SECS 8 Week 4: The mental health of a content creator

in STEEMIT HEALTHlast year



Image and Text Divider Source

The mental health of a content creator. What an awesome topic for all Steemians as we are all content creators.

I am convinced that reading all the entries to this challenge will give us the required “fuel” just to get going again.

It is of utmost importance that we understand what mental health is. How we feel, act, think, and face the difficulties of life determine our mental health.
We can describe mental health with three words;
• Logic
• Behavior
• Emotional well-being

When we experience feelings of loss, sleeping problems, no interest, stress, and even unhappiness, it can be the impact of a mental “disease”.

Believe it or not, there is a significant connection between mental health and physi¬cal health. Poor mental health can cause us to experience low energy levels which will result in no physical activity, poor eating and drinking habits which will result in gaining weight, obesity, chronic conditions, and not enough sleep which can increase the risk of health problems.

Your mental health counts!

image.png

The feelings I experience when I write content

Again we are all unique and the feelings we experience when we write content will differ. I gladly share my feelings with you.

🖈My 1st feeling… LOVE!

I always say that I don’t like cricket, I LOVE cricket.

Well, the same goes for writing.
I don’t like writing… I LOVE writing.

Just last week I wrote the following in one of my posts.

“I love it to sit in front of my computer in the early hours of the morning. The household is all quiet, even the dogs are still sleeping. All that I can hear is my fingers on the keyboard.”

Frédéric Chopin (composer and pianist) said, “I tell my piano the things I used to tell you.”
Well, this is me, “I tell my keyboard the things I want to tell you.”

🖈 My 2nd feeling… Anxiety and discouragement

Make no mistake even though I love writing there are times that even I feel anxiety and discouragement. This makes me a true author as 99,9% of authors sometime in their life go through the same “Writing anxiety” experience.

This normally happens to me when I am not familiar with the topic I have to write about.

Authors must often place themselves in their own little world, living the post, and then express themselves in words. At times this is not an easy task especially if you must write about feelings or happenings you rather want to forget. Our thoughts are often dark which can cause a feeling of anxiety, discouragement and even being depressed.

🖈 My 3rd feeling… Being stuck!

This is the term “writer's block” which authors are too familiar with. You are busy writing a post and then, all of a sudden you don’t know what comes next. Best of all, the harder you try difficulties just increase.

This normally happens when I “try too hard” and I feel that my work is not good enough. Self-criticism is to be blamed for me getting stuck.

🖈 My 4th feeling – Pride!

Oh gosh, what a feeling it is when you write that last word and you know that you have written something good. Pride overrides the feeling of elated by far.

The cherry on the cake is then also when you see readers enjoying what you have written.

Remember, as an author we share our stories with the big wide world. We are in a position to educate, inspire and uplift others which is extremely rewarding.

We are allowed to give ourselves a pad on the back and say, “Job well done!”

P rofessionalism
R espect
I ntegrity
D iversity and
E xcellence

image.png

Have I ever felt mentally exhausted by generating content daily?

And my answer is… YES!

It is called “Author time”. Most of us try to do as much as possible in a short period. We also find it difficult to say no to more responsibilities. Soon we find ourselves burned out and left feeling all miserable.

There was a time, here on Steemit, when I had to take a step back. I had to ask myself the following questions;
· Who am I?
· What do I want in life?
· What is important for me?
· What is important for my family?
· What is my purpose?

Not only was it difficult for me to post every day as a result of being too involved with other things on Steemit but it also put a lot of pressure on my life outside Steemit.

I had to make a decision and I wrote the following post;

At first, I felt terrible, yes, I even cried and I shared with some of my Steemian friends.

I felt like a failure but at the same time, it was as if a big pressure was removed from my shoulders.

In the end and with a bit of help from my friends, I figured out what was best for me, best for my family, and I put us first.

Today I can help where I can, I can write when I can, and if I miss a day it is okay.

I am back at enjoying Steemit for what it stands for!

image.png

How do I feel when my posts are not valued as I expect them to be and does it affect me?

My answer this time will be, NO!

If my post is not getting the results I thought it would it doesn’t affect me mentally.

I have learned over the years that we are all different and the same for Steemians. We have to respect it. Often I’ve been surprised by the fact that a post that I expected to do well doesn’t. Then again, a post I thought twice about posting performs well beyond my imagination.

I am also one of the lucky ones who doesn’t see Steemit as a “job”. In other words, I don’t have to depend on it for an extra income. I am sure that if it was the other way around I would have felt different.

Through my journey on Steemit in the last year I discovered how many authors depend on those votes. I wonder if the creators, the owners, and the team realize what they have offered so many people.

