Counting My Eggs

in Steem4Nigeria5 months ago

eggs-7138757_1280.jpg
Expectation

Counting My Eggs


Have you ever found yourself counting your eggs before? If yes, how do you feel when it didn't go as counted.


Yes I have counted real chicken eggs and I have also hastily predicted success in some of my activities. Our fowl lay 10 eggs and I had started seeing 10 chicks following her around for my mind.
When it hatched, two eggs failed and among the eight chicks that hatched, one died in the first three week and we now have a hen with seven chicks. This is what helped me understand the idiom of egg counting.

When I started working as a teacher in a private school, I had my hopes up too high. I was counting my eggs before it hatched and made plans of what to do and buy with the salary I will be paid. I did not factor in the fact that some months, salary will be owed.
When the time came, my plans failed and I could not do all the things I had planned. I felt serious disappointment.

How do you handle the idea of counting your eggs before they hatch on Steemit? Do you set realistic expectations or take risks?


It is very easy to count your eggs on steemit. After writing a post and feeling it will be among hot posts, people start commenting and saying "this post was perfectly written, wishing you success in contest"
When this enters your head and you start expecting that you will make it big with the post.
With this type of high expectation on each post, believing that sc-01 will vote this engagement challange and I will have 7 SBD from it.

blackbird-nest-2206124_1280.jpg4 eggs not four birds

To be realistic on steemit, it is what I get when the post pay out that is my own. It is not realistic to put all hope in one post. If I post with consistency, one day when my Steem power is ripe and my reputation is good, I will be recognized. From how I am going now, I should make it in 3 to 4 years of work.

How does counting your eggs apply to life outside of Steemit? Have you learned any lessons about being cautious or optimistic?


As I said it earlier, I have counted real and virtual eggs in the real world. I even start seeing myself buying things. And accomplishing plans. All because my first two salary was paid in full and on time. After that it was debts, part payments and salary arias.
I learned that I don't have to celebrate too soon. I should only plan with things I am sure.

Should you focus more on the effort you put in or the potential rewards on Steemit or any platform?


Working hard is not a guarantee that we will succeed so we should not focus on the effort we invested as of it was a guarantee that it will have success.
We plant crops and we know that not all will germinate. Some will die away.
Simply because we put our effort to write a post is not assurance that it will be voted.

How do you balance ambition and counting your eggs? Any strategies for managing expectations while pursuing goals?


Always try to make sure your expectations are realistic. Acknowledging that sometimes things don't just workout as planned or as expected.
Too much optimism needs to be corrected with proper realistic expectations.
Make sure your expectations are SMART
• Specific
• Measurable
• Achievable
• Relevant
• Timely

Being too optimistic in our expectation will make us expect results that are not achievable in the available time. Our expectation should be measurable so that when we achieve it, we will know we have.

Conclusion


Being positive about the future is good but is should be controlled by a realistic view of such possibilities. When hopping that things come out well, we also realize that expectation may fail us.
Wishing alone can not make things happen because if wishes were jeeps, buggers would drive them.


Thanks for reading my post I'm inviting @eliany, @bela90 and @goodybest

Read my introduction here in
my achievement 1

Sort:  
 5 months ago 

You're right, being positive and hopeful is like an anchor ⚓ the hold us, but then we need to be realistic not overly excited so that we don't get disappointed woefully. Good posts!

try and engage meaningfully with fellow users, comment and upvote on their post, as this will help you to have good Voting CSI.

 5 months ago 

Thank you, I am commenting and voting.

 5 months ago 

Thank you for sharing your experience in the "Counting My Eggs" contest. Your reflection on both real-life and virtual "egg counting" experiences provides valuable insight into managing expectations and being realistic, both on Steemit and in other aspects of life. Your emphasis on setting realistic goals, acknowledging the uncertainties, and focusing on consistent effort rather than immediate rewards resonates with many individuals navigating their journeys on Steemit and beyond. Best of luck to you, and I hope your entry inspires others to reflect on their own experiences.

 4 months ago 

I never counted eggs except those after the egg hunt. Once one missed and I found it back after 1 year (good it was a chocolate one).

Great you said what I think and say: a good post is no guarantee for an upvote. Most post of mine do not even receive $1. I earn more with doing nothing. 🤣

Good luck, you are a good writer and deserve to be read. It would be a good thing if people make a habit out of upvoting.

👍👋🍀❤️

 4 months ago 

Oh, I can totally relate to that, my friend. When you start working, it's natural to get excited and start imagining all the things you'll do with your salary. But sometimes, unexpected things happen. It can be a real bummer when our plans don't work out as we hoped. I can understand the disappointment you felt. Just remember, setbacks happen to all of us, and it's important to stay positive and adaptable. Keep pushing forward, and things will get better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65725.20
ETH 3370.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63