AFRICAN VOODOO AND FOLKLORE—A SUCCINCT SUMMARY OF GWO GWO GWO NGWO

in Steem4Nigeria2 months ago (edited)
Introduction

Folklore and voodoo is an integral part of african culture and thus cannot be overemphasized.As a child, I grew up in an environment where these mythic tales were told as if it all happened a day before.
For the sake of this article I will be explaining the folktale in the song of the legendary Nigerian artist Mike Ejeagha.

The global Internet has been on fire following the release of a comic video by one of Nigeria's famous comedian with the name Brainjotter.
The video featured Brainjotter and his colleague walking and shaking their waist to a folklore embedded highlife music by Nigerian popular artist Mike Ejeagha.

The Igbo tribe is the major tribe of south eastern Nigeria.
His songs were made and written in Igbo language.
In Igbo culture, the tortoise is regarded as a very intelligent animal while the lion is seen as the king of the forest.

source

The mystic art and music behind voodoo practices and folklore tales is quite lovable if you understand the proverbs being used during the course of its exhibitions.This proverbs elucidate the belief of the land and further reiterate the awesomeness of the powers at hand.

Enyi ga abu onye isi oche" (Elephant will be the chairman of the occasion)

This is one of the songs in his album "Enyi ga achi" (meaning Elephant will rule).
I will be using closed brackets to write the English meaning of the lyrics in his song.

Quotable Lyrics Of The Song

Gwo gwo gwo ngwo
Ka ana kpo chairman
Gwo gwo gwo ngwo x3
Nna m Eze akpata m enyi x2
Nwa mbe isi ni kpata onye?
Asi m ani ya dube enyi chebe enyi
Nwa mbe isi ni kpata onye?
Asi m ani ya dube enyi chebe enyi
Odi ka asi nkpata m onye x2
Akwa enyi ga abu isi oche x2
Enyi naga na anyi so gi nazu x2
source

In this album, he told a tale of mbe (tortoise) and Enyi(elephant). In his song, the wise tortoise deceived the almighty elephant and used it as a bait to marrying the Lion's daughter who was the King at that time.

Main Story In The Song

Many suitors came to marry the kings daughter
both big and small animals but she refused to marry any of them.

A day came, her father (the lion) summoned her and her siblings for them to help him convince her to choose a suitor.
This is when Adaeze (princess) told the king (lion) that any man that will be her husband must be able to bring an elephant (enyi) to her traditional wedding so that the villagers will know she is powerful.

Meanwhile, (mbe) the tortoise had come for her hand in marriage but the king pursued him away.

After, hearing the kings daughter's proclamation, the tortoise (mbe) was very happy because elephant was his best friend.
However, the tortoise(mbe) knew that the elephant will not agree to be his best man because the elephant (enyi) also had interest in the kings daughter.
So it was a game of who is more clever to convince the elephant.

The tortoise (mbe) went to the king and announced a date for his bridal introduction and wedding.
The king and his cabinet laughed because they didn't believe he could bring the elephant (enyi) to his occasion.
The tortoise (mbe) on the other hand had told the elephant (enyi) that the king (lion) is hosting an "OFALA FESTIVAL" and wants him to be the chairman of the occasion (enyi ga abu onye isi oche).

The elephant (enyi) agreed and followed the tortoise (mbe) to the kings house.
On their way, the tortoise (mbe) began to walk sluggishly and this made the elephant (enyi) to tell the tortoise (mbe) to climb his back so they can reach on time.
But the tortoise (mbe) told the elephant (enyi) that he was too tall for him to climb and thus needed him to tie a rope on his neck and lay it down for him to use and climb on his back.

The elephant (enyi) did what the tortoise (mbe) requested and they started moving with the heavy sound coming from the elephants leg recorded as

"GWO GWO GWO NGWO".

When they reached the kings palace gate,
The tortoise shouted Nna m Eze akpata m enyi (which means "O king I have brought the elephant for you").
And the king replied Nwa mbe isi ni kpata onye (which means "small tortoise who did you say you brought")
In order for the elephant not to catch the event and know he was being deceived.
The tortoise replied the king Asi m ani ya dube enyi chebe enyi
Odi ka asi nkpata m onye
(I said ani (earth god) should guide and protect enyi (elephant) but it sounded like I said I have brought the elephant for you 😂).

And the tortoise (mbe) ended his speech with Akwa enyi ga abu isi oche
Enyi naga na anyi so gi nazu
(The elephant must be the chairman of the occasion, O elephant keep moving I am with you).
And the sound of their leg walk recorded as GWO GWO GWO NGWOR.

They finally got to the Palace and the tortoise handed the elephant to the King and got his daughter as a price for his prowess.

moral of the song

Be watchful of the kind of friends you follow at all times.

Finally I wish to happily announce that I have started a witness node on steemit with my username @chibuzorwisdom.

I am currently low on the witness ranking, you can only vote me directly using AUTOSTEEM or by going to your wallet and typing my name in the space provided as shown in the screenshot below

Screenshot_2024-07-26-09-37-04-47_40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12.jpg

It will cost you absolutely no steem to vote.
Voting cost nothing and only takes one minute.
Please take a moment of your time and vote me to reach top 100 on steem rank.

I am dedicated to giving my best to the steem blockchain and the world at Large.
Help me and let's promote steem in Africa.
Your vote counts ✅✅✅
Thank you 🙏.

Sort:  
 last month (edited)

@chibuzorwisdom, I like to support genuine developments in the Steemit blog to the fullest extent.

I see you aspire to be a Steem witness..., but a Steem witness must be exemplary. And have full knowledge on how Steem works.

Why are you using #steemexclusive when you had posted this same content on Blurt.blog?

And that particular information is not yours either... see the Source

https://blurt.blog/blurt-131902/@chibuzorwisdom/3bjcyq-african-folklore-and-voodoo-a-review-of-gwo-gwo-gwo-ngwor

And Hive

https://hive.blog/hive-11060/@chibuzorwisdom/african-folklore-and-voodoo-a-review-of-gwo-gwo-gwo-ngwor-6ne

@sahmie, maybe you should recheck this link and others in the future. This is not #steemexclusive content.

Ohhh thank you for the enlightenment.
I welcome your corrections.

Next time I will use the tag when my content is only posted on steemit.

Once again I thank you 🙏

 last month 

Actually as at the time of my review I am certain it was exclusive. Because this post was made 8 days ago whereas the ones from the links provided are all 5 days ago. That's exactly 3 days after my review.

IMG_20240808_203645.jpgIMG_20240808_203614.jpg

Hence, there was no way I was going to review same post twice. It was a systematic approach and not a deliberate mistake from me. Thank you for the heads up though.

 last month 

Thank you for the heads up though.

This would do.

Yes you are right.
I posted on the sister blockchains few days after I saw a comment on Facebook where someone was asking the meaning of the song lyrics.
So I felt my post would be beneficial to people on other blockchains.
So i take full responsibility brother.

I am happy with the corrections too.
I was away from steemit for a while.
I used the tag because I do see it in many post but I know the true meaning now.
Thank you.
Thank you all for the enlightenment @ubongudofot and @sahmie

Loading...

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Always use the hashtag #steem #steemit $steem along side the title of your post when promoting your article on Twitter.

Okay 👍

Thanks for the heads up

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60181.17
ETH 2419.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44