Steemit is that straw that so many drowning men is grabbing. It surpasses the term “social media” by far.

You might think that when you’ve reached a certain level it all just happens. How wrong you can be. The higher your fly the harder it gets.

I could not understand how I can enter an engagement challenge with 1000+ words, I get a score of 10, plenty of commentary, plenty of votes, and curator's eyes on my post, oh yes plus I supported plenty of other entries but come Monday and my post is not chosen as one of the winning posts. Instead, a post with 300 words and a score of 8,5 gets chosen. It is not fair! I deserve that acknowledgment and I deserve the vote even if it is on one of my other posts.

Guess what? Life is not fair. You have to learn that it is not in your hands and you have to learn to move on. If you keep on pondering it will break you mentally.

Some advice to those newbies who might read this post. It is when you expect the lease that you get the most. You must just not give up!

image.png

My recommendations for a content creator to keep a healthy mind

This is the one heading where I could easily write a book. Best I stick to 5 of the most important points that help me to keep a healthy mind as an author.

  1. Find your interest
  2. Plan
  3. Set your times
  4. Be gentle with yourself
  5. Let it go!

These 5 points might sound easy but each one of them has a deeper meaning.

1. Find your interest

When we are in high school we get to choose our subjects. When we go to varsity we choose the field we would like to study. If we start working we choose a sector that interests us. So why don’t we find what interest us when we write?

Is it a case of copying what the “Joneses” are doing? We see a post we like and we start writing or we get an invite to contest posts and we enter. It is the worst thing we can do.

I get invites to participate in contests daily. I will politely thank them for the invite but I won’t take them up on it unless I know I can write about it. By doing this I don’t put any unnecessary pressure on myself mentally.

We all know that writing a good post on Steemit takes time. It is not something you can do in an hour or two. So, don’t waste your valuable time on something that doesn’t interest you but rather find that contest that does and give all your time and energy to writing the best post ever.

2. Plan

You have to plan your post. If you don’t plan your post you will waste valuable time and energy which will put a lot of strain on you mentally once you start writing.

I also believe that when you plan your post you must have fun with it. Having fun and a sense of humor is often the best medicine to keep our mental health.
I would often sit at school doing my planning while I wait for school to come out. I will grab a piece of paper, a serviette, or a tills slip and start drawing pictures or speech bubbles planning my post.

I also like to involve my family when I do my planning. Guess what? Our families are the only ones that will be honest enough to tell us that our ideas are stupid.

It is also important that you change how you do your planning. Doing your planning, in the same manner, every time becomes boring and your brain is very clever. You have to keep it sharp and healthy by changing your habits.

3. Set your time

We all get those busy days and I know it is not always easy but if you have to set a time for planning and writing. By doing this you can make life so much easier for yourself.

What works best for me is to plan my day early in the morning for that specific day. No one can plan ahead for the week as you don’t know what your week holds for you.

You also have to set time aside for yourself as you are the most important factor in your life.

Once you have set your times you must stick to them.

Often I will be busy writing a post and I know it is time to have tea with the family.
Tea now? I am so close to finishing. Let me just finish this paragraph. And then… that paragraph becomes two and even three paragraphs. I know! I am guilty.
It is the one thing that I am working hard on, learning to set a time and then, moving away.

I also believe that our environment has large effects on the outcome of our mental health. Plan your environment when you set your times.

4. Be gentle to yourself

I think this is by far the most difficult point to keep good mental health.

We all put so much pressure on ourselves. We have to learn to be gentle to ourselves. It is only when you have compassion for yourself that you will ease the pressure.

You put tremendous pressure on yourself if you write two posts a day. One post a day is more than enough and if you miss a day writing a post it is okay. Good diets will tell you that you need one day of the week to rest. The same with writing. I can guarantee you that there are good reasons for missing a day of submitting a post.

That one day of not writing can just make you write your best post the next day.

Here are a few don’ts

· Don’t be too harsh on yourself
· Don’t let self-doubt get you under
· Don’t let negativities from others rub off on you
· Don’t compare yourself to others
· Don’t let a setback get you under
· Don’t let limited support get you under

There is that little button in all of us that says “Inner judge”. Turn it off straight away!

You can do it!

5. Let it go!

Have you ever listened carefully to the words of the song “Let it go” from the movie Frozen?


Let it go, let it go
I am one with the wind and sky
Let it go, let it go
You'll never see me cry
Here I stand and here I stay
Let the storm rage on

If you battle with a topic… let it go!

