A Highlight of Yesterday's Meet-Up

in Steem4Nigeria9 months ago

IMG_20230820_121528.jpg

Good Afternoon friends, recalled I made an announcement 3 days ago that there's going to be a general meet-up specifically for Akwa Ibom Steemians yesterday, Saturday 19th August 2023. The meetup holds and it was successful!

The main purpose of organising the meeting was to get to know new ones in my city (Uyo) and train them, making Steemit alive to them, and the purpose was fulfilled. The turn-up was quite encouraging and we were revitalised. Let me tell you in detail how it was.

IMG_20230819_175106.jpg

So we first of all introduced ourselves by our usernames after that I thank everyone who made it to the meeting, I then encouraged them to be consistent and active, because this is the only way we can go further in the platform.

Next I spoke on the need to be original and creative, I advised the new ones to always write about what they are very good at, for example, if they like cooking, and know lots of recipes they should focus on that, be it sports or art instead of scanning the internet to paraphrase information. I encouraged them to write diary games, and they should be creative, considering what makes the day a success, special, sad or fun etc, as well as some spectacular events that happen during the day, these will teach them how to produce original content.

IMG-20230819-WA0093.jpg

They should always develop topics based on what they knew already and expatiates on that, use their photos, or free from Canva, pixel etc, their cover photo should always depict their idea. And never used AI because a person like me will detect it without using a detector, likewise many others, it is an abuse of the platform as such they should abstain from it.

I warned them never to beg for vote because it's unethical, they shouldn't write for steemcurators but for the community, they should engage with fellow users, read their posts comment meaningfully on them, upvote them, do this consistently that they will likely reciprocate before they know it they've formed new friendships, gain visibility and every other thing will come naturally.

IMG-20230819-WA0067.jpg

I told them to join engagement contests, and as the name implies should be engaging meaningfully with fellow contestants, that I want to see their names among the 100 active users every week, quality engagement is so important, we can even get a reward for engaging meaningfully.

The Burnsteem25 project I explained in layman's terms for them, giving them a well-known example, that if a particular commodity is scarce in the market that its price will rise because demand will be higher than supply, that same applies to Steem coin, and by the way Burning of crypto coin is not a new thing, I mean even bitcoin, Ethereum, Shiba, dodge etc have been doing this from time to time (taking the coins out of the market, thus strengthening its price) so Steem shouldn't be different. So far it has helped Steem's price to stabilise.

I've educated them on how to support the project, that it is by setting 25% of the beneficiary reward to null, and I've shown them how to. That they should use the Burnsteem25 tag only when they've set reward to the account @null. If not it will be considered as tags abuse.

IMG-20230819-WA0089.jpg

Then power up, I really emphasize the importance of power up, it's the only way we can strengthen our account and gain visibility. We have 3 types of club status so I've encouraged them to maintain the one they can comfortably operate on for many years without feeling pressured. I also encouraged them to buy Steem and power up or keep it so that they can take advantage of the price when time reaches.

We've created a WhatsApp group for the new users so that we will train and mentor them there, and they can drop any questions bothering them there, drop their posts links for engagement etc. This will help to avoid steeming in isolation and apathy.

IMG_20230819_174111.jpg

IMG_20230819_173931.jpg

IMG_20230819_175953.jpg

Lastly, we played football, I bought it on my way to the meeting, and we took a lot of photos, shared experiences, and had lots of fun. We refreshed ourselves with soda drinks and puffs sponsored by yours truly and Ngoenyi. We left at 7 pm the new users really enjoyed themselves and asked meetup should be held frequently.

17 users turn-up excluding 2 Steem babies 😜 among them was @ngoenyi, @udyliciouz, @manuelhooks, @bossj23, @okere-blessing, @bela90, @etete, @samuelnkenta, @fortwis09, @wizzyboy3, @jozzie90 , @uduak123, @basil20 etc.

I hope Nigerians will grow stronger again, I just hope we can take back our lost glory, I'm just hoping!

Sort:  
 9 months ago 

Yeah, definitely Nigerian will grow. I enjoy the meeting a lot. Though it was fun but I really appreciate the advice, strength and encouragement I got from the meeting. I don't think I have a regret of attending the meeting. And now, I get to know most of the thing that was discussed before I arrived from this summary.

Thank you very much for organizing this meeting. Looking forward to see you and others steemian soon.

 9 months ago 

Thank you so much too dear, surely there was an interchange of encouragement, yeah I can't wait for the next one!

 9 months ago 

Thank you @stef1

Loading...

Nice meetup

I just hope we can take back our lost glory, I'm just hoping!

I wasn't in steemit then, please can you tell how Nigeria steemians were before?

 9 months ago 

It was a wonderful moment that we had. Thank you for explaining those points. The turnup was encouraging too. I wish we can have this meetups more often

 9 months ago 

Absolutely! Thank you so much for your contribution you spice up everything.

 9 months ago 

The memories of this day still reflect as it's present.
I'll say that it' was an honor being with everyone present, the teaching, the importance and needs was worth everything. The memories has proven to me the great project I'm in to and I promise to replicate and implement them wisely.
Thanks 🙏

 9 months ago 

Great! Thank you so much too for coming around it was amazing and I hope to see you again.

 9 months ago 

The meaning was awesome, we had funs

It is good to see members like this meet up to show some love for each other. With this you take advantage to promote steemit to others who have not heard about it. Great work.

Greetings.

 9 months ago 

Thank you 🙏 it was so refreshing and we hope to be meeting like this from time to time. I appreciate your visit!

Sure and i hope so too.

It is a pleasure

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @scilwa, which is a curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community. We can also be found on our hive community & peakd as well as on my Discord Server

Manually curated by @ abiga554
r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Felicitaciones, su publication ha sido votado por @scilwa. También puedo ser encontrado en nuestra comunidad de colmena y Peakd así como en mi servidor de discordia

 9 months ago 

Thank you 🙏

The quest to take back Nigeria is our core priority. I must have missed meeting these wonderful faces but I was briefed of the meetup and I have learnt a whole lot.

Thank you for this beautiful vision for Nigerians on Steemit.

 9 months ago 

It's heartwarming to hear about your successful steemians meetup in Akwa ibom,the emphasis on engagement, and responsible use of the platform is essential for everyones growth. You are indeed a good leader,i hope to be like you too by not giving up that easily👌

 9 months ago 

You make me smile 🤗 Thank you so much for the compliment, the meeting was timely and we hope to grow. Yeah consistency is the key to success and I hope to meet you one day. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69557.92
ETH 3792.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52