SECS 8 Week 4: The mental health of a content creator

in STEEMIT HEALTHlast year


Flickr

When a writer picks up the pen, the ink never dries until the final dot is made. This is one phrase I have always said to myself whenever I pick up my pen to write, also when you do something you love, it will be considered fun but when you do what you are compelled to, it becomes work. I started writing unofficially when I was 6 years old. I loved writing and using words. I would write poems, as well as create fictional stories where I would explain every character specifically. Writing has been a thing of fun for me as a passion, just as I love helping people in healthcare.

In College, I began to write as a freelancer for people, and it was a source of income for me, In college when I read very technical health-related topics, I decide to create a story around it to make it very easy to understand. So writing has been a part of me, and that was why I was eager to join Steemit when I was told about it.



How do you feel when creating content? Is it a pleasant experience for you or, on the contrary, does it generate anxiety and discouragement?



Writing is an exercise of the soul where the brain creates the content, but the mind put in the emotion, the gesture, and the humor. Even people who do copywriting put their minds to it, so it is no doubt that writing is a product of the soul. For me, writing is therapeutic as it helps me pour out my mind onto the paper (do not mind me, I am used to using the words "Ink" and "paper" even when it is now keyboard and screen). Personally, I am a very reserved person who does not like to meddle in things I am not concerned with. I find it very difficult to talk but I find it very easy to use my pen to express my pen. Like I always say, a bleeding pen tells the heart of the writer.

For me, writing is fun and enjoyable. I feel relaxed after pouring out my entire mind into a paper, it really helps me not think about what I write. I always love the ride from my very first letter, to my final full stop, do I will say that writing doesn't make me feel anxious, nor do I feel discouraged to start writing. There are times when I stay awake all night just to write because I love it, like now when the time is 2:01 AM, in my country and I am still writing.



Have you ever felt mentally exhausted by generating content on a daily basis? Tell us about your experience



If you haven't had writer's block while writing, then you haven't truly written something. Even great writers like Arundhati Roy, J. K. Rowling and Stephen King usually have writer's block. At this point, you are exhausted and there are no words to express how you feel, or your mind cannot create a new picture for you to express in writing.

On Steemit, this hasn't happened to me, because I haven't had a reason to write fiction, suspense, crime, or science-fiction which can go up to thirty thousand words, but I had a writer's block experience at one time when I was in school. I was freelancing for someone who wanted to publish a book (there are a lot of writers who cannot sit down to compose a sentence but then, they publish books). In chapter 6, I was blank. She told me what she wanted, I already had a framework and I already had continuity, but I wanted to create double suspense in one chapter and then puff, I was lost. My head went blank for days, and every spoon of honey I took looked like my brain wasn't going to resuscitate to its previous mode. It took me days away from writing and more on academics, outings, and relaxation to get myself back. I remember that it was a cup of Ice Cream and what the Seller said that kickstarted my creativity on that writing.



What do you feel when your content is not valued as you expect it to be? Does this affect you mentally?



The word Value goes beyond upvotes or financial reward. Content is valued when people are able to read it and leave comments. The comments can be appraisal or constructive criticism, and as a writer, I am open to both. If anyone says they do not feel down when their efforts are not appreciated or shown a level of valuation, then such people have tortoise shell back and a rocky heart. Humans are naturally allowed to feel down when they are not valued, it is just psychology but what keeps them going is the bright side, or motivation that things will get better. Getting an upvote is just one way to give a post value, but beyond the upvote, having traction where people can interact with the posts means a lot.

Actually, I watch my mental health a lot, and as I said previously that writing for me is therapeutic, so I am just happy anytime I am able to create content, and keep hoping that soon my content will get traction, and the value it deserves.



What would be your recommendations for a content creator to keep a healthy mind?



On Steemit, it can be very difficult to get traction if you decide to act as a lone wolf. You should see Steemit as the social media platform that it is, and meet people. When you finish creating your content, take time to go through other people's content and leave comments on their posts. While most of them will not come to your post to leave a comment at first encounter, your name is registered in their mind, and the next time you leave a comment on such a user's post, the user might be compelled to check yours. Gradually you are building a network, and giving your content a chance to get traction and value.

Do not see Steemit as a Get Rich Quick Scheme, it requires long-term investing, and consistency. Also, it is important to know that everything that comes out of your brain through your mind in writing is valuable. Never measure how valuable your content is by votes, although it is important, but when the vote is not coming, look at the fact that you were able to add your knowledge to the blockchain.



With this, I have come to the end of this entry. I will like to invite @samminator, @okere-blessing @talktofaith @preye2, @simonnwigwe, and @lavanyalakshman.

Here is the link to my introduction post

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Thanks for your continuous support. I am grateful

Loading...

We should not always look up to rewards while creating posts although they are necessary, creating contents with our brain is really good as it helps to keep our body and soul warm and free from stress.

Exactly. I can say that not everyone is a writer, but loving it will make it easy and fun.

Let me start by commending your effort to present this interesting and educative content with us dear friend.
I could relate to most of the point you have shared with us today, and I completely agree with you.

The valuation of post goes beyond Upvote, and it's more of users reading and appreciating even with comments.

Thanks for sharing and goodluck in this contest friend.

Exactly, values should not be based on post upvotes because upvotes alone without other interactions on posts is just farming of posts and that's not value.

Greetings friend. This is indeed a very commendable effort. Your insight on the mental of a content creator is a pleasure to read.

Your highlights on how to improve are also very much on point. Thank you for blessing our lives with it.

Thanks a lot for this impressive comment, I hope to read your entry.


This post has been upvoted through Steemcurator09.

Congratulations! (1).png


Curated by - @radjasalman

Thanks for the support, I am utmostly greatful

If there is anything I got from your entry it would be this" writing is an excercise of the soul" this hits me well.

Hahaha interesting! Steemit is not a lone wolf I got that too. It's a social media. So meet people, get friendly, chat or discuss!

Great entry

Exactly. Thanks a lot for spending time to read my post, this means a lot to me since I am just starting out in the community and hope to grow on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63122.79
ETH 3119.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86