Metal Weekend : Porcupine Tree, Opeth, Biffy Clyro

in Alternative Weekend4 years ago

I first noticed Metal Weekend last week but didn’t catch on that it was a tag theme or even know what a tag theme was then; I’m a little new to Steemit.

So here are my THREE offerings for this weekend.

Why not checkout the @detlev post and send some new tunes to listen too?

The main post is here:
https://steemit.com/music/@detlev/57zfeg-metal-weekend-play-it-loud-and-share-your-metal-songs

My tastes tend to be more to progressive metal so this is what you will probably expect from me today and going forward.

Porcupine Tree – Deadwing


Nobody in the world will convince me that there is a better band than Porcupine Tree. One of my biggest regrets is that I never saw them live and am quite sure that I never will. However I will be seeing Steven Wilson live in one week, it’s a good consolation.

My pick for today is the stunning title track from the 2005 album, “Deadwing”

Opeth – Burden


Opeth are a death metal band or used to be. They are much mellower these days and the death growls are all but gone. Burden is an intense heavy balled without the growls and much mellowness, strings and a little comedy at the end (listen to it). A friend once said to me, “The heavy bands make the best ballads”, I have to agree.

Burden is from the 2008 album, “Watershed”

Biffy Clyro – Toys, Toys, Toys.


There are a lot of opinions about this band; old Biffy vs new Biffy. I’m a fan of the old material. The first THREE albums were great, especially “The Vertigo of Bliss”. The band was a lot different than the “Mountains” and “Many of Horror” songs that we hear nowadays. I could have picked almost any of the songs from this fantastic album.

Toys, Toys, Toys is from the 2003 album, “The Vertigo of Bliss”

This is a STEEM reprint of a post from 2 years ago.. - Still great tunes, music is timeless!

If you found this article useful, informative or truly mind blowing please upvote it, resteem, follow me or preferably do all. I will be producing more Metal Weekend articles during.. weekends!

RedLine.png


CurieCurator.jpg

  • Earn Passive Manna by simply signing up for it here. Mannabase is a Universal Basic Income Cryptocurrency
  • Earn STEEM and digital cards while playing STEEM Monsters, the best game on the STEEM Blockchain here.

RedLine.png

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Hey dear @slobberchops,

that is a good idea to wake up the #metalweekend in @detlev who is mainly busy with the #BeerSaturday. But as we all know, beer and music is a good mix and can only be better with friends and with BBQ

So, here is my BeerSaturday week 149 and I will work on a #Metalweekend post today.

image.png

And here a !BEER for you....

LOL, #metalweekend was awesome, you should bring it back to HIVE!

My band played with Biffy way back in the day. An STV gig. They got to be filmed and we were the warm up fodder. Twas a proper gig though. Nice guys

Early Biffy were great, although they tried to ripoff Nirvana at times. I would have loved to have seen them before they went wishy-washy.

1 !BEER Token for you

Sorry, you don't have enough staked BEER in your account. You need 6 BEER in your virtual fridge to give some of your BEER to others. To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.com


Hey @slobberchops, here is a little bit of BEER from @detlev for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

Good stuff. Opeth is one of my favorite bands :)
Thank you for your excellent content as always @slobberchops

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62647.38
ETH 3335.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46