Steem4nigeria Accelerator Contest Week 35: Dealing with Emotions

in Steem4Nigeria5 months ago

indian-1283789_1280.jpg
Source


Hello friends of steem4Nigeria, welcome to a new week of steem4Nigeria accelerator contest. For this week we are going to learn how we can deal with our emotions.

I have seen people lose it all because of not being able to control their emotions. A young lady killed a friend because of something that made her angry and in just 30 seconds, her life changed. She had killed her friend in the height of the emotion and soon her anger turned to anxiety, depression, sadness, fear and heaviness of the heart.

This is an important topic that we should all take seriously.


What is your understanding of emotions?

sad-2042536_1280.jpg
Source


Our feelings, the way we respond to things and the way we react to both internal and external actions are what is referred to as emotions. Our emotions can control us, mar or make us. So we have to be very careful on how we tend to send out these emotions.

These emotions could be happiness, sadness, anxiety, love, fear, anger etc.

Emotions are mostly triggered by internal and external forces. For example, if someone gifts us something we love, we will be happy and also love that person. Now that is an external force triggering our emotions.


Have you ever had emotions that made you lose yourself? tell us about it.

man-2734073_1280.jpg
Source


I have had emotions that made me lose myself and it was in church. I felt embarrassed with what I did. I play the drums in church and one evening we had service in church for teenagers. So when I got there, I saw a new kid on the drums.

I was patient enough to wait for him to play the first segment of the service after which I went over to him to allow me play as I am the church drummer. He was angry that I came to get the sticks from him but I didn't mind. After some minutes he came back and told me to leave the drums that he wanted to play again and I refused. Prayers was ongoing in church though, and he punched me on the face. That was were I lost it.

I could have held on a little longer till end of the service to talk out things or better still report him to our teacher. But I decided to let it out on him. I was older than he was, so I made sure he was pummeled but then we were inside the church during prayers and we were fighting. I felt so embarrassed for allowing my emotions to get the best of me. I was disciplined severely.

I thought over that scenario for days and I knew I could have avoided the fight in the church. But even with the outburst of emotions, we settled our differences over time. At least I was glad we settled.


Explain 5 ways to deal with emotions.

girl-204327_1280.jpg
Source


To avoid losing out our emotions, it is better to always deal with it. These are five ways we can deal with our emotions and there are:

  • Talking to someone you trust about it: Sometimes when I feel low or when my emotions are out of control, I create an opportunity to talk to someone about it. Talking to someone I trust will help to relieve the emotions. The person could be a Friend or a therapist that could help.

  • Listening to Music: Listening to music helps to relieve me of some emotions that are not desirable. I have certain kind of music that helps to deal with emotions. Music brings the calm we need and steadies our emotions.

  • Writing and Journaling My Thoughts: Writing out my thoughts helps to calm my nerves. If I had fear or anxiety, writing and journaling about my thoughts, this makes me feel better.

  • Reading the Bible or Books that could help: Reading the Bible or Books dealing with emotions can help us to control our emotions. It is always a great way to deal with emotions through this method.

  • Pray: One of the things I do when I am full of anxiety and fear is that I pray. Prayers is a means of communication which helps to deal with emotions.


Do you think emotions could hinder someone from achieving their dreams?

book-5174879_1280.jpg
Source


Emotions can hinder someone from achieving their dreams. A person who is afraid can't take a step into achieving their dreams.

Research has it that the fastest killer though slow in action is our emotions. Failure to deal with our emotions properly could lead to killing our dreams.

Emotions are vision blur agent and can one to lose focus of its direction and aspirations.

It is always advisable to deal with our emotions, though it's never an easy journey but we must always try our best to deal with it.

Thanks for going through my post!

I invite @imohmitch, @davidmarkgeorge and @onlyonefave to participate in this contest.

Sort:  

!upvote 40


💯⚜2️⃣0️⃣2️⃣4️⃣ Participate in the "Seven Network" Community2️⃣0️⃣2️⃣4️⃣ ⚜💯.
This post was manually selected to be voted on by "Seven Network Project". (Manual Curation of Steem Seven). Also your post was promoted on 🧵"X"🧵 by the account josluds

the post has been upvoted successfully! Remaining bandwidth: 160%

Your post has been rewarded by the Seven Team.

Support partner witnesses

@seven.wit
@cotina
@xpilar.witness

We are the hope!

Loading...
 5 months ago 

Absolutely. Praying is a wonderful way to cope with anxiety and fear. When you pray, you're engaging in a form of communication where you can pour out your emotions and seek comfort. It's like having a heartfelt conversation with a higher power, expressing your worries, hopes, and desires. Through prayer, you can find solace and a sense of peace. It's a way to connect with something greater than yourself and find support in times of emotional turmoil. So, keep praying and know that you're not alone in dealing with your emotions.

 5 months ago (edited)

Praying is indeed a powerful tool for coping with anxiety and fear. When I pray I feel this sense of comfort and peace within me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64059.91
ETH 2761.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72