Often we start a post and in the middle, we get that “writer's block”, well it is then also the time to let it go.

If you want to maintain good mental health as an author you have to;

· make it easy by writing a paragraph for paragraph
· let it go if you battle with a topic
· remember that Rome was not built in one day
· acknowledge that you need a break
· realize that it is not wrong to ask for help

If you don’t let go you will hit rock bottom and not only you but those the dearest to you will suffer.

Wishing you all the best for your mental health as a content creator!

image.png

I invite the following Steemians to participate;
@waqarahmadshah
@fadlymatch
@alanasteemit

Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available. Vote here

Sort:  

Your mental health counts!

I think that our mental state affects us much more than even physical health.
There are times when you just give up and don't want to do anything. Sleep, sleep and sleep... Sleep is probably a better doctor of mental illness. But there must be a measure in everything! A lot of sleep leads to complete degradation and even greater unwillingness to work.

 last year 

Is life not just one vicious circle that we LOVE so much? (•ิ‿•ิ)

You could say that. Our day is running in a circle. I woke up, washed up, had breakfast and ran to work. There we have lunch, go home again in the evening, have dinner again, take a walk and sleep.
Variety happens only on weekends, holidays and vacations.
But in the summer I can diversify my life if I sleep less! Then the day will become longer and you can go to the river, to the forest.

Congratulations!
This comment has been upvoted through steemcurator07.
We support quality posts anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @petface

TEAM 4 CURATORS

 last year 

Congratulations and I did enjoy reading your post. This is the first post of yours that I read and I loved it! Hope to enjoy more of your content.

 last year 

Thank you so much for the visit to my post and the kind words.
And... WELCOME to Steemit! I want to encourage you to complete all the other newcomer achievements. They will help you a lot on your Steemit journey.
I am also going to share some of my posts with you that will help you. If you have any questions don't hesitate to ask.
https://steemit.com/hive-153970/@patjewell/the-5-main-reasons-why-posts-goes-wrong

https://steemit.com/hive-153970/@patjewell/make-your-comments-and-replies-count

https://steemit.com/hive-153970/@patjewell/how-to-write-that-perfect-diary-post

https://steemit.com/hive-153970/@patjewell/what-to-write-about-on-steemit

Here is also a nice post to read so that you know what is next for a newcomer;
https://steemit.com/hive-136998/@event-horizon/guidelines-for-newcomers-all-you-need-to-know-is-here

Good luck!

 last year 

You are such a kind soul! Thank you and I will definitely follow your suggestions.

 last year 

Pleasure! 🎕

 last year 

@patjewell I am at a loss about the rules and regulation in Steemit about incorporating quotations in my post. As a beginner, is it ok to put quotes and what are the rules must one follow? Do you have anything on that? Could you please help me?

 last year 

These are the kind of questions that will be answered when you do the rest of the newcomers verification posts. They will help a lot getting you to know the ins and outs of Steemit.

As for quotes, yes you can use them. I love using them.
The only thing is that you must highlight them and reference the author.
There are two ways in which you can do it.

  1. In ""
    "The harder I practice the luckier I get" - Gary Player
    or
    "The harder I practice the luckier I get" - Gary Player

  2. In a block

"The harder I practice the luckier I get" - Gary Player

image.png

 last year 

Okay, so I can use them if I want. I understand. Thanks again for mentoring me.

 last year 

It is a big pleasure!

 last year 

Que palabras mas profundas e inspiradoras amiga, la verdad es que muchas veces los que apenas estamos comenzando algunas veces nos hacemos preguntas como las que has nombrado por ejemplo porque si he escrito una publicación con tantas palabras no obtengo el resultado esperado, y es que verdaderamente la vida es injusta en ese sentido pero también se que sera en otra publicación que obtendré lo esperado esto lo he aprendido acá hay que ser paciente pero constante ese es el secreto para un buen escritor

 last year 

be patient but constant

Awesome! I cannot put it in better words!
We have to be patient as far as voting and constant as far as postings! Clever girl!
Thank you for the visit and the valuable commentary.
It is appreciated! 🎕
I cannot wait to read your entry! Kindly CC me when you right one.

Thank you very much for the invitation friend, you know what? You convinced me to participate because I was telling @franyeligonzalez, how would he write about the mental health of a content creator if he knows I'm crazy hahahahahahaha.

