this name. Am always this type of person that seems to make things easy for my classmates, my seat mate too was that kind of person,we were working hand in hand to ensure that anything taught in class was simplifies for all to understand.

So then we were like... Kingsley do you get this? And Kingsley is like... I don't understand anything o.Okay do it like this,like this and like that and then Kingleys is like Wao! So this thing is this simple than am like you get the "logic" now and he is like yea this is the better and simpler.

It wasn't long before we became a semi/ assistant teachers such that anytime something was explained in class and it looked so vague or ambiguous,they don't even bother to ask the teacher,they just assume my seat mate and I already understand it.

My seat mate was referred to as "study" because he does the brainstorming while I do the delivery in a very systematic and simplified manner,so our combination was a very perfect one. After the teacher leaves they are like logic how far? study any show?

In a nutshell our classmates jokingly stamped this name, our name then switched from Christian and Taiwo to logic and study respectively. We continued like this till we left secondary school. Interestingly I loved and fell in love with the nic name and decided to keep it.

Let me cease this opportunity to answer the question that @ubongudofot asked me in a comment he made in @ruthjoe 's entry

iMarkup_20220808_013043.jpg

He asked if I chose the name because I loved math...
The truth is I never loved math in my high school days,I tried as much as possible to avoid maths. Maths is one of the reason why I steer clear from science department because I know I would inevitably encounter physics and further maths there

Maybe It will Interest you to know I failed math in my O'levels for years before I finally made it. You know that kind of result where everything you need is complete except one.
That one for me was always maths.

This made me repeat my O'levels for 3 years,and in that 3 years I wrote about five (5) 0'levels. I was doing WAEC and NECO simultaneously just to get my mathematics. I eventually got it and then went for my dream course

You won't believe what my dream course is...It's accounting. Yea,you heard me right(lols😃). I know what you're thinking right now. You're like how would you cope with accounting when you have so much difficulty in understanding math.

Well this is the mystery I can't explain, inspite of my dislike for maths,I still desired to become an accountant which I went for. Trust me, 80% of everything about that course is calculation and formulas.
God showed up for me such that he helped me both with intelligent friends and conscious effort.

Today I teach young boys and girls in high school the Sam math I wrote for years. It was as though I grew above the challenge. The almighty mathematics became cheap and I cannot but shake my head in amazement. How on Earth was I failing this thing? I keep asking myself.

The Twist

If you observed carefully,the name my classmates gave me then was logic which I fell in love with but when I joined steemit and I had to register with a username, I then modified logic into "lhorgic" and this then became my undoing as many could not understand, write or even pronounce it. Well I will explain more about this in the third question.

Is there someone you've dedicated the name to?

No no...no one but myself. Maybe in the nearest future I will dedicate it to someone. Maybe one of the smart, intelligent kids that will come out from my loins.

Are you satisfied with your name?

I was but as it stands now I don't think I am anymore, because of the twist that had cause me so much issue. I started noticing the simple english word, Logic I modified into Lhorgic (@lhorgic) stated causing confusion.

It was so serious that someone mistakenly sent steems that was meant for me to another address thinking it was me whereas the username was wrongly spelt.
Many refer to me as "@ihorgic" instead of @lhorgic.

It means the "L" is always mistaken for "I", and this has been a major challenge for me.This was the mistake the sender made. Thank God he was an experienced user,he was able to raise a ticket to get back the steems and then he had to copy my username directly from my blog before resending correctly.

Some other people would want to tag or mention me in their post but the username seems to be a bit ambiguous for them the comprehend and then they just forget about it.

Some will even mention me and then I don't even get notification,I only get to know when I come across their post by chance and then am like...really? The only people who tag and mention me consistently are those who are already use to my username or those who copy directly.

If you're given a chance will you change your name?

Yea but I won't totally change the name because I love it.I will only put it back in the normal way the username "lhorgic" should be spelt which is @logic. I think with this users will be able to easily grab and comprehend it.

I would have love to effect this change but it seems far from possible.The "immutability" of a blockchain will not allow such. Steemit is powered by a blockchain so it seems there's no way out of this.

The only consolation I have is that the misconceptions has reduced, it's unlike the days when I newly joined,I guess many users now find it easy to relate with the username because they are used to seeing it again and again.

