Steem4nigeria Accelerator Contest Week 61: Is formal education the only path to financial freedom?

in Steem4Nigeria2 days ago

Introduction

When I was a little girl, we were told that education was the key. What kind of key if I may ask? My father said to me adiaha, education is the key to success. He said, when I'm educated, that I will be rich, respected by people and I will also be attracted to wealthy people. With that, my husband will give him a big bride price. He even said he would use my bride's price to buy a brand new (tear rubber) car.

source

Hilarious, right? No, it's not funny. As a little girl, I made up my mind that I must be educated to make my father proud. I was so focused on my education till a lot of people in my little village noticed and testified to it. Now, is education truly the key? Let's find out.


Must you have a degree before you have a well paying job? Explain with experiences if any

When talking about paid jobs, to my understanding, a paid job is a formal job. And before you can be well paid in such jobs, you need a good level of education to be employed in any of these big organisations. For instance, if you desire to work with the United Nations and big companies such as those in oil and gas and other sectors, you need to be well-educated to be paid a good amount of money.

That's to say that if you're not educated, you're an unskilled worker who may have little or no education at all. And, that's because you have little or no education, you may also be paid a minimal amount too.

On the other hand, there are people who do not work for anyone, but they have good businesses which they manage and earn as much as those working in big organisations. I hope you know that big businesses such as this aren't just a day's job, it has taken so much planning, effective management and so much funding invested into it.

startup-849804_640.jpgsource


Is the contest title trying to condemn education?

In my opinion, this topic is not trying to condemn education. It is to encourage young people to go into learning a skill while pursuing education in order not to begin searching for work after school. I also believe that it is to enlighten people about the need to be business oriented and not to depend on"white collar" jobs which are no longer available as they used to be and sometimes not paid as well.


Is it dangerous to have the view that you can only make money after schooling?

Oh yes, it is very dangerous to believe that money-making should be after schooling. That reminds me how my mother pleaded with me to learn and acquire a sewing skill before going to the university. I refused, thinking I can always make money when I'm done with my education. That's because I had the mentality that "education is the key" according to my daddy.

Today, I regret not learning the skill. My younger sister, who grabbed the opportunity and went to learn sewing, has been surviving pretty well for years now. While I am with my "certificate" for going to school, I'm jumping from one private job to another trying to make ends meet since I don't have money to establish my dream business.

child-1073638_640.jpgsource

I'll conclusively state that education is good but making money early enough is the best option for anyone, not until after schooling.


How has steemit proven that you must not finish school before you start making money?

Ah! Steemit is a platform that has helped young people to invest in their future. The best part of it is that it doesn't stress one making money from it, you do it at your own pace and in the niche that interests you most. This has helped people to invest in their future even while schooling, to the point that they may not be searching for a job after school. The Steemit platform has helped them to earn and also invest at the same time, not necessarily until you graduate before you can earn from steemit.

Education is the key, money is the way!

@missyleo
@chilaw
@chima09

Sort:  

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 11 hours ago 

This your father and my father seems to be brothers because their ways of thinking coincide... He will tell me,

"Love you will go to school because I wasn't opportune to go so you have to go".

I can remember during my holidays period in my hometown, my mum will always ask me to go with her to the market to help her sell, meanwhile she had her motive, because there's a company in my hometown, and all the workers there speak English all through, they goes to the market everyday to purchase some items, my mum find it difficult to communicate with them using English except for the ones that speaks Hausa and Igbo language before my mum can flow well with them since she understands the language...
So whenever I follow my mum to the market she will now tell me, my daughter go and sell to them, make sure you speak English with them, 🤣 I will just smile.

Now here I am with my certificates lieing flat in my box without using it to get the money I always dream of...🤔

But in all this education is good because it has so open my eyes to so many things, and I am proud of myself for being educated even when I'm yet to get my dream job or business of my own, I am still pushing amd i will get there.

 23 hours ago 

Thank you for publishing an article in the Steem4nigeria community today. We have assessed your entry and we present the result of our assessment below.

CriteriaRemark
Verified User
#steemexclusive
Plagiarism Free
AI Free
Bot Free
Review Date01/10/2024

MODs Comment/Recommendation:
Thank you for participating in this contest. It's definitely true that steemit has helped a lot of people me inclusive. Best wishes

Remember to always share your post on Twitter using these 3 main tags #steem #steemit $steem

Hi, Endeavor to join the #Nigeria-trail for more robust support in the community. Click the link Nigeria-trail

Guide to join

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61825.46
ETH 2454.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60