So I'm going to put some seriousness in my madness and redact my post to honor your invite @patjewell.

 last year 

Haha! There is always some madness in me inviting Steemians to a specific contest.
This contest is so you and I cannot wait to read a post written with a bit of craziness.
My daughter came from school one day and told me that she has learned the biggest English word there is in the whole world... anticipitation.
Well, I am waiting in anticipation for your entry! (•ิ‿•ิ)

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @scilwa, which is a curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community. We can also be found on our hive community & peakd as well as on my Discord Server

Manually curated by @ abiga554
r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Felicitaciones, su publication ha sido votado por @scilwa. También puedo ser encontrado en nuestra comunidad de colmena y Peakd así como en mi servidor de discordia

 last year 
 last year 

Hello dear friend, thank you very much for participating in our challenge, I really liked your publication, I think your approach is excellent, all writers can feel anxiety, blocks, happiness, anger, in short many emotions in the same person, because otherwise we would not be ourselves. But I think the most important thing is to love what we do.

Very good your recommendations, I agree with all of them, it is important to plan ourselves and as you say, always treat ourselves in the best way. Have a great day, greetings!!!

This publication was scanned with this tool (https://openai-openai-detector.hf.space/) to detect the use of AI in the content and the results obtained were:99.98% Real.

Description❌ ó ✅Score
steemexclusive1/1
Plagiarism Free1/1
BOT Free1/1
Status Club1/1
Voting CSI1/1
Post quality3/3
Markdowns2/2
Total:10/10
Date of verification:22/03/23

Image.png

image.png

 last year 

Thank you for the beautiful verification. Just by getting a special word on your post makes posting worth it! It is so often just the encouragement that we need.

image.png

 last year 

Well, my first question is how much time did you spend on creating this content. It will reflect your passion for writing. The flow, the presentation, the content quality, and the value, everything is perfect.

I always say that I don’t like cricket, I LOVE cricket.

Well, it might have doubled with today's match.

For me, mental health is really important in generating content. It should be free, which I lack these days.

And as you said, it's really easy in writing about the areas of our interests. It's more comfortable.

I may need to read this article again and again. It's like a nice guide. And I am so glad that you are back with full force. Good Luck with the contest!!

 last year 

My cricket buddy!
There is only one way to start this reply and that is with cricket. What a match!!! You are right, I don't love cricket, I LOVE LOVE cricket.

Now to your question about how long it took me to write the post. I honestly don't know but one thing I can tell you is not just a couple of hours. (•ิ‿•ิ)

You have stated a very important fact. Writing content must be "free". Often we all hit that brick wall.
Just take it easy for a day or two and you will get back into it. Or, just look around you and realize that there are so many things to be thankful for. Look at those smiles of children, a youngster helping the elderly, the beautiful food on the table, and whoola, your "free" inspiration will return. Writing is for free we just all need to find it at times.

Good luck and thank you for reading my post, your kind reply, and good wishes! ☕

Greetings mother,
I am always impressed with every one of your writings worthy of being called a teacher here. I have learned a lot from you.
Every word, every sentence you use implies a deep meaning. You're amazing, you have something no other writer can have. No matter what topic you cover, everything is quality and tested.
Success is always for you mother 🤲🤲🙏

 last year 

Oh wow!
The reward from getting a comment like this cannot be measured in STEEM. It exceeds STEEM making every second, every minute, and every hour it took me to write this post absolutely worth it!
Thank you!!! 🤛

Haha.. 😂 You're welcome..
If there is something worth remembering from you, then your writing deserves it. There is almost nothing to refute from every opinion you put forward.
My utmost appreciation for that 🙏🙏👏

Thank you for inviting me. Wow, you have shared some great insights that are very helpful for a newbie content creator like me. Your writing reflects your experience.

After reading your post, I don’t know why but I felt like it was written just for me especially these lines are a perfect interpretation of my thoughts. 😄

I could not understand how I can enter an engagement challenge with 1000+ words, I get a score of 10, plenty of commentary, plenty of votes, and curator's eyes on my post, oh yes plus I supported plenty of other entries but come Monday and my post is not chosen as one of the winning posts. Instead, a post with 300 words and a score of 8,5 gets chosen. It is not fair! I deserve that acknowledgment and I deserve the vote even if it is on one of my other posts.

Good luck in the contest @patjewell! 😊

 last year 

Umh... As my stepson would have said when he was smaller, "You are as sharp as a knife". (•ิ‿•ิ)
There is always a reason why I invite Steemians to a contest. So far it has been very valuable to them. Let's hope my good luck strike continues.
Thanks for the engagement and kind words. I cannot wait to read your post.

I cannot wait to read your post

I just posted it a little while ago. You can read it now 😄

 last year 

Okay, you've got Steemit mail (•ิ‿•ิ)

Well done on writing a great post

 last year 

Thank you! Please get going again!!
You can do it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25