I know this post is a very lengthy one but I only saw this contest as an opportunity to clear the air concerning my username. Thanks you so much for reading to this point. I really appreciate.
I will love to invite @olabillions @ruthjoe and @msquaretk

Regards
@lhorgic♥️

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

This was quit logical in explanation than i thought.

But just to clear the air, now, i've understood where you got the name.

And yeah, that L is always mistaken to i, personally, i thought it was i before, not untill i once had an interaction with you sometimes last year....that was when i knew that L.

But its cool as you have cleared that now.

But hwy, while mathematics was not favourable to you back then in high School.., do you know that was my best Subject...?

The reason was because, i didnt have to cramp anything...., i i just needed to solve a particular problem at present...,that makes it more easier.

Commendation

That was a great article @lhorgic, as a matter of fact, this is ine of the best entry i've read in this contest.

 2 years ago 

But hwy, while mathematics was not favourable to you back then in high School.., do you know that was my best Subject...?

This is one of the fascinating things about life. One man's food is another man's poison but am glad it became one of the subject I now like later on.

And yeah, that L is always mistaken to i, personally, i thought it was i before, not untill i once had an interaction with you sometimes last year....that was when i knew that L.

Smiles yea you're right,only few can still distinguish between the "L" and the "I" even till date. You knew this before now because there was an opportunity to interact prior to this time. Maybe it has become a cross. Not a heavy one though😃. I've been coping for the past 1year+ I joined the chain.

Commendation
That was a great article @lhorgic, as a matter of fact, this is ine of the best entry i've read in this contest.

Thank you very much. I really appreciate your warm and encouraging comment. Thanks for all you do.

 2 years ago 

You have made quite an elaborate explanation of your username I must say. And you really made a great entry..

Thanks for sharing

 2 years ago 

Thank you Ruth, and thanks for motivating me again and again. Who knows,maybe I wouldn't have made this entry if I didn't see yours. You're doing well. Keep pushing,your reward will come in due time.

 2 years ago 

I say Amen to your prayers...

Thank you dear friend

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣So much information in one piece, the subject that crucified you is now your savior

Thanks for sharing the reason behind your username,

 2 years ago (edited)

Yes so... So much information in one post. This is more than a contest for me. I have only maximized this opportunity. Yes o,the subject that was once dreaded is now putting food on my table. Thanks for reading dear friend. Should I still be looking forward to your entry? Where did you actually see the billions in your name?

😁😁🤣Engagement don start oo, vision for bigger reward

 2 years ago 

Hahahaha...I can relate bro. #Steem-on.

 2 years ago 

Your username is very unique and I love the name because it's very easy to pronounce. Thank you for sharing your post with us.

 2 years ago 

Thanks for your time. I really appreciate you for dropping by. Do enjoy your day.

 2 years ago 

Congratulations, your post has been supported by @steem4nigeria. This is the official community account of Nigerians on Steemit. You can reach us here on our community account.

Manual Curator : @fredquantum

Subscribe and Join Steem4Nigeria Telegram
Discord Facebook Twitter

Hello, I will like to invite you to the ongoing Power up promotion and stand a chance of winning 2000SP in delegation. This is a great opportunity you wouldn't want to miss to build your Steem power and win delegation rewards. Join the contest using the link below.

Contest Alert (#growwithsteem-naija) Let's Grow Bigger Naija (Powerup/Promotion) by @ngoenyi. Win Monthly Delegation

Loading...
 2 years ago 

Thanks for taking part in this contest and sharing with us the reason behind your Steemit name! Wow it's good to learn that you were so brilliant in your high school days that your fellow students gave you this amazing name.

Truly I wish you answer the name as it truly was; logic let me confess I personally used to misspelled your name replacing the l with I. but as rightly said people are getting acquainted with it now. Once again thanks note that we appreciate your effort in the community!

 2 years ago 

logic let me confess I personally used to misspelled your name replacing the l with I.

Lols...even my boss lady herself misspells my name. Am glad you know better now.Thank you so much for the warm and encouraging comment,I really do appreciate it.
I also appreciate all you do in this commuinty as well. Keep up the energy level ma. #Steem-on

 2 years ago 

Sure dear friend let's steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67073.12
ETH 3507.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18