Steem4Nigeria Engagement Challenge Season 5, Week 1 - Elections In My Country - By @Chiomzy810

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago
Hello friends!, Am deeply excited to participate in this contest as it have really hungered me to discuss about my country electoral system of governance. I will be dropping my entry and also hope to participate in more of it's kind and it's be a pleasure to read yours too.


Screenshot_20221016-144659~2.png



image.png

ELECTION

image.png

Election can be described as a formal group decision making process whereby a person is being selexted for public office. In this case election make a fundamental contribution to democratic governance.



image.png

ELECTIONS IN MY COUNTRY

image.png

Tell Us The Governance Type In Your Country And How Effective You Think It Has Been In Running The Country's Affairs.

My country Nigeria have been practicing the Democratic Dystem of Governance which have been fragile and fluctuating since the time of Independence. Nigeria democracy also has a long and troubling relationship with it's military, we have been under military rule instead of civilian administration for more than half of it's existence as an independent state. It was officially declared that Nigeria became democratic on its Independence from Britain in 1960

There have been an effective result attached to the governance type of my country; there's a tolerance to different and opposing ideas, in equity: they get to value all the people and support them to reach their desired potential. There's also freedom of speech to every citizen , freedom of belief, movement and association. Justice is not left out as every citizen are been treated fairly in society and in court.



What Are The Election Method Employed In Your Country And Do You Consider Them Effective? Do You Also Participate In The Exercise?

Nigerians votes on the federal level, that is the head of state (the President of Nigeria) and then the legislature (the National Assembly). The president gets elected by the people. Meanwhile the national assembly has two chambers which is the House of Representatives that occupies 360 members, elected for a four year term in a single-user constituencies while the Senate has over 109 members to elect for a four year term. The 36 States of Nigeria are divided into three senatorial districts which has one senator in each state.

There have been an effective action in the system whereby the People's Democratic Party (PDP) have been in control of the presidency since elections in 1999 until 2015 when Muhammadu Buhari Wikipedia the presidency election which haven't been that favourable to some citizens mostly the easterners and southerners . I have not participated in any electoral activities before but am preparing to get my Personal voters Card (PVC) inorder to vote out my favorite candidate for the next year's election.



Share Your Recent Experience In Participating In One. Rate The Process- Fair, Good, OR Bad.

There's no recent experience of mine participating in an electoral exercise although am on it to get my PVC to vote the candidate of my choice in 2023. But the last election that took place in my country wasn't favourable at all because there was a military attachment to voting to a particular party /candidate and that's why I have to prepare and get my voters card to elect my desired candidate. I rate the last election in my country as Fair.



Would You Suggest A Method Of Electing Leaders To Power? Discuss Your Method.

In my suggestion I would love to initiate the Plurality Voting which is a system where candidate with the greater number if vote wins, with no requirement to get a majority of votes. This system is often time refered to as first-past-the-post or winner take-all. This voting system is mostly prevalent in the United States and it works fine and perfectly for them that is why I want that same method followed in my country.

Plurality Voting is also uses to elect members of a legislative assembly which is also prevalent still among the US state and also in the lower house of india. The proponents of electoral reform generally brag and argue against Plurality Voting system which they use in the favour of either other single winner systems.



Would You Prefer Other Forms Of Governance Different From The One You Have Already And Why?

I would have loved to go For another form of governance but I strongly stick to Plurality Voting which is the method my country should adapt and make voting easy without crisis.



CONCLUSION:
99pyU5Ga1kwqSXWA2evTexn6YzPHotJF8R85JZsErvtTWYdszct73zRjyzfL7TYGa4Tmt8fACiJJ1tscfzYSQKhfYnhzjeY42Vv5y3ubriPSUWcawak7B1RbLqyyS12rHU.png

Democracy which is the most practiced in my country have really gone along way. It has indeed given its citizen right to be part of the system and also practice what is in it. This contest contains alot exposure and I have learnt more of my Country's electoral system.

I invite @joymm, @noraandy and @wirngo to participate.

10% Payout To @Steem4nigeria

Cc:

@steem4nigeria

Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited)

I can say all African countries are facing the problem of corruption during election where are a particular party fraud inorder to win .I pray things in trans piracy and real person should came to power by merit .

I pray so too dear. Thank you for visiting

 2 years ago 

Hey friend,

Election can be described as a formal group decision making process whereby a person is being selexted for public office. In this case election make a fundamental contribution to democratic governance.

This is true friend electoral process are used to determine new political positions in organization, nation or any reasonable gathering. You wrote awesomely sir I love your creativity.

Thank you very much for sharing, please you can check my own entry here

wishing you success

Exactly and I wish everything will normalize

Hello friend,
Elections in our countries are always conditional with funny attachments. Sometimes we get to wait so long under the sun just to cast a vote. My country also practice the democratic system of governance. i will chose the democratic system of governance over the others because it gives everyone a voice.

Thank you for sharing

Thank you dearie, I appreciate

Loading...

Nigeria my beautiful country is currently governed by corrupt leaders, making the it look as if the democratic form of government isn't reliable. Hopefully we get it right come February 2023, hope you have gotten your PVC. I love the way you write, keep up with the good work and goodluck in this contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63