Steemit Engagement Challenge S2W3 | Steem4Nigeria Contest: Prepare or Promote any Recipe that is Peculiar to your Country

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago

20220624_062305.jpg

Hello members of Steem 4 Nigeria. How are you all doing today?. It's a pleasure to take part in this week's steemit engagement challenge in this community. For the purpose of this week's challenge, I will be sharing one of the recipe that is peculiar in my country (Nigeria). This food recipe is called Boli (Roasted plantain).

Boli and Its Brief History

Roasted plantain is one of the native dish in Nigeria, and it is being called "Boli" in South West part of Nigeria. This food can be prepared with both ripe and unripe plantain. In the south west part of Nigeria this food is serves with groundnut where it was originated while in the south South Part of Nigeria, it is serve with roasted fish or fried fish .
The name Boli is a Yoruba language; since the name was originated, it has been the popular name for this delicacy through out Nigeria. This special delicacy became popular on the street. It is the most common food on the street sold by small scale traders. Although it can also be made at home and well serve to your taste.

Do you think you can do without taking Boli for some days?

No, I don't think so. I could only stayed for 2 weeks without taking Boli then because of the stress of going out to get some. I love home made foods, since I discovered another simple method of roasting plantain with a frying pan, I think I can only do without it for few days (2 to 4).

How to prepare Boli

Ingredients;

  • Plantain
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Onions
  • Native nutmeg
  • Palm oil
  • Maggi
  • Fish
  • Spices

Like I said earlier that we have two methods of serving this delicacy. I will be sharing methods of preparation for the plantain, sauce and roasted fish. Let's see the steps below,

Step 1
Wash the plantain properly, peel off the coat, slit on each side and then sprinkle a little salt water on it.

Step 2
Set your charcoal grill in a metal stand and place the plantain on the grill rack

IMG_20211121_162912_857.jpg

Step 3
Keep monitoring the plantain until it's done.

IMG_20211121_173821_930.jpg

Preparation of Fish

Wash, cut your fish into pieces (your desired sizes), add spices to it and then place them on the grill rack.

IMG_20211121_152648_961.jpg

IMG_20211121_162651_755.jpg

How to make Pepper sauce

Steps

  • Put palm oil in the pot
  • Add your onions and pepper (Blended)
  • Add salt and cubes to taste
  • Add native nutmeg
  • Let it boil until the water in it dries off

IMG_20211121_151953_563.jpg

Note: The water used in blending the onions and fresh pepper needs to dry off.

IMG_20220129_101557_147.jpg
Ready to be served

My Recommendation

Boli has some health benefits and it does not have any side effects; it can be eaten as breakfast, Lunch and also dinner. Boli is one food that hinders the damage of kidney and bladder because plantain has source of dietary fibre content and vitamin C . So therefore, I recommend this delicious delicacy to every steemian to give a try. Thank you!!!

I'm inviting @madilyn02 @reinamia @ijebest to participate in the challenge as well.

Sort:  
Loading...
 2 years ago 

Grilled plantain is one of the most representative dishes of Nigerian cuisine.

Thank you for showing us your way of preparing the Boli, as this dish is known.

It looks like it was really delicious. I hope one day I can try it.

Successes in the contest

 2 years ago 

Yes, it was really delicious 🤗
Thank you for engaging.

wow this is a good looking recipe. I'm sure this will cost some cash to prepare.
I hope I can have a taste of it one day

Good Job and I wish you luck

 2 years ago 

It doesn't cost much. It depends on the quantity you want. Sure, you can have a taste 😄
Thank you for visiting my blog.

 2 years ago 

Wow, please come let's just get married. I can't help but notice that i am already salivating. I have not tried this recipe before but with the steps you have given alongside the ingredients you used to make this, I will sure give it a try soon. Seriously we don't get to sew this in culinary school. A brilliant job so far dear, i do love this. Wish you goodluck!

 2 years ago 

Hahaha... funny you!
Yeah, it's a simple recipe and the steps are easy to follow. In case you have difficulties in getting charcoal, you can use oven instead.

Thank you for reading, I appreciate.

 2 years ago 

What about in a situation whereby i began to miss the steps, how do i get you to help me out ?

I don't want a scenario whereby i will be making that and then the end product will be discouraging oh hahaha.

 2 years ago 

Laughs. Don't worry about that, I believe you'll end well.
Here's my discord adresss: Adylinah#6334

Woow this is great my dear. You have told us a brief history of Boli recipe and it's health benefits to man. You went as far as preparing a Boli dish by showing us the various steps. The recipé looks extremely delicious and I am salivating right now. Please when next you are preparing this you let me know so that I can pay you a visit

 2 years ago 

Thank you very much for engaging. Sure, I will buzz you up when I prepare Boli next time.

 2 years ago 

My favorite bole, thank you for showing us how to prepare it

 2 years ago 

My pleasure friend!🤗

The recipe you shared with us today is very tempting to look at and I have never seen or eaten such a recipe before but you have presented it very nicely and it looks like it will be very tasty to eat. Thank you so much Share it with us.

 2 years ago 

Sure, it's very tasty to eat. Thank you very much for visiting.

Oh my God I'm salivating, please where will I find you I need to eat this

 2 years ago 

Uyo, Akwa Ibom State, Nigeria ma😄
Thank you for visiting.

Thank you for contributing to #LearnWithSteem theme. This post has been upvoted by @fabio2614 using @steemcurator09 account. We encourage you to keep publishing quality and original content in the Steemit ecosystem to earn support for your content.

Club Status: #club5050

Sevengers Comment GIF.gif

Regards,
Team #Sevengers

 2 years ago 

Thank you for the support.

Plantain and red oil is really common amongst the Oroko people in my country. Here we just grill the Platains, warm red oil and put salts in it and that's all. It's really tasty though, we call it fofiyoh.

But this boli ehhh its like the android version of fofiyoh 😅😅😅😅

 2 years ago 

Nice to know that you have a brother to Boli called "fofiyoh"😄

Thank you friend for engaging 🤗

You are welcome my friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58391.36
ETH 2348.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36