Steemit Engagement Challenge S5-W2 - My 3 Best Characters Vs 3 Worst Characters

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago

Steemit engagement challenge.jpg

Created with Canva

It is another week and this week's theme just got better. Everyone has some good and not-so-good traits, and I am no exception. The critical point is that knowing that you are working on your not-so-great character will make you improve and become better in the long run. Without wasting much of the reader's time, Let me jump into the contest by answering questions based on the headings that follow.

thumb-ga02b669aa_1920.jpg

source

List 3 characters of yours that are the best or good characters that you have. Explain them and how you display them

Well, I have lots of great attributes that I am aware of, and people normal complement me based on them. Most of these characters are something I see as no big deal, but people appreciate me for exhibiting them. my best characters are:

  • Being Respectful
  • Emotionally intelligent
  • Good Communication

Being Respectful is one trait of mine that people compliment the most. I am sorry that I talk and interact with both old and young and female and male, all with respect. I do not discriminate based on gender and who I should respect; it is one trait my parent instilled in me. As a Yoruba boy, I ensure I greet and bow my head to my elders while also ensuring never to speak unless called upon to speak in a gathering of people much older than I am.

Emotionally intelligent is something that is underplayed in the world that we live in, but it remains one of my top-notch traits. I display this character by being emotionally present for people needing a listening ear or a shoulder to rest on. Aside from that, I also tend to avoid conflict by trying to see first from the other person's perspective. This way, I get along well with people.

Good Communication ranks top among my best trait. As a person, I see myself as someone who could lift one soul from a wrong place to an enlightened place. This has made me horn my public speaking skills further by taking courses and also taking more roles. I communicate clearly, either in writing or vocally either through my blog post and also when communicating with either my family, partner, friends, clients or my employers

54TLbcUcnRm3sWQK3HKkuAMedF1JSX7yKgEqYjnyTKPwrcsjyErkSfB8cVSEv7mfRFSFf5vYf6muVqqRTQAYvv6MRToFRBiyHFh1nqAWggtwhqACRigvPd8Jd8RwCLT6dRDz7pPJW (2).png

Would you advise others to display them?

This are great characters that i would advise anyone to display because they will set one apart. The emotional intelligence part will make you have more empathy for people around you and you would also know the right thing to say or do. Also, if you develop your communication skills well, people will never mix up what you intend to say and you will clearly and easily pass your message across. along side that, Respect everyone regardless of their gender, status in society, age and how they appear. Being respectful will make people want to associate themselves with you. Also, remember that respect is reciprocal.

hello-i-m-nik-LUYD2b7MNrg-unsplash.jpg

source

What are the three (3) worst Characters that you sometimes display that even you condemn?

Truth is that no one is perfect and all have a dark side to our bright side and I am no different. Truth is that these bad sides do not really affect the outside world but me it mostly hurt me in particular. You know that the urge for perfection sometimes can be damaging and some of my bad traits are:

  • I Never say No
  • I care too much
  • I forgive too easily

I never say No to almost all demands except if it is something I can not do at all. I am so fond of that and I think it is starting to take its toll on me. The desire to always be there for everyone can be both Physical and mental draining. This has affected me at work as my boss will give me more responsibility than my job role and this in a way has affected my own ability to work on my own private projects even during closing hours.

I care too much for the people I love or people I consider to be in my inner circle. I always want the best for them and this sometimes makes me go out of my way just to make them happy. They are times when I put myself in a disadvantageous position just to make them smile and to see them happy. They are also times that I see loved ones doing the wrong things and I try to point them in the right way but they will not budge. This sometimes makes me sad but what keeps me going is that you can not save someone who does not want to be saved.

I forgive too easily and this makes people take advantage of me over and over again. They abuse that privilege because they know that once I have been wrong, they can always earn my forgiveness easily without much stress. This in turn always fires back at me as the people I forgave will always find a way to hurt me back. They always take my softness for granted and hurt me with any chance they get and that hurts as hell.

54TLbcUcnRm3sWQK3HKkuAMedF1JSX7yKgEqYjnyTKPwrcsjyErkSfB8cVSEv7mfRFSFf5vYf6muVqqRTQAYvv6MRToFRBiyHFh1nqAWggtwhqACRigvPd8Jd8RwCLT6dRDz7pPJW (2).png

Will you like to stop them? What efforts have you been making toward stopping them?

I will not lie, I am doing my best to stop some of these traits but at the same time, no is perfect just like I said earlier. I kind of tend to do things much slower than the ordinary person will but I always get long last results in the end. With that being said, The only trait I am currently learning is how to start saying No to some demands as for the rest, I feel those are just part of how I was brought up and I can not stop any time soon.

I have been reading more articles on how to inculcate the habit of saying no without feeling bad about doing it. I have also taken some time management training from Linked In to help me better manage my time. this way, I will know what to say yes to and what to turn down. Also, This course is also teaching me prioritization.



Calling on the following people to join the contest:

Sort:  

It is normal for us humans to have good and bad qualities in us. But we have to discard the bad aspects and practice the good aspects.

 2 years ago 

Wow!
Been respectful is a very important character and find it amazing that you respect any gender at all , this is really good and I must commend you and your parents.

Smiles. They will hear ..

 2 years ago 

That's right 👍

Steem on

 2 years ago 

It's all okay to have some of these negative traits, what really matters is how we handle and the efforts put in to change.
I believe with time, they will all stop. Just keep working on them.

The good characters of yours are admirable and worth emulating.

Nice to read from your blog, best wishes!

Thank you

Loading...
Loading...
 2 years ago 

It show that you are a good communicator especially in a public place. Please work on you worst character as as human being we cannot do without it.. Best of luck

Thanks for stopping by

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61155.34
ETH 2383.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56