SECS 8 Week 6: How do I want to grow old?

Hello fellow steemians, I wish a happy Tuesday to you and your family! I hope you are all doing well. As for me, I am doing well. STEEMIT HEALTH has proposed a wonderful topic, which is “How do I want to grow old?” Following the guides propose in the contest, I shall share my thoughts, but before that, I will like invite @chiabertrand, @pea07, @artist1111, and @dilums to take part in the contest.

png_20230404_232932_0000.png
Design on Canva

Introduction.

Ageing is a natural process that occurs as time goes on. This happens as a result of our cells damaging themselves as they carry out their function over time (that is, the rate of renewal is less than the rate of destruction). This is at the cellular level. In general terms, aging is the gradual change that occurs on the human body during which many body functions start to decline, leading to a weak body.

How do you want to age: healthy and energetic or limited and dependent on medication?

Naturally, most people want to grow healthy, including me, and, of course, have enough energy and be strong enough not to need care. That is what I desire not to be dependent on drugs and be limited. I want to be able to breathe in fresh air and walk whenever I want.

What are you doing to reach the old age you long for?

There are many things that have to be done in order to be healthy while getting older. It is a difficult way to go, as you have to be disciplined and very strict with yourself. The things that I intend to do and have already started are the following:

  1. Eat and drink, thus having a balanced diet;

  2. Do sport and physical exercise.

  3. Pray or meditate.

  4. Read often.

Eat and Drink: There is a proverb that says you are what you eat. Indeed, eating a balanced diet and drinking enough water can help you prevent some diseases in the long run. Sure, my diet is not balanced, but I make sure it contains all the different classes of food (proteins, carbohydrates, fats and oils, and minerals), and I also drink enough water.

Sport and physical exercise. This is one of the most common practices people know they have to do but find difficult to execute. In my case, I have always done physical exercise. In my secondary school, I often played basketball; it stopped afterward, but I started with jogging and workouts, even though they are not as intense as when I was doing sports. When you get older, it will help me maintain good reflexes.

Praying or Meditating. This is one practice that I started recently. There are two types of meditations: those that focus on raising your spiritual wellbeing and those that focus on the wellbeing of your body. For the moment, I focus on the type that concerns the body. And thus my vertebral column will be straight.

man-481796_640.jpg
Pixabay
Reading: People will ask, "How does reading aid be healthy as we age?" Reading boosts your brain and your mind, and in the course of reading, you stimulate your brain. This will help you in your old age, when you will still remember the names of grandsons and daughters. In my case, I want to see my grandchildren as I get older and still remember their names.

Are you afraid of growing old, yes or no? Justify your answer.

Curiously, I am not afraid of aging because I know it is a natural process, and knowing the measures I’ve taken now, I am sure I will be healthy at my old age. Also, I want to see my future generations continue my achievements. I know I will finish by dying, but I want to do it with a beautiful smile.

Do you have any experience to share with us about an older adult who is an example for you to follow?

Unfortunately, I don’t have an older person that I want to follow; those around me are old enough, but their lifestyle is not the best. But I had my grandfather, who has passed away since (let his soul rest in peace), who was a smoker, and he warned my father and me never to smoke because he showed us the negative impact of it on his body. And since that time, we have never smoked. Apart from that, my grandmother and my mother asked me never to drink alcohol, but I do, in small quantities; generally, one glass of whisky is sufficient for me.

portrait-3013924_640.jpg
Pixabay

Conclusion

In all, it is all this discipline and these practices that will help me stay healthy (I belief) when I am old, and I strongly invite others to take better care of their health. As we all know, the primary wealth of an individual is his health.

Stay bless.

@fonjougiresse

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Loading...

Saludos amigo.

Ciertamente todos deseamos una vejez saludable y en completo bienestar , pero como bien dices debemos cuidarnos desde la juventud para lograrlo, debemos evitar los excesos y ser responsable de cuidar nuestro cuerpo y mente, porque estoy de acuerdo la lectura fomenta una buena salid mental necesaria en la vejez.

Todas y cada unas de las cosas que haces para estar saludable son muy interesante y las comparto si nos alimentamos saludablemente, hacemos ejercicios y evitamos los vicios lograremos una vejez saludable.

Tienes una linda entrada Buena suerte.

Éxitos.

Thank you friend.
Success to you also.
Stay bless

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67743.75
ETH 3805.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53